Homebase Limited Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
64%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Homebase Limited Managing Director Damian Mcgloughlin (no image)
Damian Mcgloughlin
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Went downhill when bought out by Bunnings(in 13 reviews)

  • "senior management coming into store added unnecessary stress felt like judgement day(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Welcoming company, looks after their staff"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Oldbury, West Midlands, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff you work alongside Good hours Sufficient work breaks

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Homebase Limited2019-12-09
  2. "Wouldn't recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Chepstow, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You got a discount card for 10% off

    Cons

    Management were awful. You was expected to know everything from day 1. Very overpriced. Not surprised its dying out

    Homebase Limited2020-05-26
  3. "Still going through changes, but too much deadwood and bureaucracy"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Central location, Visible CEO, Some staff are decent humans

    Cons

    Never enough parking, So much wasted effort, Changes to be "agile" are just running around with no clue, Communication is poor to non-existant, Offices are tired, Too much politics, Not enough respect for experts, Not enough respect for job responsibilty

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2020-05-28
  4. "Morally bankrupt company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Worcester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited full-time

    Pros

    They paid slightly more than the bare minimum redundancy requirement

    Cons

    Senior managers, regional managers say one thing and do the opposite, lots promised, little delivered. Store managers have no authority to manage their stores and company tries changing its direction every few months

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2020-04-23
  5. "Good people, Fast paced"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    > At my store, my colleagues were welcoming and I quickly felt like one of the team.

    Cons

    > It did sometimes feel like there wasn't enough direction from managers.

    Homebase Limited2020-03-18
  6. "Nice experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Bishops Stortford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, Flexible, team effort

    Cons

    Busy, standing only at the cash desks

    Homebase Limited2020-03-12
  7. "Friendly people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaning Supervisor in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, good pay, relaxed feel.

    Cons

    Only give discount to employees.

    Continue reading
    Homebase Limited2020-03-10
  8. "First Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Oldbury, West Midlands, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy Structure to work way up

    Cons

    Late nights / weekends

    Homebase Limited2020-03-03
  9. "Good to start"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Orpington, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helped me with basics of retail

    Cons

    Understaffed, very busy with no assistance

    Homebase Limited2020-03-10
  10. "Friendly atmosphere"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly team members made the days easier

    Cons

    During the closing down of stores no help to get new jobs (such as CV writing) was supplied my company

    Homebase Limited2020-02-23
Found 365 reviews