Intertek Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Intertek Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 897 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
André Lacroix
223 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "corrosion fatigue technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corrosion Fatigue Technician in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work utilises cutting edge technology aiming to push the capabilities of the company forward with every year that passes. The successes are hugely gratifying and genuinely very much appreciated by both the management and client base internationally.

    Cons

    That we are limited to some extent on the work we do by the requirements of the client. For example, it would be very interesting to research any number of theories and practises, however as we are driven by client needs, we are not always able to do so.

    Advice to Management

    To actively encourage research into all areas that are economically viable to allow the company to expand, develop and become an industry leader.

    Intertek2015-08-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Don't set your standards high"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intertek full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Bullying Poor management Lack of training Lack of progression opportunities

    Intertek2019-06-14
  3. "Decent Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemist in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Training Salary is good compared to other companies in the sector Management always keep you informed

    Cons

    I have had no issues with Intertek in 12 years

    Intertek2019-06-10
  4. "I have worked full time for over 6 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intertek full-time

    Pros

    Forward thinking and can move quickly if required

    Cons

    Pressure of the job can be stressful

    Advice to Management

    none

    Intertek2019-06-05
  5. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discounts for some retailers and salary voucher scheme

    Cons

    Lack of opportunities for growth

    Intertek2019-06-14
  6. "Friendly company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intertek full-time

    Pros

    The company spend time on training

    Cons

    Salary could be a bit better

    Intertek2019-04-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Cost focused - all about numbers. Management don't know anything about leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Intertek full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      None hardly can think of any.

      Cons

      A lot of talent but no room for growth. Retention is too bad because there is no transparency in the business also, team members never get communicated clearly in terms of what is actually expected of them. No contribution from the leadership except they all travel business class around the world. Managers don't really know the right contribution made by their teams since they hardly get involved with team members....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get to know the true definition if Leadership and coaching instead of just spelling these words.

      Intertek2019-05-12
    • "Pretty good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Intertek full-time

      Pros

      Benefits, flexibility, locations of offices

      Cons

      Not enough room for progress

      Intertek2019-04-03
    • Helpful (3)

      "issues are limitless"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technician in Derby, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Intertek full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      sick pay over relaxed staff, get away with murder

      Cons

      shifts staff retention is bad wages are low for industry hands off management Unapproachable supervisors staff have hygiene issues

      Advice to Management

      get out of the office once in a while and talk to lower level staff, we have ideas too

      Intertek2019-04-30
    • Helpful (2)

      "Unequal pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Intertek full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Can work at home. Flexible working

      Cons

      Women paid less than their male equivalents. Intertek conduct audits for other people to check these issues but they themselves don't follow the law

      Advice to Management

      Treat people equally

      Intertek2019-03-23
    Found 897 reviews