Certas Energy Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
47%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Certas Energy Managing Director Steve Taylor (no image)
Steve Taylor
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "High staff turnover, poor vehicles and equipment(in 4 reviews)

  • "Multiple brands from acquisitions need to be brought under the Certas name(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people and benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Certas Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open and positive. Great opportunities reward for hardwork

    Cons

    None come to mind... no staff discounts?

    Certas Energy Response

    January 31, 2020Resource Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate all feedback from current and former employees.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "PLEASE READ - THE MOST TERRIBLE COMPANY TO WORK FOR"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Falkirk, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Certas Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Days off are about the only Pro

    Cons

    This is the first company I have worked for that treat you in such a terrible manner. Team Leader on drugs whilst working and head management seem to have known but ignored it until people stood up for themselves. Your private information gets talking about amongst your team mates and theres only one place it could have came from (Manager or HR) HR ARE TERRIBLE!! and will back stab you at any given point. Terrible pay for work load. Customers speak down to you, I would never ever advise anyone to work here, and I always avoid Certas Garages now because I aint giving them one more penny to my time ever again.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t waste your time"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service and Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Certas Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1 hour lunch and free instant coffee/milk

    Cons

    Terrible managers, they don't seem to care about anything, nothing works properly - from delivery to payment.

    Continue reading
  4. "Opportunities to further career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Certas Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced and some good people

    Cons

    Some politics but getting better

    Continue reading

    Certas Energy Response

    March 8, 2020Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking to the time to post a review, we really appreciate your positive feedback. We have recently invested in Lean training for some of our senior managers which is aimed at supporting them in helping their teams to modernise business processes, hopefully you will see us continue to improve in this area.

  5. "Toxic"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Head 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Certas Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some good people work there (although most leave) Reasonable remuneration

    Cons

    Toxic/blame culture Heavily bureaucratic Consumed with internal politics Cliquey

    Continue reading

    Certas Energy Response

    March 6, 2020Resourcing Manager

    Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review, we welcome both positive and constructive feedback. We regularly carry out colleague surveys and are keen to address and improve any identifiable issues relating to our culture and ways of working.

  6. COVID-19

    "made to come to office when people or self isoalting for coronavirus"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Certas Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    struggling to see one right now

    Cons

    Could get seriously ill working here now

    Continue reading

    Certas Energy Response

    April 21, 2020Resourcing Manager

    Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post a review, all feedback is reviewed and I will ensure this is passed on the the relevant management team. I'd like to offer reassurance that during these unprecedented times we have worked hard to put the safety of our colleagues first and we are following government guidelines closely as they emerge. At the time of this review we were working to get as many employees as possible working from home, this has now been implemented in the office referred to.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Certas Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount on Costa, some of the staff are great. Management and "supervisor" are terrible.

    Cons

    No full break. They'll take you on as part time like you applied for then give you full time hours that are increasingly hard to do due to other commitments. Bad training then spoken to like an idiot in front of customers due to THEM not even showing you that you're supposed to do something. I think they must expect you to be psychic. Supervisor going on about stock rotation when she doesn't bother with that herself. Being there nearly every single shift upto 40 mins UNPAID. (Can I take these minutes out of my notice period when I hand my notice in?) You'll notice an array of new staff every so often as no one wants to stay.

    Continue reading

    Certas Energy Response

    April 21, 2020Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review, all feedback both positive and constructive is valued. I will ensure your feedback is passed to the relevant management team.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "The worst company ever!!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ADR Tanker Driver in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Certas Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best bit of the day was when you got you to walk out of the terminal gate on your way home, without being called back by the useless supervisor who is definitely not trained in personal people skills...what an total class 1 A.hole!!

    Cons

    Having to turn up for your shift or having to go into the office because you've been summoned by the supervisor as he has his favourites, but will pick on & bully the ones who aren't. He hates being questioned or answered back too, very childish attitude. The manager needs a spine as he wont back up any drivers issues with the higher Management ( & they're something else)!! Moral through the driving team ( the real workers) is really low. Most dont stay long, its basically a training academy for new drivers to get basis training then leave to work with other companies who respect the drivers. HR live in a different world & wages rarely get it right...be warned!!!!

    Continue reading

    Certas Energy Response

    April 21, 2020Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review, all feedback both positive and constructive is valued. I will ensure your feedback is passed to the relevant management team. We have a zero tolerance approach to bullying at Certas and at the time I would of urged you to speak to your local HR Business Partner about this.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "It was good but has gone down hill dramatically!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Certas Energy full-time

    Pros

    the local team are ok, nice people Staff are trying so hard to make the company money but it is never enough for the directors. The company used to be good but has gone downhill since the senior management team came in I used to recommend the company to people but I feel guilty some of them are stuck in a similar position to me, would never recommend Certas to anyone

    Cons

    very senior managers don't care. They pretend that they do HR is awful, they will lie to new recruits and get rid of you if your face doesn't fit, seldom based on performance. High staff turn over due to bullying tactics

    Continue reading

    Certas Energy Response

    February 25, 2020Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave both positive and constructive comments. We regularly ask for feedback in 'Have Your Say' surveys and communicate what we have implemented as a result, I would encourage you to raise any issues where appropriate with your manager or local HR Business Partner.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "bullies"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ADR Tanker Driver in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Certas Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    wages not dad,working with other helpful drivers

    Cons

    bully boy management if they get their on way very sad

    Continue reading

    Certas Energy Response

    February 25, 2020Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave some comments. I will make sure your feedback reaches the relevant management teams and would encourage any issues are discussed as they arise, where appropriate with your manager or local HR Business Partner. Our drivers undertake a vital role at Certas and we are very keen to ensure their views are listened to and respected, we regularly ask for feedback in 'Have Your Say' surveys and communicate what we have implemented as a result.

Found 76 reviews