Allstate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Allstate Reviews

Updated 16 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4418 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Allstate CEO Thomas J. Wilson II
Thomas J. Wilson II
1833 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No work/life balance; expectations are ridiculous; you have to work a lot of extra time to keep up(in 118 reviews)

  • "No benefits from actual company as a sales producer(in 93 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Product Owner 

      I have been working at Allstate full-time

      Pros

      Good coworkers and career prospect

      Cons

      Management is not the most innovative

      Allstate2019-04-16
    • "Great potential in some areas."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Allstate full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good stability. Good initiatives for work life balance. Some good training opportunities.

      Cons

      Rigid old school management in place so hard to develop new ideas. Slow to truly embrace change and not open to challenge. A lot of red tape and networks to navigate, including personality management.

      Advice to Management

      Truly reflect and refresh. Listen to the talent within and be prepared to be wrong. Embrace change and challenge the status quo - oh and take responsibility rather than casting downward!

      Allstate2018-12-05
    • "software"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Allstate

      Pros

      working with very professional people

      Cons

      not very flexible work in my department

      Allstate2018-08-21
    • "Big organisation, you gotta be political"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Allstate full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      On the whole, good people in northern Ireland to work with

      Cons

      Bonus, salary and succession needs a radical overhaul.

      Advice to Management

      If you want to attract the best tech people you need to pay them.

      Allstate2018-05-18
    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Allstate full-time

      Pros

      Good salary. Working conditions and work life balance

      Cons

      There are no bad points, great company

      Allstate2018-03-30
    • "great personal benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Allstate full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      flexible working available, monthly beer and pizza, lots of organised health, sports and social opportunities discounts given when paying £4 a month!

      Cons

      difficult to move up the pay scale no matter how hard you work, no clear pay structure which is quite demotivating and they refuse to publish pay scales which is frustrating. also the luck of the draw with team managers you could get one who really supports your skills progression and others not so much

      Advice to Management

      bit more consistency in the interest and support provided would inspire people to venture into other areas for a promotion rather than playing safe with a good manager

      Allstate2017-12-09
    • "Team Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Allstate full-time

      Pros

      Work life balance is excellent, real chance for career progression

      Cons

      The pay may be slightly lower than industrial average.

      Allstate2017-11-05
    • "Software Developer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Allstate full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good work life balance Flexitime is good although airing from home should be more.widley available. Bennidicts.are very good.

      Cons

      The performance appraisal is not rewarding and demotivated people. The extra pay through performance appraisal I is very unsattisfacoty and demotivated people to try hardernas the reward is laughable.

      Advice to Management

      My advice to management is to look after employees who have been very loyal. Like I have been there 10 years and a new recruit Cam in to whom I had to train. I was shocked when I found out the trainee was on a substantial amount of not money than me. They would rather pay an inexperienced trainee more money than someone with 10 years experience. Ridiculous and demoralizing.

      Allstate2017-11-18
    • "Great people but promotion is based on whether your face fits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Delivery Lead in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Allstate full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Strong teamwork and great people

      Cons

      Promotion is mostly dependent on who you know not how you perform

      Allstate2017-11-14
    • "Good Benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Allstate

        Pros

        Good benefits & working environment.

        Cons

        Below average Salary & working bank holidays.

        Allstate2017-08-31
      Found 4418 reviews