Genesis HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Genesis HealthCare Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1578 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Genesis HealthCare CEO George V. Hager Jr.
George V. Hager Jr.
554 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Benefits, Time Off(in 40 reviews)

  • "Good pay, good work-life balance, good benefits(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "The upper management needs to be more flexible(in 87 reviews)

  • "Large corporations can some times be impersonal for patient care(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant in Moses, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers and residents were amazing. I like working night shift allowed me to go to school.

    Cons

    MANAGMENT--had favorites, no days off at times, and sometimes put you on for other shifts due to lack of employees sometimes without telling you.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees- may be turnover would not be so high.

    Genesis HealthCare2019-10-13
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Maintenance Supervisor in Palm Harbor, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good work-life balance, good benefits

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say

    Advice to Management

    Executive directors shouldn't be as heavily involved in maintenance as they are.

    Genesis HealthCare2019-10-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Pushing numbers for profitability. Above 90% productivity to stay in good graces."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PT, OT, ST often worked together good group of peers. We were always making therapy with what we had available or what we brought in to keep it therapeutically engaging.

    Cons

    The poor facility, not a hard knock just the status of SNF'S, financially downturns.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate, put your phone down and follow you're talented therapist.

    Genesis HealthCare2019-10-01
  4. "I believe Genesis Healthcare has the most talented leadership team in the healthcare industry!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare

    Pros

    Genesis has the most compassionate senior leadership!!!!

    Cons

    State and federal reimbursement pose difficult challenges along with an ever increasingly punitive regulatory environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great and transparent communication!

    Genesis HealthCare2019-10-03
  5. "Social services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Social Services 

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with, large nationwide company

    Cons

    Health insurance, quality of care

    Genesis HealthCare2019-10-02
  6. "Seasoned Employee Viewpoint"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Kennett Square, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Longevity/Stability in industry when many other similar size companies in this industry have folded. Genesis is committed to operating with integrity, is patient focused, and offers a family-like atmosphere even for a company this size (about 70K employees). The work is rewarding even if you are not a direct patient care giver. Career advancement and opportunities abound. Employee recognition picnics held... throughout the company. I've been with the company for 18 years!

    Show More

    Cons

    Unlike other businesses that can charge market prices for goods and services, the long-term care industry is highly regulated and cannot. Therefore if government reimbursements (revenue) are cut, expenses must be curtailed. This scenario has led to static wages and removal of the 401K match for employees. The industry is cyclical with a trend to a more positive state which will improve employee wage and benefit... plans.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to treat employees as the valued assets they are

    Genesis HealthCare2019-10-01
  7. "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookkeeper 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefit package for some

    Cons

    Pay, advancement, too much politics

    Advice to Management

    Take care of employees. They are not robots and deserve pay raises and ability to grow within your organization.

    Genesis HealthCare2019-10-14
  8. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Executive Director 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career growth opportunities, leadership training, compassionate care givers

    Cons

    I cannot think of any!

    Genesis HealthCare2019-09-26
  9. "Occupational Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist in Milford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My experience at Genesis was fabulous . I was with another rehab company for quite a while and wow what a good change it was to switch to Genesis. I was working in ALF for them .They are very respectful of your title . If you select mod- comp you get more pay, as well as days off that you’d like . Once again, they respect you. Everyone I worked with was so nice , including the patients . Professional working... environment.

    Show More

    Cons

    I truly can’t think of any. The only thing would probably be to just provide raises .

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing . Great communication and respectful communication was wonderful coming from the DOR as well as the regional managers .

    Genesis HealthCare2019-09-25
  10. "Stayed way too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Clinton, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Multiple cultures represented at work. You can get to know everyone regardless of race, color, creed, etc. Everyone is represented. That's a good thing.

    Cons

    Lots of gossip and personal issues that should never be at work, physical abuse

    Advice to Management

    Do not give staff assignments that they are untrained for

    Genesis HealthCare2019-10-10
Found 1578 reviews