Intertek Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Intertek Reviews

Updated 9 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
39%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Intertek CEO André Lacroix (no image)
André Lacroix
255 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work and grow professionally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Executive in Melbourn, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growing company that invests in their own people. Career development prospects Right culture. Flexible shifts. Nice and aproachable management.

    Cons

    Overtime only available in some teams and only applies if pre approved.

    Advice to Management

    The management is fair and is basically in the right place. Please keep up with the good work and always reward your employees for their effort.

    Intertek2019-06-30
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in London, England

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The technical aspect was ok

    Cons

    Supervisors not capable of their job

    Intertek2019-11-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "ok place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytical Chemist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They hired me out of uni with no experience

    Cons

    Very low pay. Royston is too expensive to be getting such low pay.

    Advice to Management

    More progression and higher pay to motivate the workforce.

    Intertek2019-09-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Profit uber alles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intertek full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pretty good banter with the shop floor staff. Those in charge seem happy for people to take on different tasks so the work can be quite varied day to day. Health and safety record pretty good, though I think that's down to luck and employee efforts rather than effective control measures. It's very easy to get away with doing nothing if the mood strikes you

    Cons

    Profit seems to be the only concern of management. No formal training. Informal training is very much "watch then do". Very little communication between upper management and employees. Wildly unequal pay, seemingly unconnected to competence. No communication between sites within company; everyone works in a bubble. It's very easy for everyone else to get away with doing nothing if the mood strikes them.

    Advice to Management

    Get formal training put in place. Standardise pay and introduce pay bands. Have clear job roles and career paths. Communicate company performance and issues to everyone regularly.

    Intertek2019-10-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    International culture Client focused company Nice building

    Cons

    Lousy Managers No place for new employees Low salaries

    Intertek2019-10-11
  6. "Aggresive growth strategy, stressful environment, great people get you through"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Officer in Melbourn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Intertek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are great, fast paced environment

    Cons

    Generally very stressful, over the top paperwork requirements

    Advice to Management

    Workforce is teetering on the edge of breakdown with the volume of work required, slow down the rate of business or increase the staffing levels to cope better

    Intertek2019-08-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Profit before people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Trial Assistant in Wirral, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Intertek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Varied role, lovely, welcoming staff,

    Cons

    Ridiculous working hours frequently, far from home.

    Advice to Management

    Area closed as wasn't profitable enough for the big wigs. It was just under double digit in millions per year. Sickening.

    Intertek2019-08-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Financial organisation masquereding as a scientific & technical company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intertek full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some great people working at Intertek, although many will have joined a smaller company then since taken over by Intertek, but these people keep things afloat and you can learn a lot from them. Depending on which sub-company you work for and how its doing financially it can be a good place to get a year or two on your CV if you're starting out.

    Cons

    Upper management is poor and bloated in size and orientated around constant upwards financial reporting than running anything. No career progress for new joins.

    Advice to Management

    As a company that has grown by acquisition what happens when you have bought up all the small companies and have to grow or manage what you have already? Existing management wont cope, and the accountants tricks to flatter the published shareholder numbers will be rumbled.

    Intertek2019-08-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible, toxic atmosphere - avoid!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intertek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Variety of instruments and techniques available. Great flexible working hours. Great peers to work alongside/moan about the company with.

    Cons

    No training or support. No PC for 6 weeks and no work for 3 months... Very quick to shame and blame when things then inevitably go wrong. People screaming and crying in the lab through frustration. People refusing to talk to management except through email due to arguments in front of everyone in the office! Was almost relieved to get sacked for making a mistake (due to no training in something I told them I had... never done before during my interview and again when they gave me the task) as the place was making me ill with the atmosphere and ridiculous ways of working.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train/mentor/support your staff so they can do their job properly. Don't ignore them for 3 months then ask them if they know what they should actually be doing - terrible way to talk to people! Don't put people in a role they are not qualified for then expect them to know what to do. After my test on the day and my interview I was obviously more suitable for the senior analyst role, not a scientist!

    Intertek2019-09-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "No investment into failing equipment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team is OK and friendly to work with.

    Cons

    Gradually less and less facilities as equipment dies but is not replaced. Little test work as sales don't seem to do anything, resulting in nothing to do most of the time. "Secret" plans to improve site, but no one tells employees what it is.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in equipment, trust your employees.

    Intertek2019-08-22
Found 971 reviews