Kaiser Permanente Reviews

Updated 14 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Kaiser Permanente CEO Gregory Adams
Gregory Adams
639 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good place to work for with great benefits(in 1124 reviews)

  • "Very competitive pay and benefits when in a part time or full time position(in 543 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No work life balance in member services(in 186 reviews)

  • "Sometimes upper management abuse their poison(in 135 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great benefits

      24 Nov 2020 - Registered Nurse in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are amazing Pay PTO Paid holidays

      Cons

      None, very satisfied with this work place

      17 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      They care

      16 Aug 2020 - Member Service Specialist III in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kaiser cares about their employees Great pay Great benefits Great opportunities

      Cons

      The customers can be stressful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent place

      14 Mar 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary and good schedule

      Cons

      Bad Management and bad customer service

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Exhasting

      27 Jun 2019 - General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people working they're are fantastic

      Cons

      Ok at the beginning but gets boring if you don't evolve

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Assistant

      8 Feb 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      None at all. They are good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company poor upper management

      12 May 2021 - Medical Social Worker (MSW) in Brentwood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people to work with. The best Social Work Team I have ever worked with and you really fall in love with the company and what your role is. I loved my job but I resigned because I became a target/radar for my supervisors. I would have dedicated my life career to Kaiser, and I worked my butt off to get there. I finally had my dream job, two weeks into working their things changed. Let me just say that nit picking and never giving any positive redirection just negative feedback will break someones spirit. Educate yourselves its your key to a good job!!

      Cons

      You will only get hired if you know someone and if you have years experiance. There is no room to start with kasier and to be trained as you grow in your profession. Poor communication and negative feedback is given. Director goes by the manager says about you so if your not liked by the office manager your position will not pass probation. If you have adhd and struggle with any learning disabilities do not even apply!! I resigned and left gracefully but I also was bullied by the director who has a record of bullying her employees!! And she's untouchable because her partner is the CEO of my region. Any formal complaint would disappear or get" swept under the rug" And why make eniemies that could possiably hurt me somewhere down the road.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Depends on management and department

      13 May 2021 - Senior Staff Assistant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My team works really well together. Pay and benefits are great, and it's easy to get time off approval most of the time.

      Cons

      Longtime and ongoing issues with understaffing. It's hard to get approval to hire more staff so everyone just has to work extra all the time. Heavy focus on metrics, meeting goals set by higher level admin who don't seem to understand everything it takes to get the work done. Feels impossible to meet these expectations and numerous meetings to review these metrics all the time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I would recommend a friend to work here

      9 May 2021 - Dental Member Assistant in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonus, Time off, Hours for the Dental is great

      Cons

      Similar positions get paid more for less responsibility with in kaiser. I got better education benefits working part time at UPS than at Kaiser as a full time employee.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great benefits, job security, but the usual bureaucracy

      9 Sep 2015 - Program Manager in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kaiser is a great place to work and build a career over time. In my experience salaries are above market for most positions, and the benefits are so good that many people become "lifers". The health coverage is extremely generous, and time off starts off adequate and gets better over time (18 days when you start, moving up to 33 after 15+ years - this does not include sick time). Employees truly believe in the mission of KP (at least, I do) and it's clear that this is a place where employees' contributions are valued. Although my role is not part of any of the unions, the fact that our workforce is predominantly unionized also places a positive role in KP's reputation as a good place for workers (although having unionized staff also presents many challenges). Overall, I enjoy working at KP and would recommend it to others, but understand that you are entering a big bureaucracy. A friendly, mission-driven bureaucracy, but still.

      Cons

      Cons: having lots of "lifers" means that innovative ideas and workflows are not always adopted without a fight. People have their roles deeply embedded here, and any threat to the status quo is seen as negative, even though we need to make some pretty radical changes given the new health care environment post-ACA. There's a lot of "not my job" attitudes here. It's hard to navigate the layers of bureaucracy, both in terms of personnel/HR/benefits, and in getting work done (there are often 4-5 departments at the regional and national KP levels working on similar areas, and no guidance on who does what.) Be aware that KP is not immune to reorganizations and layoffs -- they do make a good attempt to ensure workers are hired elsewhere in the organization, but there are no guarantees, and there can be a lot of turnover in certain departments. Benefits are currently generous but are always subject to downgrades in the future, so just be aware of that. Some changes to the pension and retiree medical benefits are about to hit, and with them a wave of Baby Boomers will be taking retirement, which should hopefully open up many new management opportunities for Millennials. Oh, and the biggest con of all: we still - STILL - use Lotus Notes for email. Shocking, I know, but true.

      Continue reading
      250 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Place to Work Depending on Organization and Department

      17 Feb 2021 - Business Process Consultant in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at KP for 8 years both in IT as an IT Consultant/Business Analyst and as a Business Process Consultant for Health Plan. It's a large, complex organization. Due to its size and complexity most employees are relatively secure in their positions. Also, depending on the department, some of the work can be highly engaging and rewarding. Prior to my leaving for another organization KP had begun embracing the work from home model even before the pandemic began, and will most likely continue down this path once the pandemic ends. Work-life balance can be good or bad depending on the department - I'd say Program Offices lacked in this regard. Great PTO, pension and retirement benefits.

      Cons

      Some departments/stakeholders are highly political. Some departments carry "dead weight" where they've had employees on the payroll that don't perform to reasonable standards. You'll see many titles labeled as "consultant", when in reality the role may be doing program or project management work where anywhere else would demand a higher salary. Personally, I left simply because I'd reached a cap in how far I could be promoted or find a higher paying position - I think they could do a better job in promoting or offering advancement to staff, as by keeping the "dead-weight" mixed with high performers they encourage a culture of non-commitment from employees.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 8,262 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Kaiser Permanente Job Seekers

    Physician
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Kaiser Permanente? Share Your Experiences

    Kaiser Permanente logo
    or