Herman Miller Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Herman Miller Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 255 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Herman Miller CEO  Andi Owen
Andi Owen
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "New hires must be ambitious, and dedicated to succeed(in 5 reviews)

  • "Everything moves slowly, you have to fight for professional development, the west Michigan religious cult vibes are STRONG here(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture supporting you to grow selling amazing products and working with great people that really makes a difference to the world we live in.

    Cons

    None really. I worked for such a great manager, no doubt he possibly shielded me from the major cons I think.

    Advice to Management

    Take more risks

    Herman Miller2018-03-02
  2. "Wouldn’t go there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melksham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice new building. Some friendly teams

    Cons

    Lack of training Some teams are prone to be vindictive to others

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the teams that are not looking at the overall pictire

    Herman Miller2019-04-04
  3. "Best company I have worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, plenty of career opportunities.

    Cons

    Nothing to say here really.

    Herman Miller2017-10-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Firefighting takes priority"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Herman Miller for more than a year

    Pros

    As a company a lot of time and money is spent working in local communities.

    Cons

    The politics are rife and planning is very short-termist.

    Advice to Management

    Less fire-fighting and more time and resources on a longer-term view.

    Herman Miller2016-12-03
  5. "Senior Development Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Melksham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent people great environment for product design engineers to flourish

    Cons

    nothing to add here really

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to add here yet

    Herman Miller2016-04-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Like working in a primary school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay well and the hours aren't that bad plus half days on a Friday which aren't that bad really.

    Cons

    Every one lies about each other, like all the time. Most of the employees only seem to enjoy bullying each other or spreading malicious rumours. The leads and supervisors once they have decided they don't like you they try as hard as they can to push you out the door like refusing overtime, claiming your not listening to instructions, telling you off for things you didn't do and reporting you to management at... every chance they get for no reason at all. It's honestly like being back at school and working with teenagers due to the constant temper tantrums, alcohol abuse and drug taking.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop listening to hear say and rumours put some sort of system on place to review those that you leave in charge not just your low level workers, to much power abuse happens under the noses of the bosses!

    Herman Miller2015-05-25
  7. "The best company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good values, good opportunties, good management, great training

    Cons

    large corporate can be slow to make decisions internally

    Herman Miller2014-08-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, plenty of training and great colleagues, including approachable senior management. An energetic culture always looking to offer even greater value to clients and amazing offices of course!

    Cons

    Way too many acronyms, and perhaps also a little too much marketing speak for some markets outside of the US.

    Advice to Management

    Speaking to clients in their own language, not ours, can strengthen rather than weaken our message.

    Herman Miller2014-03-21
  9. "Fantastic company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. The people are fantastic. Truly honorable work. Plenty of training. The facilities are not only beautiful by environmentally friendly as well. Majority of site are LEAD and BREAM certified.

    Cons

    Too few women in senior management roles. Too few Millennial in the organisation. Little understanding about generational drivers/ motives. Salaries and progression opportunities need to be reviewed. The culture can be a little too corporate at times.

    Advice to Management

    Attract and retain the younger generations.

    Herman Miller2014-02-11
  10. "Great social responsibilitiy for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best furniture company to work for! It´s not just about products, profit, numbers...it´s about people.

    Cons

    Can be hard sometimes for remote workers (sometimes too much disconntected to HQ)

    Advice to Management

    Share more company insights

    Herman Miller2013-12-17
Found 255 reviews