Alcon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Alcon Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 814 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Alcon CEO David Endicott
David Endicott
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Hard to find a work-life balance, especially in business department(in 33 reviews)

  • "Don’t seem to care about employee concerns only upper management requirements(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Market access"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Manager in Camberley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Good salary Small company easy to work with different departments Good but very dissatisfied with the senior leadership team. Nothing could get done and very easy to blame. No development here

    Cons

    A lot of processes- although it’s a small company it’s hard to get anything done. Senior leadership team- judgmental No work life balance Very sales orientated Cut throat evironment

    Advice to Management

    Spend time with junior members so they can develop and achieve their goals.

    Alcon2017-11-16

    Alcon Response

    November 29, 2017

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

  2. "Limited development opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good bonus/benefits, strong development framework, however promises are not followed through

    Cons

    Poor development opportunities. Management do not place trust in their team. Very negative atmosphere when behind budget-blame culture

    Advice to Management

    Support colleague objectives, improve autonomy and trust

    Alcon2015-08-29
  3. "Great to work for until recent Novartis take over."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer I in Irvine, Scotland

    I have been working at Alcon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work, great people, good money.

    Cons

    For the world's largest eye care company, eye insurance for employees is feeble at best.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from past mistakes. Be honest and realistic.

    Alcon2012-09-30
  4. "SQA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Quality Assurance Engineer in South Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are among the top ratings

    Cons

    Need to have a longer employment history to be able to complete.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Alcon2019-06-08
  5. "Changing for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Multimedia Specialist in Lake Forest, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, people, location, gym and challenges

    Cons

    Job opportunity paths are not clear. Review system is confusing and error filled

    Advice to Management

    More defined career paths

    Alcon2019-05-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Engineer in Johns Creek, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary, bonus, and insurance. Great retirement plan. Great products and technologies.

    Cons

    Highly political, and built into “calibration” performance review process. Consensus-oriented, relational driven decision making.

    Alcon2019-06-12
  7. "Great for the first year or so then miserable for the remainder of my 3 and a half years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Production Technician in Huntington, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Helping people have a better quality of life and vision all around the world, and being part of something truly life changing for those people.

    Cons

    Defending my character almost daily and having to deal with hearing people talk bad about me and say I was stupid and didn't know what I was talking about to others and I would get disciplined when I would complain. They did nothing to stop the issues until they let me go.

    Advice to Management

    Don't always believe what people say regardless of how long they've worked there. Also to not zero in on someone just because a handful of people don't care for that person for whatever reason.

    Alcon2019-06-14
  8. "Good place to learn and develop."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchasing Agent in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and work environment.

    Cons

    Poor leadership with unrealistic goals.

    Alcon2019-06-12
  9. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment to work here

    Cons

    Need more work location stability

    Advice to Management

    None

    Alcon2019-05-29
  10. "Crickets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    My peers are smart, professional (mostly) and believe in the mission of the company. We wait and wait for leadership to communicate a transition plan from Novartis to Alcon stand alone. This event was a long time coming - at least 12 months. So why crickets? Why a deer in the headlights?

    Cons

    Crickets, see above. Nobody knows what they are supposed to be doing, what their role is, nor the role of anyone else. It is amazing any company can maintain operations under these circumstances. There is no transition plan, or a current and go forward plan for any one thing.

    Advice to Management

    Executives - clean out the "leadership" that is not leading. Retain the middle and lower employees that are working, despite lack of leadership, to fulfill the mission.

    Alcon2019-06-23
Found 814 reviews