Costello Medical Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Costello Medical Reviews

Updated 9 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Costello Medical Director & CEO Sophie Costello (no image)
Sophie Costello
9 Ratings
  1. "Love Working Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costello Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love working with the talented and driven team, lots of variety and opportunity to choose my own path and make autonomous decisions as a manager. Also really enjoy supporting pro bono work - not many companies in our sector offer this. Being an independent has its perks too. What stood out when I was looking at companies was the feeling I got from the employees at Costello that they wanted me to do well.

    Cons

    The job can be stressful and challenging - there is lots to juggle, especially as you progress. But I think that's consulting!

    Continue reading
    Costello Medical2018-10-06

    Costello Medical Response

    October 10, 2018HR Manager

    Hello, thank you for your review and for reflecting on your experiences as part of the Costello Medical team. Hopefully the mission and vision statements which we worked on collectively, and have now been finalised, will help everybody garner a clear sense of where the company is headed and how they can contribute to our goals. Thanks for the reminder not to neglect this aspect, however. With our exciting pace and continual growth it's important that everyone can feel a part of this.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work with occasional growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publications Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costello Medical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A really dynamic, fun and friendly atmosphere If you are talented progression is rapid Work is interesting and there is a lot of long term collaboration with established pharma clients Although work is often high pressure, there is usually a sufficient amount of support available to challenge but not overwhelm employees Regular company surveys provide opportunities to feed back to senior staff

    Cons

    Fast growth means processes sometimes struggle to keep up Salary slightly below industry standard Experience can be quite dependent on the quality of line management

    Continue reading
    Costello Medical2019-07-09

    Costello Medical Response

    July 24, 2019HR Manager

    Thanks for posting your review and for your considered list of what you enjoy and where you think we could improve. The cons you mention are all things that we hope we can continue to address. Learning from past experiences and moving the company forward is aligned with our ethos and so your advice chimes well with this. We hope you will continue to be a part of these efforts.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great job for new graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costello Medical full-time

    Pros

    Extremely friendly coworkers and supportive management Great opportunities for progression Opportunity to work on a diverse range of projects - employees are not limited to projects in their divisions only Funded training opportunities, driven by your interests Lots of wellbeing initiatives, HR and senior management make a huge (and sincere) effort to maximise employee satisfaction with ideas driven by feedback from employees Collaborative environment, you can be working with several project teams simultaneously There is no hierarchal divide, people of varying seniority sit next to each other and socialise together Great socials funded by the company The company makes a generous contribution towards travel costs for employees who wish to work in the Singapore office for a short period

    Cons

    The hours can be long, especially around external deadlines, but I imagine this is true of most consultancy work Workload and timeline expectations can vary between project managers As a smaller company the pay is probably slightly below that of some larger competitors

    Continue reading
    Costello Medical2017-12-11

    Costello Medical Response

    December 20, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for your review. It seems that you value a great many positives about working for Costello Medical and we are pleased to read your endorsement! We are aware that colleagues can work additional hours and as you rightly point out this can be particularly the case when working up to a deadline. We strive to ensure that this isn’t the norm and that on the whole colleagues enjoy a positive work-life balance. We will continue to engage with all colleagues on a wide range of topics impacting all who work here. Thank you in advance for your participation in these.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Scientific Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costello Medical

    Pros

    Very friendly staff, comprehensive training opportunities, and a supportive culture.

    Cons

    Not a culture for everyone, but they cater well and give a lot of assistance to people who fit the culture.

    Continue reading
    Costello Medical2017-12-04

    Costello Medical Response

    December 6, 2017HR Manager

    We are really pleased to have your endorsement of the training you received during your internship and that you experienced a friendly and supportive culture. Thank you for your review. If you know of anybody looking to gain experience in medical communications, we’d be grateful for you recommending our internship programme to them as we're continuing to recruit.

    Continue reading
  5. "Collaborative and Friendly Workplace with Clear Values and Objectives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costello Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are plenty of opportunities at this company for you to take initiative and drive ventures that you are passionate about and you can do so with the excellent support of the Senior Management Team who actively encourage innovation and are very much focused on ensuring that employees have the opportunity to progress in a way that is driven by the interests and needs of the individual. The work is varied and rewarding. The company's commitment to pro bono and giving back to the community, and the opportunities for both internal and external training, are but a few additional reasons that make this a great place to work!

