GEICO Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GEICO Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3738 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
GEICO CEO Bill Roberts
Bill Roberts
227 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (72)

    "Customer Service Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Customer Service Agent in Poway, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GEICO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO sick pay and vacation. Easy growth within company. Extremely supportive mentors, supervisors, and management. Overall great company!

    Cons

    If you aren’t able to learn and retain information QUICKLY, this may be difficult for you to maintain employment. The support is always there but it’s not an easy job. Customers sometimes are angry as with any position or company, if you can’t handle someone yelling, cursing, or calling you names, this could be a stressful environment. You have to remember in one ear out the other and not let it affect your work results.

    Advice to Management

    Great job! The support was always there, the promotions and pay raises were consistent with employees work. I’d love to come back to the company in the future! If I didn’t have to move, I’d still be there :)!

    GEICO2018-10-25
  2. "Great company. salaries need improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Analyst 

    I have been working at GEICO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Profit-sharing, flexible work schedule, and great management

    Cons

    Salary not competitive, not enough opportunities for growth.

    GEICO2019-06-14
  3. "Not Bad - Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GEICO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers and Managers are great and helpful, excellent team environment, corny celebrations but they try and I liked the effort, can move up regardless of the amount of time in your position - your numbers talk, profit sharing is nice

    Cons

    Tough customers and conversations, claims load is high, changing processes constantly, but these things are a given for most of the adjuster jobs . My biggest problem was profit sharing not being granted until after working for exactly 1 year. So, if you start working 11months before the profit sharing date, you will not get it until the very next year. So in my case, I didn't get the profit sharing check for 1 year...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees

    GEICO2019-06-15
  4. "It’s a career not just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GEICO full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice conditions, great pay, great benefits, 401k, profit share, raises, training, PTO, Sick time, vacation time, longevity.

    Cons

    Micromanaged, Phones all day, split shifts, need degree to promote.

    Advice to Management

    Work experience should count as much as having a degree. I’ve seen people work there for decades and not promote due to no degree while new people off the street with no on the job experience promote. The seasoned employees often have to teach their supervisors. The other cons are pretty par for the course in a call center environment & not much can be done about it.

    GEICO2019-06-15
  5. "Geico Insurance Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GEICO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment , very encouraging

    Cons

    Hard to earn any commission

    GEICO2019-06-14
  6. "I would go back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GEICO Sales Representative in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GEICO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was a cool office with a new management team that seemed like they would be better than the last. Previously it was having issues with consistency in terms of quality and performance. For instance everything you do is subject to monitoring and scoring but some people would get marked down where others wouldn't depending on who was scoring.

    Cons

    Work life balance - It was a terrible policy until about a year ago but they have switched to something a bit more standard in terms of requesting time off but good luck getting the days. You have to do it through a scheduler and if someone put it in 3 months ago but forgets that they aren't going out of town anymore so don't actually need the day it doesn't matter. Its a capacity. Inconsistency. To be a top performer...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I was never a poor performer but I will say that of course you do have people that aren't doing their best job but in an environment where there is a ranking of people who can't all be on one level (because its 1-76 or 1-100 ) don't make people who are middle of the pack feel terrible.

    GEICO2019-06-12
  7. "sell auto policies to clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dallas, TX

      I worked at GEICO full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      can make decent commission

      Cons

      long hours and impersonal to clients

      GEICO2019-06-12
    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Geico Customer Service Representative 

      I have been working at GEICO full-time

      Pros

      Pay Environment Trustworthy Fun Schedule

      Cons

      Talking for long periods of time

      GEICO2019-06-09
    • "Amazing company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Licensed Agent 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at GEICO full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      This company really cares about its employees. I felt like I was valued and treated with respect.

      Cons

      Sort of micromanaged. Not all departments have the best communication.

      GEICO2019-06-07
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Telephone Claims Representative 

        I have been working at GEICO full-time

        Pros

        Promotions and growth and potential

        Cons

        No cons I can think of

        Advice to Management

        Na

        GEICO2019-06-08
      Found 3738 reviews