Cars.com Reviews

Updated 29 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Cars.com CEO & President Alex Vetter
Alex Vetter
217 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance and the majority of employees genuinely care(in 97 reviews)

  • "They hire really great people which makes going into work everyday enjoyable(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some of our competitors gave the dealers more of what they wanted (leads) while we continued to debate with them over our value(in 19 reviews)

  • "Going down fast - low pay and no room for advancement(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Do not waste your time!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cars.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Since they went public, there are none.

    Cons

    The culture at Cars used to be phenomenal and about the people. They are no longer concerned about the people, they are more concerned with the bottom line. This company is bleeding in revenue and have no idea how to manage their finances.

    Cars.com2020-04-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not a Good Place For Long Time Career"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Other co-workers are great and fun to work with

    Cons

    Senior management has no clue only focused on outward facing. Devs are looked at as resources only. It took them 2-3 years to come up with Roles for developers. People got promoted randomly to higher levels. Then those went away and took 2 years to change. They are not interested in keeping top talent just what looks good on the books. New ideas get squashed only ads matter. Its a sinking ship get out while you can and work for a company that cares about its developers.

    Continue reading
    Cars.com2020-02-13

    Cars.com Response

    March 5, 2020Cars Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we hear you. Our industry is changing at a fast rate, which requires us as a business to not just keep up, but to continue to be leaders through innovation. That's why we appreciate our employees and the flexibility they offer to help meet those needs. We know we have some of the smartest and most talented employees in our industry and need to be better at demonstrating that.

  3. "Great Company, Great Products - Didn't want to leave"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Media Senior Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time

    Pros

    Great Products, Lots of Support

    Cons

    After going public there was a huge shift to satisfy shareholders which led to layoffs

    Continue reading
    Cars.com2020-01-15
  4. "Great, hard working people."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President of Sales in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    My bosses, VP and C-suite, were great. Very passionate about the business. I learned a ton.

    Cons

    Hit declining dealer count and revenue but I believe they are now on the upswing, which is well deserved.

    Cars.com2020-01-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "So So"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Senior management needs a lot of work.

    Cars.com2019-11-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "At least the coworkers are good"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are supportive and welcoming, with lasting friendships. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Managers spend most of their time micromanaging employees day-to-day and making excuses when they receive feedback. Poor communication between departments. Lack of trust between departments. Often draining energy.

    Cars.com2019-11-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Inside Sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cars.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The atmosphere and culture on the inside sales team has improved greatly in the last year. Due to new leadership, vision, and career patching opportunities.

    Cons

    The team is moving in the right direction, so continue positive momentum to avoid regression to the past.

    Continue reading
    Cars.com2019-10-26
  8. "Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cars.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Awesome people -Great work life balance -Learning experience -Opportunities for development

    Cons

    -Communication between different departments isn't great

    Cars.com2019-10-23
  9. "Great People"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cars.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people, positive and welcoming. Great training program.

    Cons

    Very repetitive work, so focused on metrics and not on relationships with clients.

    Cars.com2019-10-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not my type of Drive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ad Trafficker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cars.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great co-worker Great Amenities Great locations Great work space

    Cons

    Managers are out of touch will not even acknowledge you or keep you in the know. Expectations were high for little pay. Some managers need diversity/Culture training

    Continue reading
    Cars.com2019-09-26
Found 436 reviews