    Cons

    The company is making huge efforts towards ensuring employees are supported and able to manage their workloads, that can become high at certain times of the year. Recent wellbeing initiatives and focus on mental health have really helped improve work:life balances!

    Costello Medical2017-11-06

    Costello Medical Response

    November 22, 2017HR Manager

    Great to read about your positive reflections on working at Costello Medical; thank you!

    Continue reading
  6. "Friendly and supportive workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costello Medical full-time

    Pros

    Good training opportunities, varied responsibilities, increasing level of flexibility

    Cons

    Overstretched teams can lead to long hours

    Continue reading
    Costello Medical2017-10-30

    Costello Medical Response

    November 1, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for your comments outlining the positives aspects of your experience of working at Costello Medical. We recognise that some people do work long hours and we want to continue to find ways to prevent this from becoming a regular occurrence. Senior managers hold weekly planning meetings to allocate the spare resource to the areas where it is needed most, and we are discussing ways in which divisions can build in more contingency time to help ease the pressure at busy times. If you have other suggestions for how this can be managed, please do get in touch with the relevant colleagues to discuss.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costello Medical full-time

    Pros

    - A really great team of people to work with, no office politics, a very friendly environment in which you can enjoy working every day - Fun social activities and events are frequently organised, such as volunteering days and mindfulness sessions - Senior management team who listen to and value the opinions of all members of staff - Exciting future ahead with growth of team, addition of new offices

    Cons

    Workload can be on the higher side at certain times of year, but the senior team do actively find ways to reduce this and help staff manage it, with some measures implicated recently to help

    Continue reading
    Costello Medical2017-10-10

    Costello Medical Response

    October 13, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for the endorsement of our recent social activities and volunteering initiatives, and of the company culture in general!

    Continue reading
  8. "Inspiring company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costello Medical full-time

    Pros

    - Fantastic people, great culture - Anyone can make an impact on the company and management listen to employees - either through twice yearly anonymous surveys or if people bring their ideas directly to management - Recent remuneration increase has made salaries much more competitive - Everyone has a 'can do' attitude and people are not afraid of trying new things - Supportive environment and good line management

    Cons

    - Career progression options can be unclear, especially in more senior roles, but it's obvious from company communications that they encourage people to discuss their options and bring their own ideas for personal and career development to the table

    Continue reading
    Costello Medical2017-09-26

    Costello Medical Response

    October 13, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for the positive comments about your experience of working for Costello Medical. We see great advantages in engaging with employees directly on topics impacting the business and will maintain a commitment to this as the company grows.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging but stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Costello Medical

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, low level of politics, varied work, committed staff, small company atmosphere and good internal promotion opportunities.

    Cons

    Strict and formal policies, quiet office, stressful workload with no contingencies, compensation and benefits not competitive for hours worked

    Costello Medical2017-09-16

    Costello Medical Response

    September 21, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for highlighting the numerous aspects of life at Costello Medical that you enjoy. We’d be interested to know which policies you find constraining, as this is not feedback we regularly receive. As a client-facing services organisation, we recognise that the nature of our work can be stressful at times, but if this has been your overwhelming experience, please do talk to your manager as there are options that can be explored. We’ve recently increased the overall remuneration of all UK employees, so we hope in light of this you feel that your reward goes further to compensate you for your efforts. Sophie Pearson

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Interesting projects but overworked and underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Costello Medical full-time

    Pros

    Interesting and varied project work, talented colleagues, friendly atmosphere, good experience for new starters.

    Cons

    Rewards are very poor, long working hours and a pressured environment despite the company recruiting on the premise that it's employees have a 'good work-life balance'.

    Continue reading
    Costello Medical2017-08-14

    Costello Medical Response

    September 20, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for your comments. As you are a current employee you will be aware that we asked more in depth feedback on reward and how we can increase satisfaction with it during the employee survey earlier this year, and we have since been conducting a review of how this feedback can be addressed. We’ve recently communicated the outcomes of this internally. You’ll also know that we have introduced various initiatives to support everyone to improve their work-life balance over the past months; we hope you’re looking forward to the early finish this Friday. If you have any more suggestions, please do discuss with your manager or another member of the SMT. The pros you’ve listed are often repeated by our colleagues and we are pleased that you also enjoy the friendly environment which defines our offices.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews