Explore Learning Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Explore Learning Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 393 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "they're under pressure to sign kids up but what that means for tutors is increased demand in tutoring children as young as 4(in 59 reviews)

  • "Looking at the reviews on Glassdoor, a strong theme is about working hours(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Challenging and fun working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time

    Pros

    - Excellent way to develop leadership skills - Good teaching experience

    Cons

    - Steep initial learning curve

    Explore Learning2019-08-27

    Explore Learning Response

    August 28, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your feedback following your time as a Tutor with us. All the best for the future!

  2. "best part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Pays really well, you have a pay review teach year which is determined by how well you do in the role and your length of service. - Learn how to work with so many types of children (SEN, low concentration, non- english speaking etc.) - Lovely, positive environment to be in, kids look up to you, parents are lovely. - Tutor team feels like a family, you have trainings and socials.

    Cons

    - Can be stressful during busy showtimes.

    Explore Learning2019-09-12
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Been at the job about 3 months now, absolutely amazing. Kids are lovely and well behaved, nice likeminded staff and management who actually care about their employees

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Explore Learning2019-09-08

    Explore Learning Response

    September 10, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience as a Tutor over the past 3 months. It's lovely to hear that you have had an amazing experience so far, and that you have a fantastic management team - I'm sure they'd love to hear your feedback directly if you haven't told them already. Thank you ...

    Show More
  4. "Tutor at explore learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor At Explore Learning 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time

    Pros

    Great management, flexibility and communication with children when working.

    Cons

    None that I have experienced

    Explore Learning2019-09-07

    Explore Learning Response

    September 10, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your lovely feedback - it's wonderful to hear how much you enjoy the tutor role, and that you would recommend it to others. Thank you for your hard work and all the best for your continued career at Explore Learning.

  5. "Great student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time

    Pros

    Fulfilling. Flexible. Fun. Good training.

    Cons

    Evenings and weekends. Not lots of hours.

    Explore Learning2019-09-07

    Explore Learning Response

    September 10, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback - I am pleased you found the tutor role fulfilling, flexible and fun (great alliteration!) Sorry to hear you didn't receive many hours - I will make sure I pass all your feedback on. All the best for the future!

  6. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Tutor in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked well with student timetables

    Cons

    Was asked to tidy centre

    Explore Learning2019-09-06

    Explore Learning Response

    September 10, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am pleased the role worked well with your timetables. All of us that have worked in centres get involved tidying the centre - we want to make sure the learning environment is the best it can be for our members! All the best for the future.

  7. "It’s okay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in nine elms, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working with children, you see so many characters and it’s great to see their improvement and listen to their stories. Flexible Hours to fit you, particularly students Good for obtaining more communication skills Opportunities in self learning Nice socials

    Cons

    Management definitely show traits of favouring certain tutors. Can be condescending and rude in how they speak to tutors, remember we are human too Like to sit in the office and have a gossip, same with some other tutors Purposely make some tutors tutor 6 children back to back, whilst other tutors hardly have another in their zone Pay is HORRIBLE, for the amount of work you’d do. You do more than the managers... yet get bad pay. Expect you to deliver excellent workshops whilst giving you the information an hour before and have no training on it Literally cannot talk to other tutors without being rudely told to stop talking or looked at

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat tutors with some respect, they’re not your children they don’t work for you. They work for Explore Learning just like you guys do. Consider getting out the office and actually helping out more. Communication is key in the accurate and professional way!!

    Explore Learning2019-09-02

    Explore Learning Response

    September 3, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Tutor in Nine Elms. I am sorry to read there were some issues within your team. I will ensure I pass this on, and do feel free to get in touch with our HR team if you would like to share any further feedback: hr@explorelearning.co.uk All ...

    Show More
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Staines, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and management Lovely students

    Cons

    Lack of breaks Pushy parents Lack of time to prepare workshops Little help on areas of low confidence

    Advice to Management

    Make sure staff are always given a break. Make sure tricky parents are not left for tutors to deal with Make parents understand better how the tutoring system works

    Explore Learning2019-08-15

    Explore Learning Response

    August 19, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback - it is really useful and will help us make improvements. All the best for the future!

  9. "Friendly and inviting atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a real team spirit at Explore Learning, between the tutors and parents of the kids you are tutoring. My Centre Director had my back the entire time I worked at Explore Learning (2 years). The shifts were easy to navigate and we were told that there is a minimum of 2 shifts a week (8 hours per week).

    Cons

    To some extent, it is difficult to see how you are helping the kids, it felt like an organised daycare some days, but this was not always the case.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, but maybe see which kids require more help and focus on them, so they benefit as much as the others.

    Explore Learning2019-08-14

    Explore Learning Response

    August 19, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience of tutoring at Explore. It's great to hear about the team spirit in your centre, and that you had great support from your Centre Director. I will ensure I pass on your feedback - thanks again!

  10. "Fab support and confidence building"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training Opportunities to run workshops and content evenings

    Cons

    Late finish but tbh, shifts would start at 3:30 or 4pm

    Explore Learning2019-08-11

    Explore Learning Response

    August 19, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Tutor in Wolverhampton. It is great to read that you recommend the role and that you have benefitted from training and running workshops. All the best for the future and thank you for your contribution as a tutor.

Found 393 reviews