Homebase Limited Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Homebase Limited Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Homebase Limited Managing Director Damian Mcgloughlin (no image)
Damian Mcgloughlin
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Went downhill when bought out by Bunnings(in 13 reviews)

  • "senior management coming into store added unnecessary stress felt like judgement day(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started as a temp in a basic admin role just over 2 years ago and was made perm a few months after I started. I'd had a bit of a jumpy job history before HB and never really stuck anything out so my first few months were a bit rocky. I wasn't sure what was expected of me and I was close to handing in my notice as I didn't think I had a future with the company. My manager at the time was brilliant. They helped me set my objectives and work out where I wanted to go in my career and what I needed to do to get there. They also took me to meet former team members around the office and talked to me about how they had progressed from my role into more senior ones. They also explained to me what the business had invested in me and how much they wanted to succeed - it was the first time I'd ever felt valued in a role and made me want to stick it out and work hard. I was able to move into a customer service role just over a year later and I'm hoping to move into a more senior role again soon. But my biggest reason for staying is my team: they make this job for me. I've made some fantastic friends at work and I can't imagine coming into work every day and not seeing them. Love the benefits as well - great discount, holiday days, money off shops, etc It's also dress down in the office which is great as you can be comfy at work.

    Cons

    My job can be a bit dull at times which can mean it can sometimes be difficult to focus and concentrate when you're doing the same thing again and again - it would be nice to have more time to see what the other teams are doing to give some variety sometimes. Also the business has been through a lot of change over the past few years which has meant new rules keep coming and going - they say they want to make things simple but sometimes if feels likes there's a list of rules to have to follow or a form you have to fill out for everything.

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2020-01-22
  2. "Good but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discount scheme was good and the team were good

    Cons

    Not alot invested in employees from what I saw but then I was only a customer assistant

    Homebase Limited2020-01-10
  3. "Mostly good but could be a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed and positive team morale

    Cons

    The training here is non-existant.

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2020-01-22
  4. "Relieved to have moved on, this new company was awful to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Team Leader in Leeds, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sadly can only think of the discount card.

    Cons

    Having worked for this business for over ten years, I’ve seen some major ups and downs. However this new senior management team are the worst I have worked for. Most are too scared to say anything though for fear it will not be dealt with professionally, and you will lose your job. Cancelled holidays - however still billed for them means I missed out on 7 days holiday in my last year - again when I questioned was faced with confrontation. Expectation of team leaders is to work at a more senior level - and in my case my senior managers blamed everyone below them.

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2020-01-06
  5. "Dealing with all customer service operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly and safe place to work

    Cons

    Sexist, men given more opportunity and better range of work.

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2019-12-27
  6. "Welcoming company, looks after their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Oldbury, West Midlands, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff you work alongside Good hours Sufficient work breaks

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Homebase Limited2019-12-09
  7. "Culture of threats and bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Homebase Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount is ok and holiday allowance

    Cons

    A culture of threats and bullying from the CEO down. No avenue to challenge as this puts your job at risk as HR dept are untrustworthy and a big part of the problem. Increased workload and expectations while cutting payroll. Poor IT and lack of correct tools to deliver the day job. Lack of caring for individuals and teams.

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2020-01-14
  8. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great job for a young person, loved my time there and learnt so much, has helped me build the career I have now. Great management team and colleagues.

    Cons

    I don't feel there were any.

    Homebase Limited2019-12-04
  9. "Expected too much from everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service 

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gave me customer facing experience

    Cons

    Very poor management, not flexible, expected too much from staff

    Homebase Limited2019-12-16
  10. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Floor Assistant in Godalming, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Variety of work is good and interesting

    Cons

    Boring, repetitive, issues over pricing led to customer issues

    Homebase Limited2019-11-23
Found 351 reviews