Hurst Media Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 33 reviews

3.9
65%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company

    Aug 3, 2022 - Media Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wide range of products, new and fresh digital products, print, outdoor etc Young vibrant atmosphere - good team, everyone’s helpful Great commission - better than most media companies - in my 15 years experience in media sales, Hurst Media pays the best Good basics, cash bonus, boss takes us out for drinks and socials most Fridays MD is down to earth fun bloke, helps close deals and is a fair understanding boss to work for Growth and new offices on the way

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about Hurst

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great work place with a chance to earn a lot of money!

    Aug 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great range of product to sell - great client base and lead sourcing available - constant support from management - opportunity to earn good money - range of alternative advertising solutions for clients outside of advertorial feature and native articles

    Cons

    - fast moving environment - need to be able to thrive in a stressful and last minute situations

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Leave your self respect at the door

    Jul 29, 2022 - Media Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy money if your good at cold calling and have a particularly loose set of morals. Training you get is actually very good if you seek it out and I mean literally pester people for information because theres like 1 formal training session and you make the rest up as you go. Theres a pub next door. Get to work with household names and some big brands. People who work there are mostly really nice and friendly. You can get this job with 0 experience and make good money. Actually could be a really good place to work if the MD wasn't so prideful, toxic and greedy. The MD will get involved with your deals to help close them and you can learn alot about sales directly from him as a result. Can learn what to look for in your next role.

