Elastic Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Elastic Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 146 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Shay Banon
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "commercial plugins model seems to be the best combination to make an open source business successful(in 24 reviews)

  • "Very good work/life balance (for most)(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Fast growth bring great opportunities, but also adds to workload, making work/life balance difficult at times(in 10 reviews)

  • "The balance between open source and making money is a tough line to walk along, but Elastic do it pretty well(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The best and smartest colleagues on the planet. Wonderful ethos, great product, sky rocket growth. Inspirational CEO and great leadership team.

    Cons

    Growing very quickly. Challenge will be to maintain level of quality.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Elastic2019-05-10
  2. "Strongly recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elastic full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Great career development opportunities. - Smart/ambitious colleagues. - Great perks/benefits. - Lots of flexibility around work arrangement.

    Cons

    - Fast growth bring great opportunities, but also adds to workload, making work/life balance difficult at times.

    Elastic2019-04-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, with a lot of driven and passionate people. The latest and greatest tech.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is a no. Unsure of projection and where company will be in 12-24 months time.

    Advice to Management

    None - all good

    Elastic2018-07-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic

    Pros

    One of the best company cultures around. Incredibly driven and intelligent people across every department. Products are changing the world, exciting place to work day in day out.

    Cons

    Absolutely none, no complaints about anything

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and I love the transparency with the whole company

    Elastic2017-02-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I have ever worked for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Working with talented people makes a nice change - Great flexibility between, work and play - Very executive team who strive to make the company the best it can be

    Cons

    - The balance between open source and making money is a tough line to walk along, but Elastic do it pretty well! - Some growth pains, but that is expected with such a company, if you need a highly structured environment to work in, this might not be your place.

    Advice to Management

    Not much, just keep things the way they are!

    Elastic2017-01-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant Company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant company, amazing culture, hard working, driven, outstanding product and a great opportunity to make money! From the first time I spoke with the recruiter in London, who was brilliant! :-) to the first day at work the whole process has been the best I have experienced!

    Cons

    Haven't really seen anything bad yet, please just make sure you spend the time hiring great people!

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring great people!

    Elastic2016-09-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic

    Pros

    Such an amazing stack of technology, driven by the very brightest in the industry, leveraged by the biggest organisations in the world. Easily the coolest startup in the world

    Cons

    I need to improve my table tennis skills

    Elastic2015-08-25
  8. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic

    Pros

    Well-known and adopted open source technology stack and a diverse team of engineering, sales, and marketing behind it. Sometimes the product sells itself, as they say. I enjoy flexibility with regards to travel, working from home, training, etc. I get to engage in different things each day and seeing all the different things going on at the company too with regards to marketing and sales which I had not had deeper knowledge...

    Show More

    Cons

    A tiny bit of uncertainty about the future of making money from open source but we've got a great team behind this who have quite a bit of experience in this area. Working remotely is a boon but of course you don't see everything that goes on behind the scenes too so it's got both aspects to it if you're not used to working remotely.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your customers and employees, experiment and course correct, think both tactically and strategically, invest in new commercial products, and of course stay ahead of the competition

    Elastic2015-08-27
  9. "After one month in Elastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Elastic

      Pros

      Open, honest, collaborative, remote company culture and behaviour. Very good suite of products. People have a clear idea of what to do next (at all levels)

      Cons

      Due to the distributed location of staff, communication is paramount, sometimes its hard to keep track of it all.

      Advice to Management

      None

      Elastic2015-08-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Beyond my Expectations. I'm drinking the Kool-aid."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Elastic full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Everything I hoped for and more - Distributed by design, the culture needed for this kind of thing to actually work and scale appears to be successfully transmitted. - You talk to older employees and almost all of them are surprised that it has scaled. - Organization tries to measure and improve employee engagement. - Thoughtful leadership and approach to solving problems in the competitive market has been inspiring...

      Show More

      Cons

      - Not much room for juniors to come in as the company is distributed. I don't believe that someone extremely junior could get what they need. Average age in the company is older as a result of not hiring juniors. Not really a con, just unfortunate that people can't experience Elastic until they are further on in their career. - Can be disorienting on-boarding. Distributed companies can "highlight" mental health risks...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Keep focusing on the source code, over-communicate it again and again and again, because it's working. The source code and the culture are so important and it was transmitted to me within a few months. If we can keep the source code moving through the new hires, I don't know what the limits of the company are.

      Elastic2019-05-20
    Found 146 reviews