Chanel Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Chanel Reviews

Updated 15 de Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Chanel CEO Alain Wertheimer
Alain Wertheimer
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Projets / Cadre de travail / Proximit(in 27 reviews)

  • "(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and it can be too pretentious(in 13 reviews)

  • "rimaires cdd stagiaires tout le monde y passe(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist 

    I worked at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really good training, great commission structure

    Cons

    Can be competitive for sales with other colleagues

    Chanel2019-10-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad, not great either"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, benefits and team

    Cons

    Mismanagement, long hours and pushy managers

    Chanel2019-10-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England

    I worked at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    i think only staff discount

    Cons

    Long hours no praise or recognition of work no career progression Managers do not know what they are doing and micromanage

    Chanel2019-11-15
  4. "Toxic work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, working hours. Opportunity to switch in departments

    Cons

    Lack of the quality training.

    Chanel2019-10-22
  5. "It was all right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gifts! Great training package. My line manager was great and so was the area manager

    Cons

    shift hours - would have to work late sometimes

    Chanel2019-09-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Global prestige brand beautiful products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fabulous brand , iconic and wonderful heritage. Beautiful products that are fantastic Good staff discount Great training and beautiful merchandising

    Cons

    Below industry average pay Usual retail targets pressure Awful uniform Product availability sometimes frustrating

    Continue reading
    Chanel2019-08-28
  7. "Great Company but slow progess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - After Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The soft skills you learn are great, perks are subjectively good, low stress environment depending on situation.

    Cons

    Very slow progress, communication is never clear, may be long hours for some.

    Chanel2019-07-18
  8. "Lux"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fragrance Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chanel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Luxury company, good benefits good discount

    Cons

    Very target driven, too much travelling

    Chanel2019-05-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Bad management, no support, micro managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing staff perks, looks really good on your cv.

    Cons

    Don’t get any kind of support of area managers, they don’t give praise or thanks when doing well. They expect the world and give nothing back! Micro managed even down to the rota, you can’t be a your own manager, Chanel need to grow with the times and let managers actually manage.

    Continue reading
    Chanel2019-06-11
  10. "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really looking after the staff with amazing opportunities to get Chanel accessories and fragrance and makeup. Good commission structure.

    Cons

    Not very high wage. Low career prospects.

    Continue reading
    Chanel2019-04-14
Found 445 reviews