Kier Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Kier Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 208 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Haydn Mursell
85 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people and personalities in the site environment (good atmosphere generally)(in 10 reviews)

  • "Provide study support, good work life balance(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working long hours sometimes and can be used and abused if you let them(in 10 reviews)

  • "Generally poor communication across the entire business - departments feel very disjointed and splintered eg(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kier Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Treated equal no matter your job role, plenty to get involved in and trusted to get on with your job. I had a great line manager who supported me well.

    Cons

    Not really anything bad to say about my experience

    Kier Group2019-05-11
  2. "Challenging times but fantastic colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Kier for over 12 years. There are certainly some challenges faced recently but it feels like the business is moving forward in a positive way. The culture allows individuals to put ideas forward and to think about new ways of working. The people are fantastic. Although not widespread and dependant on role there is a growing acceptance of flexible working which allows for a better work life balance.

    Cons

    There have been a lot of changes which can be unsettling. Systems aren't great. Some processes feel that they are not as efficient as they could be.

    Kier Group2019-05-13
  3. "Great Company with first class mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation Planner in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    A progressive company, trying to change how construction is viewed, both internally and externally.

    Cons

    I have not been able to find many yet.

    Kier Group2019-05-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company culture, little benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Design Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Great company culture and office atmosphere. - Well-paid compared to other giants in the field. - Truly flexible hours and flexible working. - There's always work available.

    Cons

    - No bonus schemes whatsoever. - IT system is a joke. - No clear employee progression or development plans. - No regular salary reviews. - Bare-minimum benefits package. - Work available may not be the most exciting.

    Advice to Management

    Sort out your IT systems, please. Also, offer more incentives to keep your employees happy.

    Kier Group2019-05-01
  5. "Assistant Framework Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Framework Manager in Tempsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Supportive team - Good Management - Trusted to manage my own time and work

    Cons

    - Slow career growth - Difficult to change structures and processes that are in place to improve efficiencies.

    Kier Group2019-04-17
  6. "IT Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time

    Pros

    Good career opportunities and training. Very supportive and in tune to a balanced business network.

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Kier Group2019-04-11
  7. "Environmental Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kier Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Lots of training and opportunities to learn. Used flexible working which was generally accepted and used by lots of people.

    Cons

    Too many levels in management. Its a very large organisation which has its pros and cons. Changes in management resulted in extreme changes in documents (on regular basis)

    Kier Group2019-04-24
  8. "Good to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Kier Group full-time

      Pros

      Athmosfere, benefits, skilled management. Team work.

      Cons

      Hours at construction area are always longwr.

      Kier Group2019-04-09
    • "Installations for Virgin Media"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Installation Engineer in Brentford, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Kier Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Its like being self employed. Given a van and a phone just follow a route thats been done for you.

      Cons

      Over worked and underpaid. Loss of social life.

      Kier Group2019-04-23
    • "Quantity surveyor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Quantity Surveyor in Northampton, England

      I worked at Kier Group full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Very good people to work with

      Cons

      Intensive procedures, they are very corporate

      Advice to Management

      Allow greater autonomy, relax some procedures focus on others

      Kier Group2019-04-08
    Found 208 reviews