GDS Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GDS Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 212 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Spencer Green
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and great commission scheme(in 18 reviews)

  • "Ping pong tables, 2 weeks paid off for Christmas(in 13 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great Opportunity & Extremely Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Executive in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Absolutely fantastic people to work with across the business who all genuine care about the company and love what they do. - Amazing opportunities to work and partner with the biggest and most exciting companies in the world. - Everyday is exciting and is never the same as you are constantly learning new skills and upskilling yourself. - The commercial benefits are in the top tier for a salesperson where there are...

    Show More

    Cons

    - The work is hard but extremely rewarding, it is a business like no other so it does take time to find your feet but once you do the rewards are two-fold. - Long hours are required if you want to be successful as you are calling multiple time zones from Central Europe to New York and San Francisco etc. - There is naturally an expectation to perform and deliver results once you have completed your training so KPI's...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Pledges and promises should be upheld e.g. future products being ready by the time we have to sell them, quarterly incentives done on time etc. - Training needs to be improved and needs to involve more senior members of the sales floor delivering multiple topics to help current staff but also onboard new starters. - Further training needs to be provided to persons who have brought in deals for the first time - goal...

    Show More
    GDS Group2019-03-18
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Exciting Environment and Supportive Senior Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I've read a lot of reviews on GDS and I feel compelled to write my own… As a relatively new employee at GDS, I've got to say that it's one of the most welcoming working environments I've entered; there are no cliques, and LOTS of smiling faces throughout the office. People at every point in the company hierarchy (including the Chairman, CEO, and all VPs) have checked in with me to ask about how I’m finding my new...

    Show More

    Cons

    As I touched upon in the 'Pros' section, it's a tough job and you've got to be up for the challenge!

    GDS Group2019-02-28
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Self-belief and hard work will always earn you success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong sales training and development Competitive salary and commission structure Fast progression Opportunity to build lasting relationships with senior executives across multiple industries and geographies

    Cons

    The business would benefit from a consistent management team providing stability and less impact from organisational changes

    GDS Group2019-03-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging But Great !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have been working at GDS for just under a year now as a Delegate Sales Exec and although the Work is challenging and you have to give it your all everyday I am really enjoying it. The new VP on my floor (3rd Floor) is fantastic and supportive and is also a woman so it feals good we women are so well represented in management roles across the company.

    Cons

    Some of the equipment is a bit dated and could really use a upgrade also a leisure area where staff could network at lunchtimes i understand space is tight but would like to get to know alot more people a bit more.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe some new computers and a leisure space needed for lunchtimes.

    GDS Group2019-04-08
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Leadership team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time

    Pros

    GDS culture is dynamic and exciting. The rewards for high performers are clear and uncapped. The business is focussed on delivering maximum value for delegates and sponsors whilst providing the best working environment & opportunities for our people.

    Cons

    Sometimes the fast paced environment is tricky for under performers and we are working to improve training & development processes.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more. Tailor approach to running your teams to encourage everyone towards peak performance. Keep being brave and stand firm for the delegate experience and quality of our product. Product Drives Sales. Product Leads.

    GDS Group2019-02-13
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Great Company & Fantastic Rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delegate Acquisition Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great commission structure and absolutely great incentives involving Ski Trips to Val d'Isere , Driving Lamborghini's & Ferrari's and Beach Holidays in St Lucia

    Cons

    I wouldn't call it cons' but it is a performance driven job and it involves high stress situations sometimes so you have to be prepared for it

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good job

    GDS Group2019-02-13
  7. Helpful (17)

    "The best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time

    Pros

    I get to work with some really lovely talented people The environment is really fun and sociable There is a real focus on growth and everyone is putting 100% in which creates a really lively high energy atmosphere

    Cons

    Invest in new chairs

    Advice to Management

    Management is very good, approachable and has a strong vision for the future of the business

    GDS Group2019-02-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sponsor Sales - new recruit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sponsor Sales in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Women well-represented in senior leadership - Growing company - Big clients - Good product

    Cons

    - Restructuring - Feeling of needing to get organized / align between departments - Strict time schedules - Micromanagement - Overbearing middle managers

    Advice to Management

    Women are doing well in senior leadership...make sure to empower women in the entry level positions. Men in the middle-management positions are overbearing, authoritarian.

    GDS Group2019-03-28
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good place just not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GDS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the staff are all around the same age and share a lot of common interests. If you get on the right team for your personality, this can be an awesome place to work. After I left, I interviewed a lot of companies, and they loved the fact I had experience talking with senior level executives at Fortune 1000 companies... This has been a huge asset in my career. It's not for everyone, there can be a lot of dry...

    Show More

    Cons

    There is no room to improvise when you first start - it's militant. You have to learn to avoid people who complain about the company because they will likely not be around long.

    Advice to Management

    The strength of the business remains on the events that are put together... A solid program means a better sell, and ultimately happier staff.

    GDS Group2019-03-13
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Great place to start and develop a career in business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GDS Digital - Chief Executive Officer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I joined GDS in October 2018 and have been really impressed with the energy, commitment and professionalism in the company. This is a can-do place where hard-work and achievement is both respected and rewarded. I would recommend GDS as a great place to start and develop a career in business.

    Cons

    None of any significance .

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing the business in Bristol.

    GDS Group2019-01-17
Found 212 reviews