BBC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BBC Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
BBC Director-General Tony Hall
Tony Hall
362 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "career progression is a challenge for admin roles(in 34 reviews)

  • "Lots of red tape and didn’t feel like a dynamic place to work(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good, great nothing to add

    Cons

    no cons and nothing to add

    BBC2020-02-06
  2. "Friendly place to develop software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salford, North West England, England
    Recommends

    I worked at BBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly place to work. Reasonably varied projects. Many talented engineers and the opportunity to work on new technologies eg. AWS, Java 11, Javascript ES6

    Cons

    Lots of layers of non-technical people surrounding software engineers - management, product, BAs. Plenty of people giving opinions but often reluctant to make decisions. Depending on the team, Salford is a bit obsessed with pair programming which is not everyone's cup of tea

    Continue reading
    BBC2020-04-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Broadcast Journalist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BBC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You'll be extremely proud to work at the BBC, and reach an audience that no other outlet can match.

    Cons

    Pay is low for the industry, and the organisation is crippled by poor middle management.

    BBC2020-03-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on the department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Journalist in London, England

    I have been working at BBC full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good opportunities. Amazing experiences if you're in a good department

    Cons

    Managers don't listen. Sadly, they care more about how to cover their own... than your wellbeing and career development.

    BBC2020-03-29
  5. "Plenty of opportunities to develop and try new things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BBC

    Pros

    Opportunity to develop/try new roles

    Cons

    A lot of staff - can be difficult to stand out and progress

    Continue reading
    BBC2020-03-11
  6. "BBC employment experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Salford, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very good working culture

    Cons

    Career progression is very limited

    BBC2020-03-02
  7. "Poor support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible working - Friendly colleagues

    Cons

    This was my very first development job. At interview, I did all of my technical assessments in Java. But when I walked in on my first day, I was thrown straight into a Javascript role - something I had very little experience with, and something I did not want to do. Only about 8 months later, I left, feeling like I had contributed nothing. At the time, I was really low on confidence, wondering if I had what it took to be a developer. In hindsight, 5 years later having now worked successfully as a developer, I feel like I didn't get enough support. Other cons: Occasional travel to London required, the location (nice, but hard to get to)

    BBC2020-03-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good stable joob"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time

    Pros

    Work for an international company. Very flexible.

    Cons

    The company pays very poorly. No progression career at all

    BBC2020-03-11
  9. "Great Training, Great Work-Life Balance, Slow Change, Everyone in a BBC Bubble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Salford, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Training opportunities and academy. Encourages best Agile practices at a team level. Very good at supporting an individuals work life balance. Pension contributions are good. Work with the latest technologies.

    Cons

    Change is slow. No real urgency means everyone is in a comfortable bubble. Senior Leadership aren't open to change. Strategy is never clear. No accountability. Lack of autonomy in key areas. Hire inexperience into experienced job titles.

    Continue reading
    BBC2020-02-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture Good work life balance Nice office

    Cons

    Lack of career frame work and development Managers lack coaching and managerial training Lack of diversity at the top

    BBC2020-03-08
Found 927 reviews
</>Embed