B&M Retail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

B&M Retail Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 536 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Simon Arora
192 Ratings
Pros
  • "10% discount for staff which isn't too bad if your on a low budget(in 59 reviews)

  • "i want to be part of B&M team to enhance my professional skills(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "High expectations on minimum wage(in 48 reviews)

  • "No downsides to working for B&M(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Easy work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at B&M Retail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make friends. Always busy and good hours

    Cons

    Minimum wage, sometimes cheeky customers

    B&M Retail2019-06-16
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

      I have been working at B&M Retail part-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours and great training

      Cons

      Minimum wage is not a great rate.

      B&M Retail2019-07-19
    • "Was a good start"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shop Floor Supervisor 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at B&M Retail full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      It's a good first step to management in retail

      Cons

      Bad pay Only in house training

      B&M Retail2019-07-12
    • "excellent service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at B&M Retail part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      its really excellent company in UK they sale in cheap price

      Cons

      Yes I like to work this company.

      Advice to Management

      nothing

      B&M Retail2019-06-13
    • "Zero respect."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Welshpool, Wales
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at B&M Retail full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Close to home for me

      Cons

      No respect, support or attempt to reward 60+ hours work a week

      Advice to Management

      Work in a mine

      B&M Retail2019-07-16
    • "Be prepared"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security Supervisor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at B&M Retail full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      You get a company discount of 10%, you can potentially earn more money by keeping up and improving your kpi's, it's a challenge.

      Cons

      Being thrown in at the deep end can be anxiety inducing. You're not afforded much time before they expect you to be a pro at your job, learn and think fast!

      Advice to Management

      The managers are under the same stress just at a higher level. Consider writing key points down like in a training booklet nothing major like war and peace but give your lower manager the heads up so they understand straight away what is expected of them. This would go a long way to reducing newbie burnout.

      B&M Retail2019-06-09
    • "Retail"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at B&M Retail full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good company to work for

      Cons

      Time consuming filling cages from pallets

      B&M Retail2019-06-05
    • "My job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in King's Lynn, England
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at B&M Retail part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice staff,apart from 2 young people,good manager

      Cons

      It's only part time,late shifts,most saturdays,not alot of communication

      B&M Retail2019-06-03
    • "Thurrock"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier in West Thurrock, England

      I have been working at B&M Retail part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      We have a great working team. Managers are so helpful and will get stuck in to the work to help out in busy periods

      Cons

      No air conditioning. In the summer it’s unbearable heat to work in. Long shifts on your feet constantly. I’m busy periods not being able to take all breaks

      Advice to Management

      Push for air conditioning

      B&M Retail2019-06-01
    • "Wouldn't recommend"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Order Picker in Liverpool, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at B&M Retail full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      They're nice to you as you're training.

      Cons

      Impossible targets causing all sorts of anxiety all of the time.

      B&M Retail2019-06-13
    Found 536 reviews