AlphaSights Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AlphaSights Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 279 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
AlphaSights CEO Max Cartellieri
Max Cartellieri
174 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of responsibility, fast paced and meritocratic(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great people and plenty talent who are awesome to spend time with, made some genuine friends there and the culture really pushes these relationships(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you are applying, be prepared to work consecutive long hours in this role(in 30 reviews)

  • "Feels like a white-glove call center(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The absolute best place to start a commercial career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AlphaSights full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -The most talented, ambitious and international people. - Genuine culture of rapid responsibility, development and improvement. - The harder you work, the more you get paid. - If you have a good idea, you can run with it. - Fantastic exposure to senior leadership, who are by and large outstanding.

    Cons

    - The working hours are rigid, and longer than in other professional jobs. - We were chronically understaffed, which was good for maximising individual metrics, but bad for the client experience.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to stay close and accessible to the new/junior people. Resist the creep of process (and blockers) for process' sake. Both challenges of the scale-up.

    AlphaSights2019-10-09
  2. "Great work and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AlphaSights full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of responsibility, fast paced and meritocratic

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times for the close deadlines

    AlphaSights2019-09-19
  3. "Perfect for young, multi-lingual and smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AlphaSights full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Little Red tape Huge investment into its people (office, perks, freebies, socials, learning) as they are the company's biggest asset Very clear career path (associate-->Manager-->VP...) Possibility to do an international exchange with other offices after 2 years Perks are the best! latest MacBook Pros as a work laptops, new iphone, new apple keyboard, multiple screens, free breakfast, loads of fridges, the... list goes on and on

    Show More

    Cons

    Hours are long. Contractually, people are required to work between 8.30 and 18.30. However, this can be a pro because people actually do their work instead of postponing it to the next day and leave at 5 sharp. People are very responsive (in seconds or minutes as opposed to hours or days for some other companies that I have worked in)

    AlphaSights2019-09-08
  4. "Former employee at Alphasights"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AlphaSights full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic versatile workload, small teams, cool young people

    Cons

    Pressure, tight deadlines, longer hours

    AlphaSights2019-08-26
  5. "Great start to your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AlphaSights full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. A lot of room to grow if you're willing to take the lead. Entrepreneurial atmosphere. Great start to making contacts.

    Cons

    Limited transferrable skills elsewhere. If you know where you want to go, then question if AS will get you there.

    AlphaSights2019-08-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great people/Call centre job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AlphaSights full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and plenty talent who are awesome to spend time with, made some genuine friends there and the culture really pushes these relationships

    Cons

    All that talent is, more often that not, wasted on a repetitive role with questionable value add. Management is running a great business model which continues to grow but offer very little value add considering associates are to thank for some impressive performance. They mirror some sort of personal development which really comes to an end after 6 months where there is little more to learn once you have understand... how they work and how they are trying to continue making clients pay more and more for diversifying services This repetitive role leads to a very high rate of churning amongst staff who are there for one of two reasons, 1. They do not know what to do going forward and this is a decent way to learn a few skills, make a very decent salary, 2. They are currently looking for another role but prefer doing so whilst getting paid

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advertise the role for what it is and not comparable to consulting roles. If you do not want such a high churning rate then pay your employees in other things than commission - which looks good until you realise the profit margins on the service being delivered. Make sure your management adds value rather then simply "strategise" as there is nothing more frustrating for associates to pay for their managers bonus

    AlphaSights2019-08-07
  7. "Great career start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AlphaSights full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very young and driven company, bright young graduates - High standards across all aspects - Well paid with uncapped earning potential - Great culture - Great office and perks - Directly see your contribution to revenue generation and get lots of responsibility early

    Cons

    - Client first organisation (also a strength) means "always on" and every now and then have to be reachable after working hours - Can be a bit rigid having to wait two years to be promoted

    AlphaSights2019-06-13
  8. "Great Place to start a career in a commercial environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AlphaSights full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Early responsibility for high performers - Continously improving career clarity for all seniority levels - Very Diverse Set of Tasks: In my first 2 years as an associate, I focused on really mastering the tasks of doing industry research, engaging experts to work with our company. However, in my second year, after mastering the core roles, I started to train a new joiner in the team and took on first client... contacts. After 2-2.5 years I was eligible to become a manager, overlooking my own small team of people and getting my own little book of business. For the following 2 years I continued to grow my team and book of accounts. Now, as a 2nd year manager I spend a lot of my time focusing on my team's training and professional development, another big portion working with my clients directly on all the project work and the rest of my time I focus on my own development, business unit and firmwide strategic initiatives and supporting the recruiting efforts

    Show More

    Cons

    - Not so much a negative point, but AlphaSights is a very client centric organisation which means that you will still be reachable after working hours or respond to an urgent mail from your client. However, you are available not because your boss wants you to show face but there is a real client who needs you and therefore I am happy to do it, as there is clear purpose to be responsive. - We are a young... organisation so if you are hoping to find a mentor figure with 30+ years of experience, that might be tricky

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Continue to build feedback channels for Associates and Managers

    AlphaSights2019-05-27
  9. "Work hard, play hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at AlphaSights full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great office space (overlooking the Thames) - lots of social events - fully stocked kitchen for breakfast, free drinks, fruit, cookies etc.. - company off-sites with team building events - varied projects to work on. No 2 days are the same - great friendships can be made, cool colleagues - international workforce - incentive to have more credits to top up base salary with bonuses. - ability to move to... other offices abroad for international experience

    Show More

    Cons

    - Long hours - Client projects need to be turned over very fast - Pressure at work to get more credits and top up salary with unlimited bonus (I guess that is a positive thing) - Office politics amongst team leaders

    Advice to Management

    - be more open to listen to employees

    AlphaSights2019-05-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great short-term, repetitive after 10 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AlphaSights full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Nice culture (friendly, open, fun colleagues, although from homogenous backgrounds) - Improvement of soft skills within first 8-10 months (client correspondence, phone correspondence) - Good pay and uncapped bonus opportunity

    Cons

    - Work can become very repeptitive and draining after 10-12 months, no task variety - Time pressure and extremely short project cycles - Promotion based on tenure and performance, not on people management skills - Weak senior management - Young, “graduate” environment (can also be seen as a pro) - Very high turnover, many people leave around one year in their associate career

    AlphaSights2019-04-16
Found 279 reviews