Blue Apron Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Blue Apron Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 251 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Blue Apron CEO Linda Kozlowski
Linda Kozlowski
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've worked at Blue Apron long enough to say it is definitely a great place to work(in 26 reviews)

  • "Free lunch, great pay, awesome employees(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lunch is free but not what you would expect from a company like Blue Apron(in 14 reviews)

  • "Growth is only available if you are favored by upper management(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and cool product

    Cons

    Vacation days and hours weren't ideal but usual for service industry

    Blue Apron2019-09-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Take the job if you can't find anything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Experience Agent in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairly simple job (if you don't mind getting yelled at all day), nice office, friendly peers.

    Cons

    No opportunity to grow (unless by some miracle someone else quits or HQ decides to expand the opportunities in the Austin office), no issue is ever really addressed/fixed, the company culture is dead, and there is a huge lack of communication between departments.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your current employees! The turnover in CX is rampant because the company offers nothing to hard working contributors. The fact that management doesn't even attempt to talk to employees who are considering leaving after working there for several years, says alot about how much they care.

    Blue Apron2019-09-04
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Linden, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited time off, employee discounts and weekly farmers market

    Cons

    Management, leadership, employee morale, high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Blue Apron is a company with potential but lacks by hiring the right candidates. Management is not properly trained and lack support. Operation team schedule endless meetings but fail to actually discuss topics that matter. Upper management do not take on responsibilities and fail to lead by example. No career opportunities are available unless you are an associate, in which you can be promoted to a floor supervisor.... Morale is at an all time low, employees are disengaged and dissatisfied.

    Show More
    Blue Apron2019-09-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Packaging Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Apron full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are SUPER generous with their employees in terms of vacation, general perks.

    Cons

    It still has a "start-up" mentality even thought it's 7 years old. Most of the managers are barely out of their 20s and lack basic experience. There is an imbalance, very little support staff.

    Blue Apron2019-07-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time

    Pros

    Good Mission, lots of autonomy

    Cons

    Dysfunctional management, company not performing well

    Blue Apron2019-07-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and meet people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Services Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back environment, lots of fun out of office get-togethers, in office parties and happy hours, LGBTQ+ loving, discount on product

    Cons

    Things went a little downhill after IPO, but they seem to be regaining traction.

    Blue Apron2019-07-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The snacks were decent -- I think they're gone now though?

    Cons

    Disjointed, delusional management.

    Blue Apron2019-07-24
  8. Helpful (5)

    "A Shadow of it's Former Self"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Team in Arlington, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Apron full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long weekends no matter what shift you're on. Co-workers are good people.

    Cons

    Raises are a joke. In 2018 and 2019, most people got one raise each year and it was about 25 cents. Some of the worst health insurance I've seen. We had good insurance when I started, but switched to something that costs the company less money, the employees pay higher premiums, and everyone gets surprise bills in the mail after each doctor visit. you are very unlikely to get 40 hours in a work week here. Very... little opportunity for advancement. It's not difficult to climb one step up the ladder, but that's likely as far as you'll go. Before the company was publicly traded, it really was a great company to work for. After it went public, of there was a way to take from the hourly associates, it was done. This includes basic benefits, perks, sick time, scheduled work hours, bonuses, and even the shift differential when night shift was shut down and most people forced to take a $1/HR pay cut and go to days.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    An investment in your hourly associates is an investment in the company. When you play around with people's livelihood, they'll eventually have enough and go elsewhere. 25 cents per year is not an adequate raise to keep up with cost of living increases and offset the loss of hours. When I started at BA, everyone loved the company. Everyone felt valued. Everyone felt like they made a difference, and they were... motivated to work harder, faster and more efficiently because they we felt like we had a bright future with the company. All of that is gone now. Morale continues to be at an all time low. Instead of feeling like part of the company, most hourly associates feel excluded and used. The love that many used to have for BA has turned to either apathy or in some cases hatred. Do something about it. Something other than offering pet insurance or giving everyone a cookie.

    Show More
    Blue Apron2019-06-26
  9. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY

    I have been working at Blue Apron part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and is flexible to work

    Cons

    Management is not the greatest with communication

    Advice to Management

    None

    Blue Apron2019-06-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Machine Operator 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has great Refrigeration systems, for the most part. And when joining the team(2 years ago), the possibilities for growth were really up to the associates’ work ethic.

    Cons

    Now, work within does t matter. The overall schedule has changed 3 times since I’ve started in 2017. On top of that, there are PLENTY of company policies implemented that are absolutely ridiculous; I.e: My son was sick and had to go to the E.R. I leave work to take him, and upon coming into work(because they have a points system), I provide a doctor’s note to get my half-point(half point If you’re late/leave early... at work) rescinded, and they tell me it needs to be an emergency to have the half point removed. I TOOK MY SON TO THE E.R. FOR PROFUSELY VOMITING, AND HE COULD HAVE LOST HIS LIFE FROM DEHYDRATION. WHAT OTHER EMERGENCIES DO I NEED FOR THIS HALF POINT TO GO AWAY?!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of HR AGAIN. They aren’t TRULY HELPING employees..

    Blue Apron2019-06-28
Found 251 reviews