American Express Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

American Express Reviews

Updated 7 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Stephen J Squeri
Stephen J Squeri
901 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "GREAT COMPANY TO WORK FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about their employees, great pay, great benefits and great company values that they uphold.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any cons about the company.

    Continue reading
    American Express2020-02-24
  2. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Project Manager in Brighton, England

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They care about the employees

    Cons

    None come to my mind

    Continue reading
    American Express2020-03-29
  3. "Great company passionate about people and customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good rates of pay, great facilities, diverse roles available, they try to care

    Cons

    If you fall ‘out of favour’ of management, no support from HR to address. Quick to write you off.

    American Express2020-03-24
  4. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Test Manager in Burgess Hill, England

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, travel compensation. Good in adopting latest technologies, very good learning opportunities, Follows Agile/DevOps and open source automation tools

    Cons

    The company is outside London. Commute is a nightmare and most people are local and puts you on backfoot. So managing your commute and maintain your punctuality is a challenge especially if you have a young family

    Continue reading
    American Express2020-03-20
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Planning, Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Really talented colleagues * Focused on talent development

    Cons

    * Can be overly bureaucratic

    American Express2020-03-19
  6. "Great place to work !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director - Risk Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Colleague centric organization. Great work !

    Cons

    Growth may get stagnated since not many middle & senior positions come out often.

    American Express2020-03-14
  7. "Wish I never left"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Best place to grow and take on innovation

    Cons

    Feels insular at times which is intimidating for a young professional with not much outside experience.

    American Express2020-03-09
  8. "Operational Excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the most flexible, growth oriented and employee friendly company

    Cons

    Salary structure is very less as compared with other firms

    American Express2020-03-04
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work life balance, people, leadership

    Cons

    no cons necessary - n/a

    American Express2020-03-02
  10. "People focussed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Focussed on people Empowering Interesting work Travel opportunities

    Cons

    Can be slow to react to poor performers Job opportunities can be contingent on knowing the right people

    American Express2020-03-01
Found 7107 reviews