FirstPort Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FirstPort Reviews

Updated 21 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
FirstPort CEO Nigel Howell
Nigel Howell
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "FirstPort have been very supportive to me with work through the difficult time I am currently facing(in 22 reviews)

  • "It's a positive place to work with great people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are lots of challenges and the business is very complex but as long as you are up for the challenge then there really are no Cons(in 5 reviews)

  • "Development managers of retirement blocks can feel overwhelmed with the ever increasing list of things to they have to do and take responsibility for(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Professional Company with loyal Staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lone working with support from Colleagues when required.

    Cons

    Forever changing environment which is fine as long as you can keep up with constant challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Empathy is the key with regards to Customers and Staff.

    FirstPort2019-10-11
  2. "Firstport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager 

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with people. Office hours

    Cons

    Poor management communication. Low salary

    FirstPort2019-10-22
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Purley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support from managers and colleagues Forward thinking Employees are just as important as the customer

    Cons

    Pay could be more better

    FirstPort2019-10-07
  4. "Enjoy working at Firstport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Heathfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Meeting people working with many.

    Cons

    Paperwork for buyers takes to long.

    Advice to Management

    None

    FirstPort2019-10-07
  5. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great management and support from all internal departments. A range of career opportunities with career progression prospects

    Cons

    Some roles are head office only opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Consider making more career opportunities to staff not located near to head offices

    FirstPort2019-10-07
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support from team. Work life balance.

    Cons

    Size of the living accommodation for development manager

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Keep supporting us.

    FirstPort2019-10-07
  7. "Team works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It has been a pleasure working with first port for about ten years now, currently working with a team that share the same ideas and ways to improve and promote customer relationships.

    Cons

    Think our account department need additional assistance dealing with work loads , train new staff to help getting the right result to help with healthy accounts

    Advice to Management

    To understand that the residents depends on us to go extra miles to get things right.

    FirstPort2019-10-01
  8. "Honest and brutal review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wouldn't say there are many pros

    Cons

    Loads to mention -loads of favouritism within the business through the various roles -no real progression as figures mean more than service -stressful -management who always seem to pick on people -high staff turnover due to the stresses of keeping the figures up -any courses to progress yourself can be refused at any point -pay is ok but could be increased a bit more. I suffer terribly as over half of my salary... goes to my mortgage.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay Listen to your employees, they are people, not numbers Stop making them feel guilty Employ better managers Allow progression. Suggest courses and don't withhold courses

    FirstPort2019-10-15
  9. "A company where you can challenge yourself to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Management system improved over last 10 years. More support available. Working with people from many different backgrounds.

    Cons

    Need to be able to self manage work. Wages low considering responsibility.

    FirstPort2019-09-24
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great customer focused culture and training to individuals who had no previous experience in property management

    Cons

    Can be disjointed at times depending on the line managers input and focus

    Advice to Management

    None. Keep driving to be the best

    FirstPort2019-09-24
Found 119 reviews