FirstPort Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FirstPort Reviews

Updated 5 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
FirstPort Chief Executive Nigel Howell
Nigel Howell
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "FirstPort have been very supportive to me with work through the difficult time I am currently facing(in 23 reviews)

  • "It's a positive place to work with great people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are lots of challenges and the business is very complex but as long as you are up for the challenge then there really are no Cons(in 5 reviews)

  • "Development managers of retirement blocks can feel overwhelmed with the ever increasing list of things to they have to do and take responsibility for(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s a great agency with hundreds of sites across London, and has a great response team always ready to help and provide with the most suitable shifts for each employee.

    Cons

    Sometimes you might be asked to do more than your role is required, depending on the situation and site’s needs, in order to maintain the high expectations and reputation of the company in face of the Client.

    FirstPort2019-12-13
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, accommodation, residents, freedom, flexible

    Cons

    Lack of support from management

    Advice to Management

    Treat field staff like office staff, seem to be forgotten

    FirstPort2020-01-02
  3. "Too many skills jobs to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development Manager in Thirsk, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FirstPort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Firstport very H&S conscious Feeling that company has my back & supportive

    Cons

    Not enough recognition by HO for difficulty of job Restrictions on use of contractors Residents speaking to you disresectfully Wages not reflective of job Progression highly improbable

    Advice to Management

    Plough more effort into DMs, they are the star of your show and need to be recognised for this.

    FirstPort2020-01-05
  4. "Nothing hot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time

    Pros

    Company for generic concierge staff. If you want easy life. This is your company.

    Cons

    Good salary but only the building that I worked. They bought my company and stopped paying extra for overtime hours.

    FirstPort2019-11-20
  5. "Firstport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager 

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with people. Office hours

    Cons

    Poor management communication. Low salary

    FirstPort2019-10-22
  6. "Professional Company with loyal Staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lone working with support from Colleagues when required.

    Cons

    Forever changing environment which is fine as long as you can keep up with constant challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Empathy is the key with regards to Customers and Staff.

    FirstPort2019-10-11
  7. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Purley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support from managers and colleagues Forward thinking Employees are just as important as the customer

    Cons

    Pay could be more better

    FirstPort2019-10-07
  8. "Enjoy working at Firstport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Heathfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Meeting people working with many.

    Cons

    Paperwork for buyers takes to long.

    Advice to Management

    None

    FirstPort2019-10-07
  9. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great management and support from all internal departments. A range of career opportunities with career progression prospects

    Cons

    Some roles are head office only opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Consider making more career opportunities to staff not located near to head offices

    FirstPort2019-10-07
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support from team. Work life balance.

    Cons

    Size of the living accommodation for development manager

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Keep supporting us.

    FirstPort2019-10-07
Found 123 reviews