Guidewire Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Guidewire Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 709 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Guidewire CEO Marcus Ryu
Marcus Ryu
583 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance with flexibility and respect for personal needs;(in 122 reviews)

  • "smart people around you makes it interesting(in 34 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a good company to work for - they offer good benefits and generally take care of their employees, and there are many opportunities for career growth and career changes within the company. Everyone I've worked with within the company so far has been a great professional and very friendly, people I've learned a lot from.

    Cons

    Depending on the department, work can sometimes be stressful. Not really that much of a company issue as they do try to accommodate people.

    Advice to Management

    More social events wouldn't hurt

    Guidewire2019-05-17
  2. "good company but not ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great colleagues and nice atmosphere

    Cons

    organization does not scale that well

    Guidewire2019-01-04
  3. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time

    Pros

    Great company values, amazing people very knowledgeable

    Cons

    There are no cons in my opinion.

    Guidewire2018-11-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guidewire full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic company with good career opportunities. Good salary and market benefits. Great people and team environment.

    Cons

    US lead decision making may be detrimental to the rest of the global business and day to day work, however it is clear from the financials of the company that none of these decisions have been wrong for the group!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and continue to evolve. The insurance industry is all the better for Guidewire! Thank you for the career opportunities provided.

    Guidewire2017-12-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "After a year at Guidewire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very open culture and management open to ideas. Company is in growth mode and lots of room for personal growth. As market leader in what we do you earn respect from customers. CEO is a genuine inspiration and very philosophical. A company that actually tries to live by its value - and succeeds more often that not.

    Cons

    GW doesn't invest in flash offices so they can be a bit past it. If you have a services role you could spend a lot of time travelling, but are well supported by the company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! For a 1,600 people $500M company GW is remarkably relaxed and easy to understand. Don't beat yourself up if you are not perfect

    Guidewire2017-10-05
  6. "great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    excellent benefits, great team, acknowledgeable and competent colleagues, good and fair management, very generous company in terms of life/work balance, free breakfast items, snacks, drinks etc, good social committee that organises great outings, the possibility to work from home or have flexi time.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the office is spread over two floors (1st and 4th) so there is less interaction between the different teams working on different floors. However, the once-a-month team lunches that are organised by the social committee bring people together. Working for a US company that is based in California we are quite a bit detached from the main business. Moreover, an intro/presentation of Guidewire's software products...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work,

    Guidewire2017-09-21
  7. "Guidewire is one of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time

    Pros

    Couldn't ask for a smarter or more thoughtful group of people to work with. Work environment is very positive and there is never a question on what we are working toward and overall company goals.

    Cons

    Being spread across time zones can sometimes extend the workday.

    Guidewire2017-09-06
  8. "Salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice company, social place to work

    Cons

    Too much organization changes, not good for career growth.

    Advice to Management

    Less political and favoritism

    Guidewire2017-08-15
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Pound of flesh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guidewire full-time

    Pros

    Remuneration and benefits package is excellent

    Cons

    Poorly set personal objectives Unreasonable and excessive demands on staff; work/life balance poor Unfulfilled (and very necessary) training requirements Appalling man-management

    Advice to Management

    Speak to your staff and listen to their responses, don't just expect blind obedience, because you may not always be right

    Guidewire2016-12-11
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Best company I ever worked so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire

    Pros

    -Great colleagues and challenging work - Flexible hrs - Good benefits

    Cons

    There are not any worth mentioning.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Guidewire2016-09-06
Found 709 reviews