BlackRock Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BlackRock Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1954 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work in fintech in Budapest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Budapest
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackRock full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Very innovative firm, there is a big emphasis on technology improvements. As a software engineer you will find yourself working with the latest tools and languages which is outstanding in the fintech sector. There is a constant effort to modernise our existing tools and write code in its best quality. The UI that we write should also look amazing and the code really needs to be tested well (not only backend, but UI...

    Show More

    Cons

    I did not see anything wrong while working here.

    BlackRock2018-10-12

    BlackRock Response

    December 13, 2018Employer Brand Content Coordinator

    Thank you for having contributed to our firm and for reinforcing our culture of innovation and collaboration. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our new Budapest office, we pride ourselves on being globally-minded and locally-focused in our 70 offices across 30 countries.

  2. "Still going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackRock full-time

    Pros

    Strong purpose, good people, positive place

    Cons

    Matrix management, reputation counts, spend time building relationships to further your career

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    BlackRock2019-05-08
  3. "Great culture but watch the egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackRock full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    People are great, culture is unique, high performing environment, fast paced global firm, flexible time off, casual dress down

    Cons

    Egos of some HR colleagues Long hours Matrix environment

    Advice to Management

    Curb the egos of some of your more ‘senior’ employees and don’t allow bullies to thrive.

    BlackRock2019-05-26
  4. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackRock full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Innovative, very capable. Tries to empower all levels. Strong brand. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Difficult to make change if it is not the "BlackRock way". Career progression can be heavily weighted to "he who shouts loudest"

    BlackRock2019-05-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackRock full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Innovation is paramount at BlackRock

    Cons

    Lack of people management and talent development

    Advice to Management

    Value your talent

    BlackRock2019-05-10
  6. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackRock full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Reputation in the market. Interesting projects

    Cons

    work/life balance. Can be difficult to get consensus across multiple business areas with competing objectives to agree to where required.

    BlackRock2019-05-07
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackRock full-time

    Pros

    Fluid, Flat, Nice Culture, Tech focused

    Cons

    No free food. Business and product drive trumps technical needs

    Advice to Management

    Put engineers priorities first sometimes if you want to scale

    BlackRock2019-04-17
  8. "Great company but trying to stretch itself too much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackRock full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The people and systems are one of the best in the industry, and the working culture is overall positive. The firm has an amazing reputation, and some unique resources. There is a very active ecosystem of employee networks as well. Also the recently introduced Flexible Time Off policy (unlimited holidays) is awesome.

    Cons

    Too much cost cutting resulting in many under resourced teams. Intensity and level of stress is not for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    There are some good top down decisions, but don't forget to think about implementation and longer term implications at the lower levels.

    BlackRock2019-04-30
  9. "Director, Head of UK Mortgage Market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BlackRock full-time

    Pros

    Great company, well positioned industry leader

    Cons

    Normal large corporate dis economies of scale

    Advice to Management

    Tackle the cons.

    BlackRock2019-04-15
  10. "Financial Markets Advisory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Markets Advisory 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackRock full-time

    Pros

    Strong brand opens doors Diverse and smart co-workers Down to earth corporate culture

    Cons

    Opaque, slow and political promotion process Poor compensation FMA one of the worst groups within BlackRock Since the early days, FMA has essentially been transformed into a risk consultancy group, similar to that of the Big 4 firms. Financial / capital markets work now only constitutes a small part of the overall pipeline. There are limited touch points between FMA's activities and the rest of the firm, other than...

    Show More
    BlackRock2019-04-06
Found 1954 reviews