Alcon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Alcon Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Alcon Chief Executive Officer David Endicott
David Endicott
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Market access"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Manager in Camberley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Good salary Small company easy to work with different departments Good but very dissatisfied with the senior leadership team. Nothing could get done and very easy to blame. No development here

    Cons

    A lot of processes- although it’s a small company it’s hard to get anything done. Senior leadership team- judgmental No work life balance Very sales orientated Cut throat evironment

    Continue reading
    Alcon2017-11-16

    Alcon Response

    November 29, 2017

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. "Limited development opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good bonus/benefits, strong development framework, however promises are not followed through

    Cons

    Poor development opportunities. Management do not place trust in their team. Very negative atmosphere when behind budget-blame culture

    Continue reading
    Alcon2015-08-29
  3. "Great to work for until recent Novartis take over."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer I in Irvine, Scotland

    I have been working at Alcon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work, great people, good money.

    Cons

    For the world's largest eye care company, eye insurance for employees is feeble at best.

    Continue reading
    Alcon2012-09-30
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits: financial health gym reimbursement etc

    Cons

    High pressure and competitive

    Alcon2019-12-10
  5. "Individual contributor Field Salesperson"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Alcon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best ever company I worked. 8 years I have worked here.. And still repent why I didn't adjust...

    Cons

    Hardly People leave this company so they build up their group which promote unhealthy office politics

    Continue reading
    Alcon2019-12-03
  6. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is ok, safe company for long term

    Cons

    For growth it is not the best right now

    Alcon2019-12-01
  7. "My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Clerk in Huntington, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Treated with respect at all times

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Alcon2019-11-25

    Alcon Response

    December 3, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience!

    Continue reading
  8. "Title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Advisor 

    I have been working at Alcon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work for

    Cons

    Bad place for flexibility and WFH

    Alcon2019-11-26
  9. "Huge changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Alcon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leadership position in its market, interesting portfolio.

    Cons

    The company decided to eliminate the CFO and CEO positions from all affiliates and regional offices.

    Continue reading
    Alcon2019-12-07
  10. "Purpose-driven organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Head of Talent Acquisition in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Purpose, people, benefits, potential, direction

    Cons

    Lots of change/transition; requires agility, not ideal for fixed-mindsets

    Continue reading
    Alcon2019-11-21

    Alcon Response

    December 3, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your valuable feedback and sharing your experience!

    Continue reading
Found 893 reviews