Cars.com Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cars.com Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Cars.com CEO & President Alex Vetter
Alex Vetter
214 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance and the majority of employees genuinely care(in 97 reviews)

  • "They hire really great people which makes going into work everyday enjoyable(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some of our competitors gave the dealers more of what they wanted (leads) while we continued to debate with them over our value(in 18 reviews)

  • "Going down fast - low pay and no room for advancement(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "So So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Senior management needs a lot of work.

    Cars.com2019-11-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "At least the coworkers are good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are supportive and welcoming, with lasting friendships. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Managers spend most of their time micromanaging employees day-to-day and making excuses when they receive feedback. Poor communication between departments. Lack of trust between departments. Often draining energy.

    Cars.com2019-11-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cars.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The atmosphere and culture on the inside sales team has improved greatly in the last year. Due to new leadership, vision, and career patching opportunities.

    Cons

    The team is moving in the right direction, so continue positive momentum to avoid regression to the past.

    Advice to Management

    Continue creating development opportunities and promoting from within the team.

    Cars.com2019-10-26
  4. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cars.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Awesome people -Great work life balance -Learning experience -Opportunities for development

    Cons

    -Communication between different departments isn't great

    Cars.com2019-10-23
  5. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cars.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people, positive and welcoming. Great training program.

    Cons

    Very repetitive work, so focused on metrics and not on relationships with clients.

    Cars.com2019-10-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not my type of Drive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ad Trafficker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great co-worker Great Amenities Great locations Great work space

    Cons

    Managers are out of touch will not even acknowledge you or keep you in the know. Expectations were high for little pay. Some managers need diversity/Culture training

    Advice to Management

    You were once an intern or starting a position out of college you know the struggle to learn the ropes. Teach your employees and value them.

    Cars.com2019-09-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "CEO is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice office nice kitchen nice locaiton

    Cons

    CEO has no idea how to run a company

    Advice to Management

    fire CEO and CFO ASAP

    Cars.com2019-10-28
  8. "They take care of their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager 

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Typically has attracted very talented individuals and tons of learning opportunities. A lot of flexibility. Great product.

    Cons

    Important that you can adapt to change. I think overall jobs today require folks to be nimble and be ready for change at all times.

    Cars.com2019-09-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Media Account Representative in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility and benefits Work life balance is important

    Cons

    Pay The compensation plan is not enough. The base salary is too low.

    Advice to Management

    Fair compensation plan. Pay professionals, if you value them pay them accordingly.

    Cars.com2019-09-01
  10. "Solid Company In A Whirlwind Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Media Senior Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Good Work Life Balance Entrepreneurial Freedom

    Cons

    Tough industry/clients who make rash decisions that effect your commissions Some decisions seemed to take an umbrella approach and must be carried out even if not best for your specific market A bit of a skeleton crew at HQ leads to slower response times

    Advice to Management

    Get back on the aggression! Felt like a lot of defensive minded decisions were made towards the end of my employment.

    Cars.com2019-07-29
Found 434 reviews