David Clulow Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

David Clulow Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
David Clulow CEO Richard Peck  (no image)
Richard Peck
7 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work with good benefits and commissions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at David Clulow part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    2 free pairs of sunglasses every year 1% commission , with easily sellable products nice environment

    Cons

    in winter it can be very quite

    Advice to Management

    More free Pairs for employees !

    David Clulow2019-06-10
  2. "David Clulow perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Maidstone, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at David Clulow part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good perks, 2 free pairs of sunglasses a year, discount events and employee discounts on brands such as: Apple

    Cons

    minimum wage (dependant where you're located)

    David Clulow2019-10-15
  3. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in Gillingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at David Clulow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can be a fun place but be professional when need to be

    Cons

    Working late hours especially at Christmas

    Advice to Management

    I don’t know

    David Clulow2019-09-27
  4. "Fairly good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at David Clulow full-time

    Pros

    Reasonable pay. Colleagues are friendly. Non-stressful work environment.

    Cons

    Days can be slow when there's not a lot to do

    David Clulow2019-08-04
  5. "david clulow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Bicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at David Clulow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good money and commission in the summer

    Cons

    rubbish management horrible to staff

    David Clulow2019-05-01
  6. "Optical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at David Clulow part-time

    Pros

    Good place to gain experience in customer service, commission based on your sales, incentives and benefits

    Cons

    Not very well paid, lots of responsibilities, no structure in training new staff

    David Clulow2019-03-06
  7. "Poor wages, with typical retail pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Clulow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people generally were warm Products are high quality and easy to sell April-August

    Cons

    The money and incentives The paperwork September-March

    Advice to Management

    Streamline the paperwork and give your employees less busywork to do, so that when it's busy your employees can actually focus on serving the customers and earning everyone money, rather than filling out overly complicated bits of paperwork. If you want to lower staff turnover, increase the wages. Businesses like supermarkets blow your money out of the water and it doesn't exactly marry well to the premium image... that you're trying to maintain. Increasing the quantity and quality of incentives too would go along way for employee moral, especially during the winter months. The current incentive program, just feels like paying lip service.

    Show More
    David Clulow2019-02-05
  8. "Optical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at David Clulow full-time

    Pros

    The team i worked with in store we some of the kindest people i’ve ever met. We all related as we had the same issues and frustrations with the company

    Cons

    I’m not sure how a luxury opticians gives its employees the lowest pay compared to competitors. Poor pay. Most staff members manager or not work to a manager level yet are paid severly low. No chance for progression although this is promised. They put you forward for a role and at the last minute will tell you you aren’t ready for the role, although you have the required experience. As if that wasn’t a slap in the... face, the will then hire external people for the role you applied for who then turn to you for help as they have no idea how the company works. Very sales/target driver. Area managers are only happy if you have met target but aren’t really interested in helping you achieve those targets.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff better, they all work incredibly hard and this should be reflected in their pay, maybe this is why staff turnover is so high. Respect current team members and give them the promotions they deserve

    David Clulow2018-07-17
  9. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at David Clulow part-time

    Pros

    Two free pairs of sunglasses

    Cons

    Poor pay, poor management at times.

    David Clulow2018-04-24
  10. "Optical assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at David Clulow full-time

    Pros

    The amount of work and competences required are a lot compared to the basic payment per hour

    Cons

    Is not a motivating place where to work

    Advice to Management

    The management often lies on the quality of their lenses and even if a product is not perfect they keep going to provide faulty materials to the customers, the management I've work with is very rude and with no patience and not kind at all. The opportunity to grow doesn't exist even if they say yes

    David Clulow2017-11-25
Found 23 reviews