BBC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BBC Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
BBC Director-General Tony Hall
Tony Hall
349 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Push to use very Latest Technology • Forward-thinking technically • Very cool and interesting projects, used by millions of people • Focus on quality and doing things well. Main reason I came here. • Professional, supportive colleagues and team lead • Pension • Good salary for the public sector • Social • Leadership are approachable • Ability to learn new technology

    Cons

    • Can be slow • A few egos • Some poor managers and team leads about - choose your team wisely • Promotions are hard to obtain. But is becoming more transparent. • Can be difficult to get your first interview. Have to be persistent and raise your game. Competitive. Hiring process isn’t very clear.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of good. Please try and ensure team dynamics are constructive, supportive and friendly and bullying is not tolerated. Try to improve your hiring process’ transparency. Candidates apply and never hear back. Ensure it’s robust and honest. Aspire for one week feedback to candidate. Keep pushing to recruit more women into Software Engineering.

    BBC2020-01-18
  2. "Lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends

    I worked at BBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a really supportive manager, who allowed me to explore a lot of different departments within the BBC. I gained experience in varied roles and tasks that has been beneficial to my self and career development

    Cons

    Some interview processes are not well fit for disabled applicants - for example, i declare hard of hearing and have been to/invited to numerous group interviews. It's hard to be confident and excel in this environment with such a disability.

    BBC2020-01-19
  3. "Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working is greatly allowed

    Cons

    Pace is slow Old habits are prominent

    Advice to Management

    Encourage new ideas and new employees

    BBC2020-01-14
  4. "Really good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England

    I have been working at BBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoy working here Good perks Decent salary Smart people Decent work life balance

    Cons

    Occasional politics Middle management can be occasionally obtuse

    BBC2020-01-15
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good facilities and good work life balance

    Cons

    too much red tape at times

    BBC2020-01-14
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Inspection Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to go on attachments

    Cons

    Not great pay and unclear how pay progresses

    BBC2020-01-14
  7. "Fast Paced, Passionate and Purposeful Organisation with great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Digital in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, incredibly creative and high-quality output - high engergy. Can make your mark.

    Cons

    Highly internally political environment at senior levels, projects are slow to get started

    Advice to Management

    prioritise the load better.

    BBC2020-01-13
  8. "Good company if not a little management heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Software Engineer in Salford, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots if training and opportunities to move around the company

    Cons

    Hard to make changes due to size of the company

    BBC2020-01-06
  9. "COMPLEX"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BBC NEWS CORRESPONDENT in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Huge audience with lots of platforms to promote stories

    Cons

    A place for the idle to thrive

    Advice to Management

    A good manager knows how their staff are feeling.

    BBC2020-01-16
  10. "Senior Offline and Online Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Picture Editor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The perfection in all ways

    Cons

    Restrictions in the variety of programs

    BBC2019-12-31
Found 886 reviews
</>Embed