DraftKings Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

DraftKings Reviews

Updated 25 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
DraftKings CEO Jason Robins
Jason Robins
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed but professional work environment(in 12 reviews)

  • "perks: mani-pedis, massages, game tickets, free food & snacks,(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons for this company at all(in 6 reviews)

  • "Without an HR overall DK will be in the headlines soon(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    DraftKings is a great company to work for. Here you really feel part of a big family, where everyone works towards common goals and everyone is passionate about the product and delivering a great customer experience.

    Cons

    I can't think of one!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    DraftKings2016-03-22
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of people who are ace

    Cons

    Competitive culture, and stressful travel

    DraftKings2019-10-09
  3. Helpful (3)

    "An exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings

    Pros

    Dynamic environment filled with young and enthusiastic staff., and plenty of opportunity to grow and develop within the organisation.

    Cons

    Not yet a global company in a real sense.

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication between offices and departments, help everyone understand how each person benefits the organisation, and remove the culture where some teams perceive their work as more important than others

    DraftKings2016-03-30
  4. "Great place to wrok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Fast growing industry that provides for unique challenges -Company clearly cares about employee growth -Everyone you work with is smart and will help you grow as an engineer -Unbelievable perks

    Cons

    -Fast growth means that the organizational structure is in constant flux -Hard to balance growth with small company values

    DraftKings2019-11-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Huge DraftKings Fan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at DK for over a year and a half and it has flown by. What drew me originally to the company was how amazing the culture seemed... I wanted to work somewhere that was growing quickly in a new industry, and that is definitely what I got. Even though growth has been rapid, it is evident to employees how hard HR is working to continue to promote the culture that I fell in love with when first interviewing. We... have monthly All-Hands meetings so we are kept up to date on everything happening in our industry, Lunch & Learns to deep dive into different departments and how they contribute to success, and daily Internal Comms in our slack channels with news/updates/spotlights featuring employees. As a female working in the tech industry people often ask me if I notice the large gender gap here. While it is evident when in a room full of employees that the crowd is spotted with women... it doesn't feel that way on a day to day basis (for me anyway). I notice women stepping into leading roles in all aspects of the business, transforming DK into a more diverse workplace. The quick answer - DraftKings is an awesome place to work. The people are by far the best part... being able to say that I have friends in different sectors of the business is huge for a growing company. We have fun workplace events, great perks (mani/pedis, massages, haircuts, blowouts, game nights, yoga, happy hours on Fridays with catered food), and all around the best culture. As a business we are working out some kinks but I can only see us continuing on the upward path we are on.

    Show More

    Cons

    Honestly, not many cons to note. It is hard to complain when you like coming into work everyday (or at least most days). The only thing I'd say is while we do promote internal mobility - we also need to make sure we are paying employees the right amount for that job that they move into, not just a little bump or a tiny raise... they should be paid as if they were coming in as an external candidate. Staying... competitive with internal mobility is super important!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and stay transparent with the business (like you have been).

    DraftKings2019-11-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Surpassed my expectations and assumptions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The company is full of dynamic, intelligent, and young people - Explosive growth and exciting potential - You have the opportunity to make a difference because the company is small enough to quickly adapt change - Perks that do not come with strings attached: free manicures, massages, blowouts/haircuts, food, beer/wine, yoga, trivia nights, group outings - Gorgeous modern office in Back Bay

    Cons

    - Still very much a male organization (no women in executive positions, mostly male employees), but the company is actively and genuinely working on diversity, equity and inclusion

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in minds other than the sports-obsessed software engineer/analyst. I am happy to be a part of DraftKings even though I don't fit the typical DK stereotypes, and I want to see the company embrace even more cultural change. Continue being transparent and responsible.

    DraftKings2019-10-05
  7. "Wholly Collaborate, Supportive, and Engaging Community of Innovative Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workplace experience 

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative Community, Supportive Management and Execs, Open Conversations Welcome, Open-Door Policy, Friendly Employees, Diverse Community, Dress Down Policy, Unlimited Vaca

    Cons

    Hours are not super flexible

    DraftKings2019-10-02
  8. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time

    Pros

    -culture -energy -team environment -investing in the right things

    Cons

    I really love the company! I’m pretty new and I have been welcomed with open arms.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward!!

    DraftKings2019-09-20
  9. "On the Right Track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time

    Pros

    I like the camaraderie amongst cross-functional teams. Even if someone does not understand your role, they will assist you in any manner. I respect the culture of saying what you mean. There's a lot of radical transparency, and the feedback helps you improve as an employee. The perks and benefits are good and continue to improve. I feel as I can be myself at DraftKings and do my best work.

    Cons

    Do more to implement company values into the culture and lexicon of the company. We have grown quite a bit and can use updated values as a compass for employees to follow.

    Advice to Management

    No one stays on top forever. Keep your foot on the pedal and continue to adapt and grow.

    DraftKings2019-09-18
  10. "The interview sold the company to me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Owner in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I talked to was extremely friendly, they made me feel comfortable and the interview questions were conversational. Huge plus was that no one asked me the same question!

    Cons

    It took longer than I would have liked

    DraftKings2019-09-18
Found 115 reviews