Guidewire Reviews

Updated 25 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Guidewire CEO Mike Rosenbaum
Mike Rosenbaum
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains and the transition to a full cloud company can be difficult due to the lack of transparent strategy(in 22 reviews)

  • "The amount of travel in the professional services group(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best work family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, work environment, colleagues like no others, never a dull day!

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Guidewire2020-05-18
  2. "Poor work/life balance"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Services 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Guidewire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Anything good is gone with the company growth.

    Cons

    Facade company values. Regular travel for work. As a vendor there's low influence on project decisions. You won't make a career by professional talent but rather on social networking. If that's your thing then it's a great place to be.

    Guidewire2020-05-23
  3. "Small company (EagleEye Analytics) that went on to great things"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Guidewire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Revolutionary approach to the way things were done for decades. In a Fintech world, a global pioneer of what eventually became better known as the Insurtech industry. Like-minded colleagues taking on overwhelming odds to compete and succeed, very focused on company success with everyone treated as valued and trusted members with autonomy to delight customers individually and as a team.

    Cons

    Very limited resources, always felt like we needed another 1 or 2 local reps. Can be long startup hours often ending with a proverbial kicking from prospects even though doing everything right was simply met with prospect inertia.

    Continue reading
    Guidewire2019-10-22
  4. "Great environment to work in"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a good company to work for - they offer good benefits and generally take care of their employees, and there are many opportunities for career growth and career changes within the company. Everyone I've worked with within the company so far has been a great professional and very friendly, people I've learned a lot from.

    Cons

    Depending on the department, work can sometimes be stressful. Not really that much of a company issue as they do try to accommodate people.

    Continue reading
    Guidewire2019-05-17
  5. "good company but not ideal"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great colleagues and nice atmosphere

    Cons

    organization does not scale that well

    Guidewire2019-01-04
  6. "Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time

    Pros

    Great company values, amazing people very knowledgeable

    Cons

    There are no cons in my opinion.

    Guidewire2018-11-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guidewire full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic company with good career opportunities. Good salary and market benefits. Great people and team environment.

    Cons

    US lead decision making may be detrimental to the rest of the global business and day to day work, however it is clear from the financials of the company that none of these decisions have been wrong for the group!

    Continue reading
    Guidewire2017-12-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "After a year at Guidewire"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very open culture and management open to ideas. Company is in growth mode and lots of room for personal growth. As market leader in what we do you earn respect from customers. CEO is a genuine inspiration and very philosophical. A company that actually tries to live by its value - and succeeds more often that not.

    Cons

    GW doesn't invest in flash offices so they can be a bit past it. If you have a services role you could spend a lot of time travelling, but are well supported by the company.

    Continue reading
    Guidewire2017-10-05
  9. "great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    excellent benefits, great team, acknowledgeable and competent colleagues, good and fair management, very generous company in terms of life/work balance, free breakfast items, snacks, drinks etc, good social committee that organises great outings, the possibility to work from home or have flexi time.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the office is spread over two floors (1st and 4th) so there is less interaction between the different teams working on different floors. However, the once-a-month team lunches that are organised by the social committee bring people together. Working for a US company that is based in California we are quite a bit detached from the main business. Moreover, an intro/presentation of Guidewire's software products would be helpful to understand the core business better for people who are working in a non-IT related position.

    Continue reading
    Guidewire2017-09-21
  10. "Guidewire is one of the best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidewire full-time

    Pros

    Couldn't ask for a smarter or more thoughtful group of people to work with. Work environment is very positive and there is never a question on what we are working toward and overall company goals.

    Cons

    Being spread across time zones can sometimes extend the workday.

    Guidewire2017-09-06
Found 741 reviews