DataStax Reviews

Updated 14 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
DataStax CEO Chet Kapoor
Chet Kapoor
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are actively engaged with the open source software community(in 27 reviews)

  • "Most of us work from home but we collaborate a lot better than when I used to work in offices for other companies(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You will compete against Cassandra open source(in 13 reviews)

  • "New CEO is driving the company off a cliff(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great, fast paced environment with great employee growth

      15 Mar 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      opportunity to get involved in exciting, complex, and ground-breaking work

      Cons

      no cons to speak of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Maverick hiring ethics

      21 Nov 2020 - User Researcher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was lucky I didn’t end up working there

      Cons

      They wasted my time and caused unnecessary stress

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company, great people, great ambition

      13 Jan 2021 - Head of Human Resources EMEA in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work with so many super smart people We have great talent Love the wellness benefit Great at making working from home work - they've been doing it for a while so were ahead of the curve.

      Cons

      Unable to meet my colleagues in person yet - hopefully we'll be allowed to do this soon

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      great tech, poor snr mgmt and execution

      20 Jan 2021 - Sales in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great tech, some very loyal customers

      Cons

      poor snr mgmt and execution

      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Energy + Strategy + Execution = Winning

      14 Jul 2020 - Sales in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Energy. This is the place if you want to be part of something - Strategy. The community and customers love the new strategy. Embracing open source has been a big accelerant - Execution. This is a great place to learn, thrive, and make money for execution-oriented salespeople. Sales management/sales culture is data-driven and collaborative.

      Cons

      This is a rocket ship - things are moving very fast. You've got to be ready to work hard and adapt as we grow

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      WARNING - DO YOUR DUE DILIGENCE BEFORE JOINING THE COMPANY

      3 Apr 2020 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Zero. None what so ever.

      Cons

      Having worked and left the company sometime ago, it is such a shame to see and hear all the 10 years of hard work by the previous leadership team is now being destroyed. The company I experienced had a great team culture but has now been turned into an unpleasant environment. The culture of all great companies is driven from the top down and it is evident with what is happening the current CEO has successfully creating a toxic one.... you just have to read all the negative reviews here to believe it. My understanding is there have been a minimum of 3 rounds of lay offs in the last 5 months - 2 of which were either side of Christmas (!!) and the other last month! Considering what is going on in the world with COVID-19, the latest round of redundancies shows a lack of empathy and judgement by not only the leadership team but also the local HR teams. This cost cutting exercise is clearly in preparation for the company to be sold to the first bidder, so if you do decide to join expect a very miserable short term ride.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A fresh DataStax and a better journey

      7 May 2020 - Developer Relations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The tide has turned and we are ready to have a huge impact on the world. Great new direction recognising the need for community relations being at the heart of what we do. Always busy but never not looking forward to what is next to come. Nice working culture and structure and never feel like you are under surveillance

      Cons

      Startup mentality can sometimes take the polish off of things Being distributed sometimes means missing out on crucial updates or receiving them way past the fact

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Best experience

      27 Aug 2020 - Technical Support Engineer Intern in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing team and excellent work ethic.

      Cons

      None come to mind at the moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing company with an incredibly talented team

      8 Mar 2020 - Finance 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      DataStax is an extremely fast paced company, with an exceptional leadership team. With the new executive team onboard there is a clear focus on the technology, enterprises and the community. The company is full of super passionate, caring, kind and intelligent people and it is a seriously awesome place to work.

      Cons

      Still trying to find one !

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company, great culture, challenging work

      20 Apr 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people. New exec team have a clear outlook for the future. The work is stimulating and colleagues are incredibly supportive. Great package and incentive schemes.

      Cons

      None that I can find.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 334 Reviews

    Popular Careers with DataStax Job Seekers

    Solutions Architect
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at DataStax? Share Your Experiences

    DataStax logo
    or