Genesis HealthCare Reviews

Updated 29 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Genesis HealthCare CEO George V. Hager Jr.
George V. Hager Jr.
631 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Wages aren't great, upper management can be a pain(in 89 reviews)

  • "I feel the company should be more directed towards patient care(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Vice President (RVP) 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good CEO and Divisional support

    Cons

    Losing money in a business model that is changing so rapidly.

  2. "Physical therapist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist in Owensboro, KY

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare part-time

    Pros

    Great PRN rate, awesome staff, manageable caseload

    Cons

    Limited PRN hours available, no benefits with PRN

    Genesis HealthCare Response

    July 16, 2020Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear that you are enjoying your experience at Genesis.


  3. "Speech Therapist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Speech Therapist in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall, a really good company to work for with decent benefits.

    Cons

    Genesis places SLPs to various healthcare settings but doesn't have much control as to what happens at that facility... the SNF I worked at wasn't very clean and didn't have appropriate hygiene.

    Genesis HealthCare Response

    July 16, 2020Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Genesis employees are the vital link between our patients and residents. We appreciate your kind review.

  4. "Genesis Healthcare"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and coworkers are very helpful

    Cons

    Pay for amount of work

    Genesis HealthCare Response

    July 22, 2020Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear that you are enjoying your experience at Genesis.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "N/a"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, career path, corporate support

    Cons

    Work life balance, work load

    Genesis HealthCare Response

    July 22, 2020Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our employees are the vital link between our patients and residents. We value your review.

  6. COVID-19

    "Not great"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Speech-Language Pathologist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are available, 2 paid holidays, and we were given $100 per pay period as hazard pay for 1-1.5 months during COVID-19

    Cons

    Pay is mediocre with no raises or bonuses unless you threaten to quit, the productivity requirements were very unrealistic verging on unethical, external staff like IT and HR were generally not helpful

    Genesis HealthCare Response

    July 22, 2020Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your input is critical for Genesis to improve our operations. To report a concern, please contact our Compliance Department at Reachout@genesishcc.com so we can further investigate.

  7. "Hard"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator 

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Large, people, work, on boarding, location

    Cons

    Large, no 401k match, no bonus, no funding

  8. "Run"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant in Fairmont, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You know you’ll get hours

    Cons

    Upper management play favorites, they don’t fire the people that don’t do their job and work you twice as hard if you do your job well. Pay isn’t great.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I love my JOB!!!!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Records Director in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome People!They hire new grads! helps build your experiences:)

    Cons

    salary is below average for the area.

    Genesis HealthCare Response

    June 24, 2020Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear that you are enjoying your experience at Genesis.

  10. "Avoid at all costs"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administration in Burlington, VT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You and your coworkers struggle together

    Cons

    High stress, manipulation by those in charge, favoritism. gossip. lazy. unethical

    Genesis HealthCare Response

    July 28, 2020Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your input is critical for Genesis to improve our operations. To report a concern, please contact our Compliance Department at Reachout@genesishcc.com so we can further investigate.

Found 1745 reviews