American Express Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

American Express Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 275 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Rafael Marquez
Rafael Marquez
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance and extensive office hours(in 244 reviews)

  • "Decentralised processes lead to non availability of complete picture of decision making(in 130 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Director Strategic Planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Planning, Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great brand that looks after its employees. The company provides opportunities for growth and to move across the world.

    Cons

    Can be very bureaucratic, and decision making is slow. Constant re-organisations make it difficult to gain momentum.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push business agility.

    American Express2018-12-20
  2. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Entry Specialist in Brighton, England

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    A lot overtime in my department

    Cons

    American Express has no cons from my experience. Just fun work place. Allowed to make mistakes .

    Advice to Management

    Give me more overtime ! : D

    American Express2019-03-27
  3. "customer care professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Professional in Brighton, England

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Very good company to work for and the staff are lively and socialise a lot , performance pay is good quite hard to get holiday but it’s to be expected of a company of its size.

    Cons

    It’s a company where it’s not what you know it’s who you know .. and the hours can be quite unsociable if you don’t get to pick your own shifts (if your not a top performer)

    Advice to Management

    None

    American Express2019-05-15
  4. "IT Delivery Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Delivery Director in Brighton, England
    Recommends

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Technical culture very strong for a large financial institution

    Cons

    A good company, but as you'd expect US culture can feel a bit strange if not coming from that background

    American Express2019-04-28
  5. "More changes are needed to become a true tech company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    1. Working towards becoming tech company, as a result started taking lot of good initiatives. 2. Flexible work life balance 3. Good bonus scheme

    Cons

    1. Pay is not competitive enough. 2. Employee years of hard work is not appreciated. 3. Requires politics to get stuff done.

    Advice to Management

    There is a bias in pay as new hires have been offered far better pay, and it is not accounted for during annual pay considerations. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!!

    American Express2019-05-09
  6. "Glorified team leads called engineering directors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Burgess Hill, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    People in engineering teams are great to work with. Great initial days. Newly formed teams are great. Not so much the same for teams with directors who are in the company for more than 10 years . They do not connect with people well.

    Cons

    Well .. where do i start ? Politics is clearly visible in every decision taken including how parking spaces are allocated. As for progressions , If you are a woman - make sure you dress and make-up well to be recognised by inexperienced engineering directors(well they do not do engineering btw,they are team leaders conducting 1-1s) and in recent years 1-1 has been the most important meeting for anyone in Burgess Hill....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When is your next org restructure ? in 2 days ? 2 weeks ? 2 months ?

    American Express2019-05-11
  7. "Marketing Exec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, benefits.

    Cons

    Salary lower than other financial services.

    American Express2019-04-02
  8. "Credit Analyst German"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Really nice team, good work atmosphere with lots of fun engagement events and free food Work - life balance is great, you work either 7-3, 8-4, or 9-5 and you never have to stay longer

    Cons

    Very difficult to rise up and move on into a new job Development in this job is difficult and it gets boring after a few months The employees change all the time as it gets dull. I worked here 1 1/2 years and saw 13 people from my own team leave

    Advice to Management

    Make it easier to move around throughout AMEX, otherwise you will lose your people

    American Express2019-04-05
  9. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great personal development opportunities to advance your career

    Cons

    Slow in adapting agile processess

    American Express2019-03-19
  10. "investigating fraud on accounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fraud Specialist in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    great open plan office , great people

    Cons

    none but be prepared to work hard

    American Express2019-03-15
Found 275 reviews