Explore Learning Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Explore Learning Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
78%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Management is very proactive and gives good constructive feedback to tutors(in 51 reviews)

  • "Rewarding working with children and fun positive environemnt(in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "Looking at the reviews on Glassdoor, a strong theme is about working hours(in 35 reviews)

  • "I can understand how working in centres that are further out/ secluded can have a negative impact on their social life(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time

    Pros

    Fun Flexible Easy hours Learning on the job

    Cons

    Pay Nothing else really lol

    Explore Learning2020-03-02
  2. "Decent Part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Beeston, North West England, England

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    .Fun place to work .Good flexibility

    Cons

    .Not the best training .Can be pressure to cover others work

    Explore Learning2020-03-26
  3. "engaging job role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Sale, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    working with and inspiring children of all ages

    Cons

    fairly low pay for job demands

    Explore Learning2020-03-19
  4. "Great staff, positive work environment, patience is a virtue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Preston, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning full-time

    Pros

    I worked as a tutor, but was Assistant Director approved. I worked in the centre to prepare me for the AD role. The staff were super positive and friendly, and there was a real sense of team work and spirit. I love how the company promotes fearlessness over outcome and focusses on where the child is at not where they should be.

    Cons

    While the centre itself was great, I found the company's way of doing things to be problematic. I waited nearly a year before one of my chosen centres to become available, for the AD role, at this point I had decided to move on. Although, I was made aware there would not be a centre available right away, the waiting lists don't necessitate it will be anytime soon either, as I was fourth or fifth for some of the centres. Furthermore, I find rewarding children for respect each session to be a hindrance to their development in later life; it should be an expectation not an opportunity for rewards.

    Explore Learning2020-03-04
  5. "I tutor maths and english"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Camberley, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with children

    Cons

    Pay is quite low for the job

    Explore Learning2020-03-02
  6. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tutor 

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time

    Pros

    good working with kids and maths

    Cons

    alot to do all at once

    Explore Learning2020-02-21

    Explore Learning Response

    March 2, 2020Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working as a tutor at Explore Learning. I am pleased to read you enjoy working with the children. Do speak to your line manager about managing the workload, as they will be able to support you further with this. All the best for your continued career at Explore!

    Continue reading
  7. "Did not enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Centre Director 

    I worked at Explore Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I genuinely can’t think of any

    Cons

    Treatment from management was awful, fake positive culture, not transparent about company performance, pressure on sales targets prioritised over education of the kids, pay is poor for the number of hours you put in

    Explore Learning2020-02-20

    Explore Learning Response

    March 2, 2020Graduate Recruitment Manager

    I am sorry to read about your experience as a Centre Director. We would recommend you get in touch with our HR team so we can look into this further: hr@explorelearning.co.uk

    Continue reading
  8. "A rewarding, varied and fulfilling role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I am recognised and rewarded for the hard work I put in to my job. This role is all about people and I manage a commited and dedicated team. I am given autonomy and flexibility every day and feel trusted to carry out my responsibilities. The company hires passionate people who have drive so I am surrounded by others who are working towards the same goal.

    Cons

    It requires a lot of resilience and tough conversations. I go above and beyond the job spec/hours and supporting people with mental health or underperformance can be emotionally draining at times. Whilst it is improving, the salary still falls short of the average for similar roles.

    Explore Learning2020-02-21

    Explore Learning Response

    March 2, 2020Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Explore! I am pleased to read you would recommend the role and you are recognised and rewarded for the hard work you put in. I'll ensure all your feedback is passed on. Thank you for all you contribute to Explore, all the best for your continued career with us!

    Continue reading
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Tutor 

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly managers and peers

    Cons

    Lots of training, difficult children sometimes

    Explore Learning2020-02-19

    Explore Learning Response

    February 25, 2020Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience - I am pleased you found the hours flexible and had friendly work colleagues. I am sorry you found there was too much training. Training is an integral part of our staff development and ensuring we provide the best service to our members - I will ensure your feedback is passed on to the training team! Thanks again and all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  10. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kids are great, teaching is made fun, friendly people

    Cons

    Poor pay, tutors get very 'clicky', management are rude and entitled

    Continue reading
    Explore Learning2020-03-05
Found 460 reviews