Kier Group Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Kier Group CEO  Andrew Davies
Andrew Davies
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Agile working practices in place allow flexibility for a good work/life balance(in 14 reviews)

  • "Kier promote agile & flexible working and are family friendly(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "NO Overtime - Long hours to achieve earning potential advertised(in 15 reviews)

  • "No cons that I could come up with(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Lovely Atmosphere"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Kier Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All of my colleagues were so friendly. The work you did was appreciated and the atmosphere was so relaxed.

    Cons

    Contracts change a lot and so this disrupts the colleagues. Also, the experience depends a lot on which site you are assigned to.

    Kier Group Response

    May 19, 2020

    Thanks for the review! We wouldn't be able to do our work without our fantastic people, we're glad you enjoyed your time with the teams and on the projects.

  2. "Great organisation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Supervisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kier Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive and competent team “I can’t but we can” attitude

    Cons

    Due to the size of the company sometimes communication can be slow

    Continue reading

    Kier Group Response

    March 25, 2020

    Thank you for the 5-stars! We really appreciate your comments, and that you enjoyed being part of the team. As we continue to make improvements across the group we'll be sure that communication goes out to everyone in a timely manner.

  3. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fibre Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kier Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organisation Good team work Location Pension scheme Van and tools

    Cons

    No Bonus Salary End of contract No progression No training

    Kier Group Response

    July 9, 2020

    Thank you for your review, and for the 4-stars! It's great to know that you enjoyed some of our benefits, as well as being part of the teams. We're sorry to hear that you felt negatively about some other parts of the role, your feedback is genuinely important to us and we'll take this on board.

  4. "Suits me"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative/Reception in Wellingborough, England

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Varied Role close to home

    Cons

    not long term at present

    Kier Group Response

    July 9, 2020

    Thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear that you are enjoying your role with us. We're here to support you, we would suggest speaking to your local HR representative about your comment regarding long term potential.

  5. COVID-19

    "Very supportive and friendly even whilst joining during lockdown"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Manager in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    supportive management and colleagues, everyone happy to help and assist with questions and contacts

    Cons

    none at present as new positions

    Continue reading

    Kier Group Response

    July 9, 2020

    Thank you for the 4-stars! We're glad to hear that you have settled in well during this time. We hope you enjoy your role with us!

  6. "IT Team"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kier Group full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment and colleagues.

    Cons

    Constantly charging strategic plans. Outsourced IT services.

    Kier Group Response

    July 14, 2020

    We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our working environment, as well as our colleagues. We do understand that there has been recent changes to the IT function to further streamline processes and remove complexity in some places and we're sorry to hear that this has impacted you.

  7. "Didn't embrace TUPE staff on joint ventures sufficiently."

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at Kier Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary was fair for the work.

    Cons

    Distant HR support let me down.

    Kier Group Response

    July 14, 2020

    Many thanks for your review, we are happy to hear that you felt our benefits package was fair for the work, we strive to reward our people at Kier. We're sorry to hear that you felt the HR support was distant, we'll take this feedback to the relevant team - it is genuinely important to us.

  8. "Working at Kier"

    3.0
    Former Employee - IT Management in Lincoln, England

    I worked at Kier Group full-time

    Pros

    Large company Pay is ok Well known within the industry

    Cons

    the complexity of in-house IT solutions were a challenge to the Service desk staff

    Kier Group Response

    July 14, 2020

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is extremely important, we have taken steps over the past year to ensure that our IT function is more streamlined and less complex than before as you have mentioned.

  9. "Fair company"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Construction Manager in London, England

    I worked at Kier Group full-time

    Pros

    Professional with Good attitude towards safety

    Cons

    Struggle to find constant rail work opportunities

    Kier Group Response

    July 14, 2020

    Thank you for recognising our attitudes towards safety! This is extremely important to us and we're always encouraging our people to think, act and work safely at all costs.

  10. "Great Opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Civil Engineer in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kier Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Kier have a great Graduate Development Programme which has undergone some structural changes recently.

    Cons

    Difficult to gain a broader experience base.

    Continue reading

    Kier Group Response

    June 30, 2020

    Thank you for the 4-stars! We're glad to hear that you have been enjoying your time on our Graduate Development Programme. If you would like to gain a wider experience, we would highly suggest speaking to your local HR representative or the Early Careers team and they'll do their best to support you.

Found 327 reviews