    Cons

    Edit in response to company reply to this post. The company has lost so many staff recently due to staff leaving rather than being fired, these staff have left individual reviews as they want to share their experience with others. Hurst Media have responded by alleging that these reviews were posted by one individual and have even implied use of legal action and asked the posters not to be "paranoid" in regards to this implied action. Clear demonstration of the tyranical, bully mindset that this company has with it's staff and customers both internal and external. Their long winded, often copied and pasted responses alone should be massive red flag for anyone reading these, not to mention they openly admit to having staff give 5 star reviews in their replies. Their apparent delusion goes so far as to convince him that the reviews from the miriad of ex employees who have left on their own accord in this financial quarter alone are in fact all from one individual. An individual who they claim has "too much time on their hands", so much so that they have created multiple accounts to post negative reviews. This is a clear demonstration of how they view their ex employees as beneath them, as if one would not have other job opportunities or miscellaneous responsibilities outside of their employment at Hurst, ultimately reducing them to a life of creating new accounts to slander and "spam" Hurst Media. What a ridiculous notion. In reality it's myself others who have left bad reviews and we are simply attempting to prevent the same issues which we faced at this employment from becoming the issues of others, hopefully inspire change or atleast forwarn the potential candidate of my experience. If the company faces issues in the recruitment process as a result, then they should change their internal policies and management attitudes accordingly, in line with the genuine reviews they recieve on their glassdoor. Be assured that all of the issues documented in these reviews have been flagged internally many times over the years, these issues have existed much before my time there and these opinoins are nothing new to the management. I doubt anything will ever change but we must all try our best to help our fellow human - hence why I have gone to the trouble of posting and editing this review. I hope to never work with another person like the MD of this company again. Original post below. 1st and foremost the product sounds good but fundamentally doesn't represent good ROI for any business when compared to what the media owners themselves offer. This means you have to leverage every call with a sense of urgency, scarcity and a massive discount, which is great.... Untill your asked to call the client back. Repeat business is minimal across the floor. If the customer complains, the management will simply say "well what did they expect" and proceed to tell you to relay the information to them in a professional and sugar coated way. Normally they give you a cut and paste response or just type the email for you. They have hosted 9am meetings to tell you how terrible the performance was from the day before and make no effort to positively encourage or motivate staff. MD will treat you like you are worthless even if you are a top booker, everyone is beneath him, only if you suck up to him do you get treated with some level of respect. MD will berade you infront of the office for anything from talking differently, wearing something he doesn't like, being shy, saying something which he considers foolish etc. Company is quite sharky but pretends not to be, people hide information from the database regularly, will do anything to sell into the last space, people will also help you but only if they have made their money too. Production issues are rife as a result of deadlines being missed on the sales floor, a situation which in itself is a result of the managment scheduling too many advertorials each week leaving sales floor having too much space to fill. Things are always left until the last minute and this results in sub par customer service and delivery of the products which are already sub par to begin with. You will spend an evening/weekend lead sourcing for a particular sector only to be told you are working on a completely different project to help out as it's undersold and then be shouted at for not performing well. If you don't get along with the boss you will not make it. In my experience there, the members of staff who came from minority backgrounds were treated differently by the MD, pay gaps range from 19,000 - 35,000 for the same role and is not dependent on performance, just if MD thinks your worth it/need it/deserve it. Your actively encouraged not to discuss salaries and if you do, you will be fired/subject to disciplinary. Expect to have a joke made of you if you happen to have an accent or speak slightly differently. If you are shy or lack confidence you are subject to be made fun of. If you wear something which the boss doesnt like, you will be subject to be made fun of, regardless of whether its work appropriate or not. There is no HR, you go into a meeting with the MD and or others and regardless of assurances they provide, MD uses everything you say against him later down the line. MD has been know to have sat members of staff down and told them that even though they were performing over target that they were not worth anything to him and they should be grateful to have a job. He has told top bookers in the past that he's "made millions of pounds already" and that no amount of sales anyone brings in "would change his lifestyle". Company books too much work in on the schedule and makes it nearly impossible to keep up with sales, most deals are closed for much less than you are trained to pitch them for... this creates a free for all culture of reps trying to get any deal possible encouraged by the MD regularly walking up and down the office shouting "get me offers!" The MD will put the phone down on you in the middle of a call if he deems necessary, for example, if he calls an emergancy meeting to get everyone onto a project, or you take a call before the 9am meeting, even if you were doing your job and you are about to close a deal, he will demand you get off the phone and even go so far as to hang up the phone while your talking to a prospect, client etc. All the best staff leave, from Sept 2021 until now, many really solid staff members have left (on their own accord)who used to be the top bookers at the time bringing in a lot of new business, this puts an immense amount of pressure on the new starters who often have 0 experience and are being paid way less than others. If you dont negotiate a good basic, you will struggle to get a worthwile pay rise and not only that, the MD will employ you on 19-22k p/y and tell you that you will make the rest up in commison... you then are expected to spend between 4-12 hours throughout the week lead sourcing. If the market is tough or you are off sick, you are losing out on a lot of money. The worst thing is, even if you are doing well, you will see people joining who are being paid more than you and your expected to help them. Company has been losing money for the last 6 months at least but probably much longer than that, it's looking like they are going to restructure the entire business and if you've read the above you know that nothing will keep you around other than if you get along with the MD. Forget about appreciation for hard work, you will book your monthly target in a day and be told that its "good luck" and be encouraged to go for more, rather than being praised and nurtured for your efforts, your left with a feeling of worthlessness.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Toxic control freak MD

    Jul 15, 2022 - Media Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free lunch every so often (but you had have a working lunch) Same day cash pay outs for top sales No compulsory attire Leaving the company

    Cons

    No trust with employees- MD was very paranoid and toxic. No work from home but if you had to (due to covid) you were made to sign into Google sheets and be plastered on a massive screen to the office so he could make sure you were at your desk working. Expected us to work an extra 2 hrs a day in the pandemic due to us not travelling into work. Obsessed with closing a deal- Marching to your desk 3 times in the space of 30 minutes, asking how are you getting on with that deal? No pay transparency- Low balls employees with different base salaries ranging from 20k-40k and states that it is imperative that nobody discusses pay. We were pushed to ask clients to write good Google reviews about us, after publication. Lack of cultural diversity.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Hurst Media Response

