Gallagher Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Gallagher Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Gallagher Chairman, President, and CEO J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
589 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly Work Environment, Good management(in 59 reviews)

  • "Most people have the opportunity to work from home, which I have been doing for over three years(in 55 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Risk in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    Strong culture and clear growth strategy

    Cons

    None really spring to mind

    Gallagher2020-02-28
  2. "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Broker in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow beleaguered colleagues putting on a brave face.

    Cons

    Management who all brown tongue the american owners.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2020-03-20
  3. "Brilliant company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    Look after staff. Great CSR. Ethical. Hard work is noticed and rewarded.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Gallagher2020-02-05
  4. "nice place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broker in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    team envirnment, support, pay and benefits

    Cons

    sometimes difficult paced environment to work in

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2020-02-02
  5. "Compliance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues and volunteering opportunities offered.

    Cons

    Company is not as global as it aims to be. Especially the UK entities are quite independent to the headquarters and there are very little opportunities for interactions with global colleagues or to have a global secondment experience. No opportunities for career progression offered internally.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2020-01-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "the Glasgow branch is Toxic. Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Finance in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    absolutely nothing, unless you enjoy free coffee and gossiping

    Cons

    to start of, at the interview i was offered 18K then once i accepted the offer and handed in my notice at my previous work i was contacted and told that there are budgeting issues and i was given 16K instead, great start basically, all of your managers at the 7th floor have no degrees, highers or what so ever so use your imagination now what makes it worse is that "managers" are hand picking people (friends) from within other teams and outside so it's very politically dominated progression, forget about it unless you are connected to certain people if English your second language then you'll get paid less than the cleaners never ever take anyone's word unless it's a written statement. false promises is every manager's hobby

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2020-02-14
  7. "Good career prospects if you work hard enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Modern, if unspectacular, office - Hard work is rewarded with pay rises

    Cons

    - Location not ideal for public transport - Management are rarely in office - Benefits package is adequate at best

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2020-01-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "You're better off elsewhere - don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Account Handler in Ipswich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your coworkers are in the same boat and you can leave at 5pm

    Cons

    Poor pay for workload. Audit system is designed so you fail. No career progression. No bonus scheme. Job title doesn't match what you'll actually be doing, and you'll be working beyond your pay-grade often.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2020-01-13
  9. "Big company with small company family feel."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Director in London, England

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people, good culture and puts client first

    Cons

    Can be quite bureaucratic at times

    Gallagher2019-12-13
  10. "Too many mergers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Finance Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting industry, good location, variety of work

    Cons

    No work life balance promoted

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2019-11-29
Found 1337 reviews