FreeAgent Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FreeAgent Reviews

Updated 6 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FreeAgent CEO Ed Molyneux (no image)
Ed Molyneux
10 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "A truly great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Communications Executive in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreeAgent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with FreeAgent for a bit over 6 months now. A lot of people have joined with me and after me, as the company has ambitious growth plans. FreeAgent has a very good onboarding for new joiners, which makes you feel "at home" quickly. The work is interesting, the people are great and supporting. Managers really care about their team and helping them progress in their careers. Great culture. As someone... else mentioned, it almost seems too good to be true!

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your employees

    FreeAgent2019-06-27

    FreeAgent Response

    July 7, 2019People Consultant - Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your review! It's great to hear you've had a really positive experience.

  2. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FreeAgent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office culture is great - there’s a real emphasis on collaboration. The planning cycles work really well, meaning everyone is working towards the same goal.

    Cons

    There is rapid growth, which is exciting but we have probably passed the point where you know who everyone is and what they do.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the culture is protected at all costs.

    FreeAgent2019-10-06
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Accountant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FreeAgent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative company with well structured new staff training process, career development, amazing benefits including private health care, generous holiday allowance, work from home and many more; great team, supportive management

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    FreeAgent2019-08-31

    FreeAgent Response

    September 10, 2019People Consultant - Talent Acquisition

    Great to hear your experience. Really pleased you're enjoying it so far! Thanks for your review.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "A place you don't want to leave at home time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SENIOR VIDEOGRAPHER in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreeAgent full-time

    Pros

    It's my fourth month in, and I'm loving it. The culture here derives from a philosophy of wanting to be around 'good people'. Combined with only hiring the cream of the crop, you get an atmosphere where the office is constantly alive with chatter, laugher and high-quality work. To be surrounded every day by such friends, and work together to create some amazing products is what every person strives for. You'll... be spending 8 hours a day with everyone, and FreeAgent make it a mission to ensure all these people are lovely. The induction is rigorous very inclusive, really showing you the ropes and avoiding the 'deep end'. The CEO even has a sit down with every new employee and talks through his ethos for starting the company. Working with high-brow corporations like RBS, NatWest, Monzo and Yodlee means the work flow is constantly raising the bar, and the ride so far has been wonderful. Oh, and the catered lunch Fridays and free beer fridge is always a bonus ;)

    Show More

    Cons

    At 4 months in there are no cons so far.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    FreeAgent2019-07-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cannot overstate how good it is to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Accountant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreeAgent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture and atmosphere of inclusion and co-operation. You really feel like part of the team and that you are all working together. If you need anything, there is always someone there to offer help. Everyone who starts, thinks "This is too good to be true"....but it really is that good!

    Cons

    Can't think of anything at all.

    FreeAgent2019-05-17

    FreeAgent Response

    May 22, 2019People Consultant - Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your great experience, so glad you're enjoying being here.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Just a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Swansea, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreeAgent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Here's the thing and let's get down to brass tacks, it's a great place to work. It's challenging, open, driven but with healthy limits, a team-focused place to get things done. There are meetings but they are short, agenda-driven, and punchy. There's a breadth of technologies to get stuck into. But more than that, I want to give you my read on the first two months. Before FreeAgent, I was a toolchain engineer. I'd... spent eighteen years writing C, C++ and Python. I wanted a challenge. Something different. I carefully researched the opportunities. I looked at FreeAgent and saw that their executive team had taken it from a small start-up to an IPO and then back to being a subsidiary. They kept the team together, and happy, during all of those tumultuous years. Clearly, they lead from the front and lead competently. So I took the plunge and applied. I interviewed. I did a brief programming test (at home, on my own time) and then went up to interview at HQ. I was impressed by their need to get the culture right when hiring. The interview process was quite tough but always friendly and respectful. If you are on the fence about an opportunity there, roll the dice, and give it a whirl. That's my honest advice. Whether you come out of it employed or not, you'll be glad you did. My first two months have been undeniably challenging. There's a large cognitive load but I see that as a challenge. But you're never alone. You are always supported, patiently and in an open, friendly and collaborative manner. Be that on slack, or over an audio/video call, I've never once felt isolated or stymied when I needed help. But don't expect to come to FreeAgent and expect to turn in mediocre work. Excellence is required and encouraged; and you are supported in striving for better quality work. We work 35 hours a week and get things done in those 35 hours. And that's just it. After your full day you're not expected to hang around or check email. The focus on work/life balance here is impressive. In my two months, I've deployed many times with their continuous integration system. One deploy caused issues, was rolled back, fixed and redeployed. My instinct was to feel bad about it but FreeAgent did not accept that. They helped me fix it, helped me redeploy it, made sure the lessons I learned had been taken on board and did it all in a professional, friendly way. There's no blame. There's no exasperated sighs. We're all learning. And that professional but friendly attitude permeates through the organisation. I'll update my review as the months roll by.