    CEO

    It is disappointing that Glassdoor has chosen to publish such malicious, defamatory and unsubstantiated content which also contravenes its own terms and conditions, and guidelines. There is no way we can substantiate the authenticity of this review as nothing of the sort has ever been logged through the complaints and resolution procedures that are available for the benefit of everyone employed by Hurst Media. That said, we take these comments extremely seriously. If any interested candidate is concerned at all by the false information published in the post above, we encourage them to consider our response below and to look at the many positive reviews that Hurst Media has received both on Glassdoor and elsewhere. As the UK's Trusted Media Partner our core values are Trust, Communication, Presentation, Professionalism and Success. These values guide our decision-making and whilst we can’t keep everyone happy, all the time, we stand by the positive (and sometimes difficult) decisions which have made Hurst Media the market leader in trusted media. Whilst it’s a pity that the author of this review could not share these values and understand how they are in place for the benefit of all colleagues, it is important that prospective candidates embrace the positive reasons behind them. Prospective candidates will also appreciate that we do indeed pay big commissions and same-day cash pay-outs for colleagues who champion our values. With this in mind, please see here how some of the authors false narratives are at odds with our values, as follows: Presentation – attire at Hurst Media is simply business appropriate and smart/casual. Communication – when working from home, we do everything we can to promote, real-time, two-way communication using a variety of software to support remote workers' success, inclusion and wellbeing. This includes WhatsApp and Google Hangouts in the course of business. Trust – it’s important that all colleagues respect and trust in the expertise of their managers and directors who are committed to the development and success of all our employees. We are therefore unapologetically “obsessed” with doing everything we can to make every colleague successful and this includes helping salespeople close deals too. (Eagle-eyed readers may even notice from our positive reviews how colleagues often rave about the continuous coaching they receive on a day-to-day basis from the directors and management team). Professionalism – as a testament to our professional pride at Hurst Media we absolutely encourage all colleagues to collect positive reviews from our happy customers and particularly like to hire candidates who are of this mindset. Success – like all equal opportunities employers, salaries are determined by a colleague’s experience, performance, and crucially their ability to embrace the core values of our business. Taking the above into consideration, we are pleased that the author could learn that at Hurst Media (or at any job for that matter) there is no such thing as a “free lunch” and whilst we wish them every success, perhaps they should take their own advice and – “chill out”. P.S. We have been made aware that we are being spammed by a bitter ex-employee with too much spare time on their hands, but not to worry, as happy employees at Hurst Media will no doubt come forward to write 5-star reviews to challenge the false narratives. Our legal counsel have also told us that the identity of the author who wrote these reviews will soon be revealed. We hope this doesn’t make the author “paranoid”.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people, connections and lucrative!

    Feb 8, 2022 - Media Consultant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic team to work with - not a sharky environment (which can be common in sales) and very supportive peer relationships. Great products in the portfolio, with the potential to diversify client activity well in to the mass media space including TV, Radio etc along with core national press inventory. Great connections with media owners/industry experts which helps with progression and career development. Very supportive MD who does not tolerate toxic behaviour, has an open door policy and genuinely wants all sales staff to succeed. Doesn’t prioritise money brought in over decency (hence some of the slightly salty negative reviews…) Excellent commission structure where you can double your salary and more if you want to. Cash bonuses and incentives are sometimes thrown in the mix too!

    Cons

    The building’s heating system is a bit haywire Can be tricky to nail the work/life balance occasionally but if you need help to do so you can ask!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    JOIN IF YOU LOVE MONEY

    Jan 25, 2022 - Senior Media Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The CEO pays you a handsome commission for just doing your job Good people Great atmosphere You can earn 100k if you follow the right process Managers are spot on and help 24/7

    Cons

    Office could be bigger Sour people get sacked and leave bad reviews 😂

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good money. Loose morale.

    Feb 8, 2022 - Media Sales in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Rewarding comission structure. Repetitive telesales method using social engineering, easy to pick up. Sociable team.

