Homebase Limited Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Homebase Limited Reviews

Updated 21 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 309 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Damian Mcgloughlin
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The purchase from Bunnings is a positive change(in 12 reviews)

  • "Work is easy when working on the shop floor(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Feels like we're part of something exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Despite it's challenges recently there is a real sense of pride which is being driven by all aspects, and hierarchy, of the business. It's such a great feeling to be part of a business that is pushing forward.

    Cons

    Communication and collaboration can still be a little frustrating. That said, the business is making steps to improve this and it's possible to see the results.

    Homebase Limited2019-05-03
  2. "A nice part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Retail Assistant 

      I worked at Homebase Limited part-time

      Pros

      Great pay Colleagues were easy to get along with

      Cons

      Hours were very long sometimes

      Homebase Limited2019-07-12
    • "Loved my job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Customers Every day is different Fantastic team

      Cons

      Work life balance Struggling companies

      Homebase Limited2019-07-21
    • "good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      great training and fair salary

      Cons

      keeps changing owners so unsure of job security

      Advice to Management

      stick with Sainsbury this time

      Homebase Limited2019-07-05
    • "5 star employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Employees, work environment, ability to learn new things

        Cons

        Nothing at all, was a really good place to work

        Homebase Limited2019-06-17
      • "Not an enjoyable place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Manager in London, England

          I worked at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 8 years

          Pros

          Free parking . Staff discount.

          Cons

          Poor resources. Not valued.

          Homebase Limited2019-06-27
        • "Corrupt and dishonest senior leadership"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          Salary (now being capped but old timers get a decent salary)

          Cons

          Corrupt HR, corrupt senior leadership, you are ruining what could be a good business, how many more brown envelopes are you going to have to give out to cover up your ridiculous leadership

          Advice to Management

          Hire senior leaders and he from the store manager population, stop bringing in people who do not understand the brand or ANY values! And stop covering up your ineptitude with paying off managers who actually have worked their whole career to keep trying to save Homebase!

          Homebase Limited2019-07-14
        • "Excellent Employer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Shop Floor Sales Assistant in Ledbury, England
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Working for Homebase was honestly a really nice change of pace as we were kept busy and there was always something new to learn or do.

          Cons

          Store Manager role was not given to any of the internal managers, even though we had some cracking ones. Made the promise of ability to move up in the company seem kind of empty

          Homebase Limited2019-06-04
        • "support"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Cashier 

          I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          good working environment, nice people

          Cons

          lack of support, unrealistic targets

          Homebase Limited2019-06-16
        • "good first experience"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Cashier 

          I worked at Homebase Limited part-time

          Pros

          nice people to work for

          Cons

          Not enough profit made, closing store

          Homebase Limited2019-05-23
        Found 309 reviews