B&M Retail Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
B&M Retail Founder Simon Arora (no image)
Simon Arora
214 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great colleagues, 10% discount, free parking(in 60 reviews)

  • "Great teams who have a wealth of B&M experience and that work well together(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage is not a great rate(in 51 reviews)

  • "Long hours poor structure as GSM they expect one to ope out of working time directive and minimum 55 hours work and even 65 hours(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Assistant in Brighouse, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&M Retail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, lovely staff lovely management.

    Cons

    There are no cons to comment

    B&M Retail2019-10-30
  2. "Great first job but not a job for the long term."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at B&M Retail part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team I was working with over 4 years was amazing however from talking/seeing other stores this isn't the same everywhere. They gave me a 8 hour a week contract over weekend's which suited me while I was at collage and university but 90% of the time I was offered 16 hours over the weekend and additional shifts in the week when I was free. This was my first job, the interview was fiarly relaxed and was a great introduction to the world of work.

    Cons

    First of all the pay, it is minium wage for your age and they in no way will pay you more than they have to no matter how hard you work. I was given the option to go for a supervisor roll in the store however these only offer an extra 30p a hour and requires you to work full time. There is a fairly fast turn over of staff and in my time there I have seen 4/5 managers change meaning how we work was constantly changed by new managers who havent spent time on the floor seeing how we actually work. The working conditions where awful, impartiality in the summer months, working in a large warehouse style store meant that it got very hot over the summer causing a lot of issues with being able to work 9 hour shifts in the heat, a lot of stock which was melting/going off which was only made worse when they introduced firdges and freezers in the store. We constanlty complained about the working conditions and where told they where going to introduce air conditioning which 2 years later when i left still wasnt installed. Only being on a 8 hour contract ment that I wasnt garrenteed work which got hard imparticuarly in january, after christmas.

    Continue reading
    B&M Retail2020-05-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at B&M Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great teams who have a wealth of B&M experience and that work well together. Lots of opportunities available to develop your career with the business expansion.

    Cons

    Extremely fast paced especially at peak times such as Christmas. Long hours but that’s Retail! Need to stay motivated to keep up with customer and business expectations.

    Continue reading
    B&M Retail2020-05-05
  4. "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HGV DriverClass1 in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at B&M Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with or see Opportunities

    Cons

    The pay Long hours most days 5 on 3 off

    Continue reading
    B&M Retail2020-05-04
  5. "Absolutely awful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at B&M Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no pros about this company

    Cons

    Shocking company to work for; they are absolute cow boys and will cut corners wherever they can. The way they treat their employees is quite frankly disgusting. They think they're exempt from government guidelines about COVID-19 and have continued to force colleagues to work in the office, even though the majority of colleague could work from home. HR show no support and do not take complaints seriously, meaning senior members of staff can get away with bullying other colleagues. You cannot progress in the business and the wage is absolutely awful. They will do anything to save money to keep the Arora brothers pockets lined. For the sake of your mental health, please never accept a job at B&M. You are so much better than this terrible and immoral company. The sooner people know about the vile behaviour that goes on behind the scenes, the better.

    Continue reading
    B&M Retail2020-05-28
  6. "AWFUL!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Replenishment Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at B&M Retail full-time

    Pros

    The staff discount, thats it!

    Cons

    If your face doesnt fit, youve got no chance. Higher management have got their favourites and how dare you come into the compny and try and do your job without somone interfering!! You just get used to do the crap shifts that no one else wants to do and you cant say anything cos youre the last one in. Theres no respect from colleagues towards managers and nthing gets done about it. The wages, even for retail are a joke for what youre expected to do.

    Continue reading
    B&M Retail2020-05-19
  7. "Just shocking"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at B&M Retail part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff discount? I guess?

    Cons

    Forget about looking after your mental health - that goes straight out of the window. Many members of management will pretend to support you, some won’t bother and some will just be down right nasty. Oh, and no matter how much work you do, how much effort you put in, it will never be good enough. There will always be something to complain about. Atmosphere is far from pleasant, seemed to be a new argument amongst staff or management every day. And if you think management are going to act professional, think again, some of them acted like sneaky little bullies.

    Continue reading
    B&M Retail2020-05-15
  8. "Corner cutting"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Stock Associate in Scunthorpe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at B&M Retail part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good co workers, nice environment, let's you get on with your work mostly. Hires from within.

    Cons

    Upper management is always cutting corners on extras and pay for the lower level employees.

    B&M Retail2020-04-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I don’t know"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Thorne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at B&M Retail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Bad shirt patterns and poor management

    Continue reading
    B&M Retail2020-03-09
  10. "Good and Bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at B&M Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are great, Customers are great, Justas a retailer they are 20 years behing in my opinion

    Cons

    Lack of comms, Lack of training

    Continue reading
    B&M Retail2020-03-07
Found 587 reviews