    Cons

    "If the client is making an informed decision, you've probably lost the deal already" - advice by senior management during initial training. Not the most corporate/professional outfit in town but getting better. Flexible working out of the question. Old fashioned, high pressure sales culture.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Hurst Media Response

    CEO

    It is disappointing that Glassdoor has chosen to publish such malicious, defamatory and unsubstantiated content which also contravenes its own terms and conditions, and guidelines. There is no way we can substantiate the authenticity of this review as nothing of the sort has ever been logged through the complaints and resolution procedures which are available for the benefit of everyone employed by Hurst Media. That said, we take these comments extremely seriously. If any interested candidate is concerned at all by the false information published in the post above, we encourage them to consider our response below and to look at the many positive reviews Hurst Media has received both on Glassdoor and elsewhere. Fair-minded readers will appreciate that morale can ebb and flow in the course of business and understandably through 2 years of challenging pandemic trading conditions, this has remained the case. However, we are very proud of how our team have navigated through Covid and are delighted to advise readers that the team have enjoyed year-on-year increases in earnings since 2020, our company’s revenues have grown a whopping 50%+, and through both of these years our sales team have been finalists as ‘Team of the Year’ at the annual PPA awards. With regards to false comments about the sales process, we wholly refute the libellous quote used in this review – particularly considering that Hurst Media is the UK’s trusted media partner, and all prospects are required to be furnished with the latest audited marketing data by way of our highly informative media packs. What’s more, colleagues are encouraged to seek mutual interest with all clients and crucially to listen to their needs and wants to arrive at the most appropriate trusted media solution for their business. Like all sales roles, there is a degree of repetition when selling similar products, but we make no apology for labouring the benefits of trusted media. Moreover, we make no apology for good old-fashioned conversations and relationships with our clients (many of whom have been trading with us for over 10 years) rather than soulless automated emails. At Hurst Media we don’t consider ourselves corporate, but rather an exciting, growing SME that consistently punches above its weight with bigger organisations. State-of-the-art production techniques and management softwares are deployed across the business to support the team whether working in the office or at home. In addition, continuous improvement of our systems and embracing technology have been at the heart of our success over the past few years. In terms of nepotism, this is also somewhat baffling, considering no friends or family of the directors work in the business. Perhaps the author doesn’t understand what the word means? There is no nepotism here, just a malapropism. Unless of course the author is referring to Margaret Hurst - the office sausage dog and Head of Cuddles?

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Pressurised environment with great products, earning potential and full support.

    Mar 20, 2021 - Media Sales Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MD is supportive, motivating, flexible and encouraging. Plenty of great products to sell both on and off line. Products always evolving to keep up with client needs and demands . Good earning potential if you’re good at the job. MD works hard to keep the environment friendly, fun and fair.

    Cons

    Company structure not so great. Could do with some work in this area .

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Supportive Management with Career Progression

    Mar 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Islington, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at Hurst Media for a year and a half and have developed a strong relationship with the management teams & the Managing Director. James takes time to identify what your strengths & weaknesses are and constantly supports your professional development. Personally, I have been given the opportunities to work within various departments which has been both exciting and beneficial for my future with the company.

    Cons

    As any Media Sales environment, can be high pressure with frequent deadlines

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent earning potential, great products, consistent training

    Feb 22, 2021 - Media Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a media salesperson, the products are incredibly sellable due to relationships with big media owners ie the Times, Sunday Times, Guardian, Observers, Mail, Sun and others. Furthermore, there is always a desire to bring innovative new products to market, particularly on the digital side with native content that offers guarantees for buyers. Training is a huge part of day to day at Hurst as well, every day the whole team meets to go over new products, and every team member is invited to offer their own thoughts, best practices, success stories and sales techniques so everyone is constantly learning from each other. On a personal note, despite starting just before Covid and being unfamiliar with the sectors I was selling into, in terms of earnings, my first year was close to my best year at other companies, and this year I am on course to significantly exceed that.

    Cons

    You do have to work hard to stay ahead but that's a given in sales.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

Hurst Media Reviews FAQs

Hurst Media has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 33 reviews left anonymously by employees. 65% of employees would recommend working at Hurst Media to a friend and 58% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -15% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Hurst Media employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Hurst Media. This rating has decreased by -12% over the last 12 months.

65% of Hurst Media employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Hurst Media 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Hurst Media to be management, coworkers, career development and the cons to be benefits, work life balance, culture.

Popular Careers with Hurst Media Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Hurst Media? Share Your Experiences

Hurst Media logo
or