Kaiser Permanente Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Kaiser Permanente Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Kaiser Permanente CEO Bernard J. Tyson
Bernard J. Tyson
2,434 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente part-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    None at all. They are good

    Kaiser Permanente2019-02-08
  2. "Exhasting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people working they're are fantastic

    Cons

    Ok at the beginning but gets boring if you don't evolve

    Advice to Management

    Behave

    Kaiser Permanente2019-06-27
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente full-time

    Pros

    great pay great break room

    Cons

    very strict probation period and timeliness

    Kaiser Permanente2019-12-11
  4. "Excellent Healthcare Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Resolution Specialist in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best benefits in the industry

    Cons

    Company is in the midst of reorganization, which has resulted in depleted department staffing.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-12-11
  5. "Worked per diem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Per Diem RN in Fontana, CA

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible per diem scheduling. Able to work as little or as much as I wanted although full time hours are not guaranteed, it never seemed a problem.

    Cons

    As per diem, the job came with none of the kaiser benefit packages.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-12-09
  6. "Kaiser IT - one of the best places to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been working for Kaiser IT for 18 years and counting. This is one of the most stable large IT organizations that you can find. Lots of IT FTEs in Kaiser have 10+ or even 20+ years. KPIT offers incredible benefits to their FT employees: - Paid medical insurance for associate and family - this alone can amount to multiple thousands every year - Pension - KPIT is one of the few remaining large entities that is... offering an actual PENSION to their FTEs, which comes on top of the regular 403b retirement plans pre-tax and after-tax plans. The KPIT Pension is calculated using the following formula 1.5% x Number of years at KP x average salary of the last five years of employment. For those with many years at KPIT, the KP Pension can easily translate in anywhere from $30,000/yr to 50,000/yr. Again, this is on top of your own retirement accounts. Just think about 20 years of retirement - this could easily add up to 600K to 1 Million in retirement money that comes on top of the retirement savings. Which companies can still offer an actual PENSION to their employees? To me this is a golden benefit for which I don't have enough words of praise - Vacation - you start at 3 weeks, year 2 to year 4 you get four weeks of vacation, year 5 to year 9 you get five weeks of vacation, year 10 and longer you get SIX weeks of paid vacation. How many companies provide that much vacation, that you can actually take? Twice now I've maxed out my six weeks of vacation, one time for a six weeks trip to Europe - Flexible work arrangements (telecommuting is made available for all FTEs) - Outstanding learning opportunities both online and in classroom style - Stability of the work force - Kaiser is a non-profit organization, which is not subject to shareholders will and stock market ups and downs. While we are affected by any economic downturn, the impact comes in a much lesser degree at Kaiser, than it comes to many other large corporations of our size (over 200k employees).

    Show More

    Cons

    While KPIT employing many advanced technologies, given that we deal with people's lives and health, the introduction of new technologies comes at a slower pace than many IT environments where the latest technologies are deployed almost immediately after the make it on then market. If you are seeking to work in a fast paced environment where the newest technologies are deployed immediately in your work space, this is... not your place to be. Kaiser need a steady state of it's IT infrastructure and production environments, in order to ensure that patient safety and patient lives are not affected. We do test and explore new technologies, but we only implement them after a serious and in-depth review, instead of buying and deploying on the fly, as many smaller and startup companies are working today

    Show More
    Kaiser Permanente2019-12-09
  7. "Excellent Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Clerk 

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Health benefits are paid for monthly by the employer which is a huge help

    Cons

    Not always room for advancement or internal transfers

    Kaiser Permanente2019-12-09
  8. "Some frustrations, but overall an amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, free health insurance, Leadership listens to their employees and creates groups to continue improving relationships between everyone, annual goals require volunteering a few times a year, the "Care first" attitude trickles down through every line of business

    Cons

    Every individual/company is going to have inconsistencies and weaknesses...sure, KP has them here and there, but they are extremely open to improving them.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent and consistent...and respect the reflections of your employees.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-12-07
  9. "Work under pressure- pays well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Radiologic Technologist in Roseville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    20 hrs and over you get vacation and health care.

    Cons

    Often under staffed. Lots of walking and portables. Everyone seems stressed every day. Their slogan is Thrive, but no one seems to be. The CEO died in his sleep.

    Advice to Management

    Someone needs to Marie Kondo the system. The managed care has become unmanageable.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-12-07
  10. "Great organization to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, great benefits, generous PTO

    Cons

    Career growth is on you, promotions are not widely done

    Kaiser Permanente2019-12-05
Found 6331 reviews