    Show More

    Cons

    None at the present time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    FreeAgent2019-04-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fun and modern environment to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FreeAgent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, Free drinks and snacks, free lunch (Fridays), pool table, table tennis. Friendly culture, Opportunities for development.

    Cons

    Flexi - time not available and working hours might potentially change in the future You might need to work on Christmas and New Year as those dates are not included on your holidays (you must request them if you want the time off)

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully as we are getting bigger things won't change :-)

    FreeAgent2019-04-08

    FreeAgent Response

    April 24, 2019People Consultant - Talent Acquisition

    Hello Thanks for posting your review. It’s great to hear you’ve had a positive experience at FreeAgent!I thought it’d be useful to address a couple of points that you mentioned to provide a bit more clarity. Our core working hours have always been Monday to Friday, 9am-5pm and we’re not planning to change that in the future. Although we don’t offer flexi-time, we try to take a flexible approach when it’s needed and help support a good work life balance for our employees. We’re also open to discussing flexible working options on a long term basis if that’s something that is needed. Our approach to bank holidays is that we are open for business as usual, and we give the days back to our employees so that they can book them off at other times (or book the bank holidays off if they choose to). The same applies at Christmas and New Year, and though there are a few (very!) rare cases where cover might be needed on these days, we’re more than happy for people to book the days off and enjoy the holidays with their friends and family, as most of us do every year. What we are changing as of 2019 is that we are now automatically booking Christmas Day and New Year’s Day as a holiday for all our employees, rather than asking them to do this themselves. Employees still have the option to unbook this if they would prefer to work, for example if they don’t celebrate Christmas. We hope that’s helped to clarify how we use holidays. Thanks again for taking the time to review, and best wishes in your next adventure! Katie

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Incredibly organised for newcomers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreeAgent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Team incredibly communicative and helpful - On-boarding very organised - very little is left up to the newcomer to have to ask about. - There seems to be a lot of focus on employee satisfaction. - Bi-annual hack days, as well as 6 weekly "Wiggle" weeks where you can work on something you want, provided it's relevant to the company.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    FreeAgent2019-03-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great learning and challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreeAgent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at FreeAgent for 2 years and have to say it's the most challenging but at the same time most enjoyable place I have worked. I feel motivated to do my best and my work requires me to create new things and solve problems, but it's an enjoyable process with lovely colleagues and a healthy work environment. Always looking to introduce great perks and fun into the office

    Cons

    Typical days involve a few more meetings than I was used to before but the up shot of this is joined up thinking through collaborative working and no good ideas get missed! So not really a con I guess

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    FreeAgent2018-11-01

    FreeAgent Response

    January 9, 2019

    Hi, Thanks for such a great review! Mhari, People Operations

  10. "You should work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FreeAgent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career opportunities We are well looked after Good work life balance Good benefits Friendly culture Friday lunch, pool table, table tennis, drinks and snacks

    Cons

    I can't think of any!

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for taking care of us

    FreeAgent2018-10-18

    FreeAgent Response

    January 9, 2019

    Hi, Thanks for your review, great to see your list of pros! Mhari, People Operations

Found 16 reviews