Hurst Media Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 26 reviews

4.7
91%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Friendly hardworking team

    Apr 13, 2021 - Staff Writer in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having worked in journalism in London previously, the hours were often long, unsociable and stressful. So being able to work normal Monday to Friday shifts with a lovely team, in contrast, has been a pleasure. The content I write is varied and interesting, with the opportunity to be creative. Everyone within my department is professional and extremely friendly. The office is right next to the tube, gym, food shops and a pub for after-work drinks, so it is in a decent location as well.

    Cons

    The cause of my McDonald's brekkie addiction.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Pressurised environment with great products, earning potential and full support.

    Mar 20, 2021 - Media Sales Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MD is supportive, motivating, flexible and encouraging. Plenty of great products to sell both on and off line. Products always evolving to keep up with client needs and demands . Good earning potential if you’re good at the job. MD works hard to keep the environment friendly, fun and fair.

    Cons

    Company structure not so great. Could do with some work in this area .

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Supportive Management with Career Progression

    Mar 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Islington, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at Hurst Media for a year and a half and have developed a strong relationship with the management teams & the Managing Director. James takes time to identify what your strengths & weaknesses are and constantly supports your professional development. Personally, I have been given the opportunities to work within various departments which has been both exciting and beneficial for my future with the company.

    Cons

    As any Media Sales environment, can be high pressure with frequent deadlines

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent earning potential, great products, consistent training

    Feb 22, 2021 - Media Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a media salesperson, the products are incredibly sellable due to relationships with big media owners ie the Times, Sunday Times, Guardian, Observers, Mail, Sun and others. Furthermore, there is always a desire to bring innovative new products to market, particularly on the digital side with native content that offers guarantees for buyers. Training is a huge part of day to day at Hurst as well, every day the whole team meets to go over new products, and every team member is invited to offer their own thoughts, best practices, success stories and sales techniques so everyone is constantly learning from each other. On a personal note, despite starting just before Covid and being unfamiliar with the sectors I was selling into, in terms of earnings, my first year was close to my best year at other companies, and this year I am on course to significantly exceed that.

    Cons

    You do have to work hard to stay ahead but that's a given in sales.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Honest and transparent

    Feb 22, 2021 - Media Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been with Hurst Media Co for just over a year and its so refreshing to work for a company that believes in honesty and transparency . Good selection of national projects both in print and on line and with a great bunch of people. Good earning potential a great team and a great atmosphere . Also refreshing that a company takes time to listen and cares about what colleagues think rather than play lip service as many companies do . Overall good forward thinking company to work for and would highly recommend whether someone is just starting out in sales , or have a few years under their belt .

    Cons

    Really don't think I have any

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Make Your Own Success

    Aug 11, 2020 - Media Sales Executive in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great support from MD & management, strong team player feel, good comms structure, opportunity to manage your own workload - you get out what you put in.

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Working at Hurst Media

    Aug 11, 2020 - Media Sales Executive in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly, helpful team. Good support and training. Unlimited earning potential. Innovative and forward thinking company with exciting, industry leading projects.

    Cons

    Only for the hard-working and ambitious

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Really Enjoy Working Here

    Aug 12, 2020 - Media Executive in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I didn't know anything about sales when I joined but I was trained thoroughly and am now super confident in all aspects of media. Recommend working at Hurst very highly.

    Cons

    The office is damn hot in summer!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Dynamic, amiable and an all round a great place to work & grow!

    May 17, 2020 - Media Sales Executive in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at Hurst Media for almost a year and I love it! With 10+ years sales experience under my belt, I can honestly say Hurst Media is only place I've felt compelled to leave a review for! I am doing this because Hurst has provided such a great, sharing, caring team, who not only assist but actually delight in seeing others thrive. I am proud to be counted amongst them. James Hurst the director leads from within. He is extremely generous with time, support, advise and guidance. Helping his staff and seeing them excel is what makes James tick. I also just have to add that James' passion for his business; media and advertising, can be seen in the way that all clients are provided with the best opportunities and strategic placement - their success is his too! I personally look forward to growing with Hurst media and cannot wait to see what heights James takes us to!

    Cons

    I honestly have yet to find some :)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Approach with Caution

    Apr 21, 2020 - Media Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unfortunately no worthy positives to highlight.

    Cons

    Having recently been employed by hurst media, I would strongly advise that anyone looking for a job here should immediately reconsider their options and look elsewhere. In my opinion, my own experience with this company has given me an insight to its corrupt approach to selling advertising, adopting erroneous tactics using a scripted and misleading pitch, with the purpose to exploit SME's into committing their budgets to something that very rarely offers them the desired return of investment, leading to countless disappointing and very difficult conversations with those clients post campaign. Essentially, a product that doesn't really work for the client, headed up by an individual with a lack of moral principles. The perception I was given about the job and the workplace was totally conflicting to what I would come to realise. Very similar to the scripted pitch we were told to adopt, I was misled about the role and the substandard quality of the products available. There its evidently a complete lack of professionalism, ethics and generally a poor approach to selling in this environment, most certainly not somewhere I would recommend to any upstanding individual. As a professional person with the ambition to have a successful career, achieved through a transparent and honest approach with clients and having confidence in selling a quality product that has the potential to genuinely benefit its clients, I can say with conviction that you will not find any of that here.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Hurst Media Response

    CEO

    Steve, please. We know how disappointed you are at being made redundant. As we've fully expressed in our letters to you, we did not want to be in this position and the decisions have been taken after enormous consideration and a very heavy heart. However this behaviour, the 50+ phone calls you've made to the directors, often late at night and abusive; the numerous calls to ex-colleagues making them feel very uncomfortable; the emails; these defamatory statements... It's extremely concerning. You really must stop. You never made any of these allegations or complaints whilst you were employed with us. What's more, in your sales tasks, you should only ever have been talking to companies that you were able to help. It strikes us as extremely strange that you've put us under such pressure to furlough you so you can return to our company if you think such awful things of our products, our business, your colleagues and our clients.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Popular Careers with Hurst Media Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Hurst Media? Share Your Experiences

Hurst Media logo
or