Ingeus Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ingeus Reviews

Updated 13 March 2019
187 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jack Sawyer
48 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Ingeus has a very good approach to work life balance" (in 7 reviews)

  • "Decent philosophy of helping people back in to work but see cons" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unrealistic targets if delivering frontline services" (in 18 reviews)

  • "Senior management is poor, lacks concise, clear direction" (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ingeus full-time

    Pros

    Good Life cover and other Benefits

    Cons

    Very target driven - if you can call that a con

    Ingeus Response

    21 Feb 2019 – Managing Director

    Thank you for your review and for your comments around our employee benefits offer.

    Kind regards, Barry Fletcher


  2. "Great manager and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ingeus full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible working
    Great manager who understands the importance of developing your staff.
    Executive value your contribution and invite feedback and act on it or let you know why they cannot.

    Cons

    None for now as they’ve actively worked on them over the past few years

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep staff regualarly informed about what’s happening in the business it’s a positive thing!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst senior management I have had the displeasure to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ingeus full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Prior to Theresa Rein, the founder, leaving there was a great atmosphere and I enjoyed being able to help people in a supportive company.

    Cons

    Since Theresa Rein left and the American finance organisation took over the organisation went through multiple redundancies and the environment soured. The targets were increasingly difficult to meet through no fault of the advisors, and whilst I met my own targets it was awful to watch colleagues dragged over the coals for things they had very limited control over.

    The management during this time was pretty much non-existent as anyone capable jumped ship to better opportunities and all that was left were the people who wouldn't have succeeded had this not happened and who frankly did not have a clue what they were doing.

    The direct manager we had did not care one bit about the staff and was only interested in jockeying for position for what would come after the work programme contract had finished, and this seemed common across the other managers that we had contact with.

    At the point at which I took voluntary redundancy there were more people that wanted to leave than wanted to stay. If that doesn't say all you need to know about Ingeus then I don't know what else will help.

    Advice to Management

    Stop spending your time responding to reviews on here, and from the looks of things organising a campaign to boost your rating, and take a look at how under your stewardship the organisation has gone from one of the best companies to work for in the Times top 100, to one that the best staff within the welfare to work industry will likely avoid


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Would not recommend to work at Ingeus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in London, England
    Former Employee - Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ingeus full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Able to work from home 2 days a week
    -Friendly colleagues
    -Flexible starting hours
    -Convenient location of office

    Cons

    -Some of the managers that I dealt with were incompetent in my opinion (A bad workman blames his tools).
    -During my time there, I worked on several projects that were poorly managed leading to loads of stress and overtime to get them done on time.
    -Did not follow their own Policies and Procedures properly at times in my opinion
    -Felt that I was not appreciated for my contributions at times
    -Felt that the pay was low considering the role and location (Central London)

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at providing more training to managers in the IT Department, or replacing them with new people. Also, do the same for the HR Staff so that you have a robust team in place.

    Ingeus Response

    21 Feb 2019 – People Director

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I’m sorry to hear your concerns. Our managers are credited (by their colleagues) for genuinely caring about team members’ wellbeing and as an... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ingeus full-time

    Pros

    Wealth of skills and experience
    Working towards making a difference
    Hard working colleagues

    Cons

    Poor work life balance
    Lack of structure
    Travel that was not always purposeful
    Very reactive environment

    Ingeus Response

    21 Feb 2019 – Managing Director

    Thanks for your review, we value all feedback whether positive or negative. It’s great to hear you valued your role in making a positive impact to people’s lives.

    Over recent years we have... More


  6. "Great people and leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ingeus full-time

    Pros

    Keep people informed
    Flexible approach to working
    Clear and inspirational leadership
    Importance of colleague wellbeing

    Cons

    The nature of contracts means some difficult times in the later stages.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to care enough to recruit the right people and support those people you have. Personally coming here has been a revelation as to what having a supportive manager can do to impact your work and home life balance.

    Ingeus Response

    21 Feb 2019 – Managing Director

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments around communication, flexible working, leadership and employee wellbeing, and for your continued contribution as a member... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Positive experience - 6 years and I now know my stretch!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employment Advisor in Paisley, Scotland
    Former Employee - Employment Advisor in Paisley, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ingeus full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    A variety of opportunities to achieve much job satisfaction. Room to develop if you are driven and creative. Great pay and rewards if you over perform. Access to certified training. Relatable management (mostly).

    Cons

    Extremely fast paced - Advisors roles have a shelf life - could risk burn out if not supported properly by management. Definitely a job for hard workers and high achievers!

    Advice to Management

    Work/life balance - reviews to be ongoing. Regular job shadowing essential to understand the needs of the business and improve cross department relations and potential to develop skills to retain good staff.

    Ingeus Response

    7 Feb 2019 – Managing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your comments around development opportunities, pay and management.

    As you probably remember from your time here; we pride ourselves on... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Was good but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contact Center Agent in Birmingham, England
    Former Employee - Contact Center Agent in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ingeus full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Feeling of helping people
    core 'goals' are laudable

    Cons

    VERY corporate now
    It's who you know not what you know

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff before, during and after edicts from on high

    Ingeus Response

    7 Feb 2019 – Managing Director

    Thanks for your review, feedback from colleagues - past and present - is important to us. It would be great to get more information about some of your specific concerns. Please do feel free to... More


  9. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ingeus full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working - if your job title allows it.
    Friendly Environment
    Birthday leave

    Cons

    Would be great if we got annual bonus

    Ingeus Response

    21 Feb 2019 – People Director

    Thank you for your review and for highlighting a number of the benefits we offer at Ingeus. Time off birthdays is a particularly popular one! It’s true that flexible working may not be suitable for... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Tough job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huddersfield, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huddersfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ingeus full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice team. Pay was ok but no movement My last manager was good but she was number 7 in two years

    Cons

    7 managers in 2 years. Little support after serious event at work which have had to get counselling since leaving. Targets used to get rid of recent underperforming staff despite good track records. Make staff feel bad and lose confidence in there skills. Has staff with excellent previous experience and skills but refuse to acknowledge or use. Left before it drained the life and my mental health completely out of me

    Advice to Management

    Support staff don’t tell them the are rubbish at their jobs and that they need to be more resilient ( yes full days training on that).

    Ingeus Response

    21 Feb 2019 – People Director

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I’m sorry to hear your concerns. I would very much like to understand more about what you experienced so that we can make sure it doesn’t happen again... More