Gallagher Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Gallagher Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1146 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Gallagher CEO J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
498 Ratings
Pros
  • "With certain positions the ability to work from home when needed(in 47 reviews)

  • "Great people, great depth in bench strength(in 38 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Broker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    Good network and a great company

    Cons

    Nothing that come to mind

    Gallagher2018-12-23
  2. "Great company to work for if you're not in HR!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - H R Administrator in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team ethos Great company values Support employee well-being Fantastic colleagues

    Cons

    HR has no respect HR Administrators are undervalued by the HR management team No career path Lack of training

    Advice to Management

    Remember that you were one of the 'little guys' too once

    Gallagher2019-05-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims in Basingstoke, England
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gallagher part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Immediate team are great Benefits such as healthcare plan and discount portal Pays for training and membership fees to relevant institutions Can be very flexible if you need to leave the office urgently (especially if you have children) Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Some management can difficult to work with and attempt to micromanage. Pay is very poor compared to competitors and no effective pay rises. Poor culture in the bigger offices

    Gallagher2019-05-19
  4. "Turning the corner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Manager in Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My experience is recognised and I'm left to my own devices

    Cons

    Inexperienced staff at the moment

    Advice to Management

    I am management

    Gallagher2019-05-19
  5. "Gallagher Summary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good company culture Sensible work/life balance setup Good benefit packages Good offices and location Strong global presence

    Cons

    Lacks inter-team collaboration Slow to innovate Not flexible on hours usage Office facilities No food perks

    Gallagher2019-05-12
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Handler in Ipswich, England

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Insurance and claims experience and knowledge. This can be valuable and useful in future endeavors. -Relaxed environment -Employers can move from one team to another and are protected -No background in insurance needed -Parking space

    Cons

    -Relatively low pay, at least to start with (since employers get higher salaries with time)

    Advice to Management

    -Make employees feel more valuable, that way less will leave.

    Gallagher2019-05-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "AJG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Gallagher full-time

      Pros

      Well Structured, Adhere to shared values

      Cons

      poor staff management, lack of benefits avaliable

      Gallagher2019-04-24
    • "Overview"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Gallagher full-time

        Pros

        Good communication, global, great chance to progress

        Cons

        Can feel lost, need to invest in youth

        Gallagher2019-04-10
      • Helpful (1)

        "Average in most areas."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - IT Specialist in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        General working life is good. The new CIO is having a positive impact.

        Cons

        VERY poor career progression opportunities; numerous roles have been filled without any internal advertisement.

        Advice to Management

        The performance review 'PDC' is meaningless as it goes towards nothing. I was set the same goals as senior management.

        Gallagher2019-04-06
      • Helpful (1)

        "Frustrated"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Gallagher full-time

          Pros

          Large company with backing

          Cons

          Not listening to employees

          Gallagher2019-03-23
        Found 1146 reviews