Kier Group Reviews

Updated 4 Mar 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Kier Group CEO  Andrew Davies
Andrew Davies
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent Contractor with generally good people(in 18 reviews)

  • "Agile working practices in place allow flexibility for a good work/life balance(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "Was a good place to work, now a great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive team, interesting work, job progression opportunities, fantastic colleagues

    Cons

    Short deadlines and high workloads

    Continue reading

    Kier Group Response

    February 8, 2021Employer Brand Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! We're very happy to read over your comments, and we love to know about your experiences at Kier! We have made some huge strides over the past 18 months and it really does make us happy to hear your feedback.

  2. "good company"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group part-time

    Pros

    good company to work with

    Cons

    need to start looking better for their engineers

    Kier Group Response

    February 16, 2021Employer Brand Coordinator

    Thank you! We're glad to hear that you feel we're a good company to work with! Our people are at the core of everything we do, we would love to hear more about how we can support you on the feedback you have provided - please do speak to your line manager or local HR representative so we are able to make improvements.


  3. "Job"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Lighting Technician in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time

    Pros

    Good progression opportunities within company

    Cons

    Located in big city so costly to travel

  4. "Great Role in a Great Team"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Technical Administrator in Trafford Park, England

    I worked at Kier Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in a great family feel environment on the EE maintenance contract

    Cons

    Not much room for development but opportunites do arise from time to time

    Continue reading
  5. "Kier Admin"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Administrator 

    I worked at Kier Group full-time

    Pros

    Lovely team, had lots of laughs and supportive of each other

    Cons

    Poor communication from management. In-effective management.

    Kier Group Response

    March 4, 2021Employer Brand Coordinator

    Thanks for your review! We're glad to hear of your time in the team, it makes us happy to know that you had a supportive environment and lots of laughs with the team! We are sorry you felt there was poor communication, we do our absolute best to ensure that all of our people are kept up to date across the business. Your feedback is very important to us, and we will use this to help guide us for continous improvement.

  6. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits, great people and flexible

    Cons

    Very corporate at times with policies but pretty good

    Continue reading

    Kier Group Response

    March 2, 2021Employer Brand Coordinator

    Thank you! We're happy to hear this. Being flexible is more important than ever at the moment, and we do everything we can do support our people. Our people really are at the core of everything we do, so we really appreciate hearing these reviews!

  7. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    No problem with them at all

    Kier Group Response

    March 2, 2021Employer Brand Coordinator

    Wow, 5-stars! Thank you! We're very happy to read this, and we really appreciate it!

  8. "."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Section Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good career progression, well remunerated

    Cons

    Some disorganisation and lack of drive in middle management

    Kier Group Response

    March 2, 2021Employer Brand Coordinator

    Thank you! We're very happy to hear your thoughts on the compensation and benefits as well as the progression opportunities! We'll be sure to keep on investing in you in order to help support you in your current and any future roles. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us in our continuous improvement.

  9. "Ok"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Highways Engineer in Boston, England

    I worked at Kier Group full-time

    Pros

    Ok location and good team

    Cons

    Manager pay hr stress changes

    Kier Group Response

    March 2, 2021Employer Brand Coordinator

    We're glad to hear that you were part of a good team! We are so proud of all our teams across Kier, and we truly couldn't work on so many exciting projects without them. We are sorry to hear about your cons, at no point would we want you to feel stressed and we do appreciate that there have been some changes across the business. We're extremely grateful for your feedback, and it will help us with continuous improvement.

  10. "Friendly culture, emphasis on progression."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Quantity Surveyor in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues have vast experience, There is a willingness to promote progression within the organisation. HR deal with matters efficiently. CEO hosts regular talks with graduates and emphasises the importance of a good home/work life balance and general well-being. Opportunity to join the Kier share scheme and also to work on joint ventures with other companies.

    Cons

    45 hour working week and an expectation to work for longer makes it difficult to maintain a work-life balance.

    Continue reading

    Kier Group Response

    February 25, 2021Employer Brand Coordinator

    We're pleased to hear your 'pros'! It makes us very happy to know that your role is going well, we love to hear feedback from our graduates! We believe that investing in our early careers population is extremely important, giving you the skills and experience you need to excel. As you mention, we do stress the importance of a good work/life balance and we're sorry to hear that you find this difficult - we are here to support you, and want to help you with this - Please do speak with your line manager, local HR representative, or our early careers manager.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 438 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Kier Group Job Seekers

Work at Kier Group? Share Your Experiences

Kier Group logo
or