GoCardless Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GoCardless Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
GoCardless CEO Hiroki Takeuchi (no image)
Hiroki Takeuchi
32 Ratings
  1. "Great culture, huge ambitions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Real emphasise on work/life balance Great team Challenging and rewarding

    Cons

    Some scaling issues has meant people can be hired without a clear roadmap of objectives and day-to-day responsibilities The ability to progress is unclear in many roles

    GoCardless2019-09-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Bringing the change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partnership Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GoCardless is a company which is considered by many to have long been a leading player in the London fintech scene. You might then expect the working environment to be one of steady development and well-practiced routine. From the inside however, there's a semi-mad scramble to outperform even the largest and best competitors and pioneer a new global payments platform. There are high expectations but teams have... responsibility for devising strategy. The autonomy and collaboration this brings keeps the business feeling nimble even as it scales into the hundreds of employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    Internationalisation and scaling teams naturally brings growing pains. It's not the sort of place to find rigid guidelines and you need to be able to adapt to changing organisational aims. To do well you need to be able to thrive in uncertainty and creatively marshal resources.

    Advice to Management

    Disseminating information quickly, maintaining the accessibility of management and engagement with employees. Anticipating and eliminating organisational roadblocks so teams can get on with executing strategies.

    GoCardless2019-07-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Friendly and smart people to work with. Nice tech stack and some cool challenges to solve.

    Cons

    Office could look a bit more friendly... its too industrial. It wouldn't hurt to put some colours. Also, snacks are great, but we could use some healthier options. On the business side, the development process has an old school feeling. We could definitely improve on the agile side of things.

    Advice to Management

    Try to modernise the development process. Also improve the company diversity.

    GoCardless2019-08-04
  4. "Excellent company - dynamic and challenging environment, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent collaborative culture - values are highly embedded in the day to day (especially being humble and acting with integrity) - Flexi working hours and WFH days - Family friendly, deliberate effort to be inclusive when it comes to differences - Inspiring CEO and non-heirarchecal leadership - People are collaborative and friendly - Informative and open business updates and offsites - Growing company... that's succeeding and going places!

    Show More

    Cons

    - Office space is nice but could be better equipped and tidier (replenished with food, fruit more frequently, sometimes orders aren't timed very well) - Don't really have any other cons!

    Advice to Management

    Work on transparency when it comes to leavers

    GoCardless2019-07-22
  5. "Autonomy, big challenges & fantastic support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic team - Lots of project work to get stuck into - opportunity to shape TA processes - Very smart and driven people that don't take themselves too seriously - Lovely office - Benefits that really suit me (discounted Virgin gym that's 5 minutes away) - Many communities within the company - A mature and inclusive approach is taken to everything - So much flexibility to work from home, pick the hours I... want and great equipment

    Show More

    Cons

    Can be tough at times when we experience busy waves - Filling up the office very quickly which presents its own challenges

    Advice to Management

    Continue as you are. You listen and include the team as much as possible and I feel valued and confident with the work I have.

    GoCardless2019-06-20
  6. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Advocate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing offices, people and culture (this is the main pro!) - Flat hierarchy where managers always aim to do the best by their team. - People live by the company values (start with why, take pride, act with integrity, be humble) and are held accountable if they aren't following the values. - The company genuinely cares about the happiness of staff and regularly arranges fun events (pumpkin carving, quiz night,... biscuit club every week, summer bbq, christmas party, etc) - Progressive company that arranges things like mental health talks, celebrates diversity of cultures and hires people from all backgrounds. - Free breakfast foods, juice, coffee machine, healthy snacks and fruit - Free G&T, wine, beer and snacks on a Friday - Pension, health insurance, life insurance, season ticket loan, eyecare vouchers, company shares - 27 days holiday, 3 volunteer days, work from home days

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a con per say, but you will be kept very busy as there is a lot of work to do and we are expanding rapidly! You have to commit to the work 100%, which most people do as it's a really exciting place to work and people care about the work they produce. You definitely can't hide or coast.

    GoCardless2019-05-18
  7. "Amazing onboarding experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazingly approachable people Best onboarding process I have seen to date Strong company values Strong company vision Beautiful offices

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work.

    GoCardless2019-04-05
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Prod Dev Eng"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoCardless full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice Office in central London, they provide state of the art mac pro laptop and 5k screen. Team Lunch, winter/summer company party.

    Cons

    Highly toxic environment, some managers acting like kings, they can decide to dismiss you without any relevant justification, ** Please read the work contract carefully before joining this company** Nepotism is very common, Definitely a place where you will be labeled after 3/6months as enemy or friend. If you are a minority stay away from this place no minorities representative in the management team. But if you... are young in search of some work experience definitely try it, for senior IT professional I will not recommend this place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please start listening to all the employees, not only the "friends". Workers are wasting precious time in unnecessary meeting and stand-up, simplify the bureaucracy for the daily task, stop nepotism during the hiring process. Be honest and upfront with the new joiner about their role and realistic expectations for their future. If the company will not respect you as a worker and protect you how someone can be proud... to work there, no sense, money cannot buy trust and happiness. Good Luck

    Show More
    GoCardless2019-04-25
  9. "Amazing People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people! Throughout the interview process and since joining everyone has been very welcoming and friendly. Everyone is proud to be here which is reflective in how they interact with each other and with new joiners. There is a fantastic culture and vision and it's been one of the best on-boarding experiences I have had. Great office and working environment

    Cons

    None ! Best decision I have made to join a great company.

    GoCardless2019-02-14
  10. "Best career decision I've made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work and interesting product - GoCardless is going places Operate with integrity and live their values - from the top down both the nicest and brightest people I've worked with Fantastic environment, workspace and tech Supportive team and leadership

    Cons

    Non I'd really mention. 6 months in and this is genuinely the best role I've ever had. I would say, it's not somewhere you can hide or coast, everyone is accountable and in turn able to make a huge difference

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    GoCardless2019-01-28
Found 44 reviews