Liberty IT Reviews

Updated 7 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Liberty IT Managing Director William Hamilton
William Hamilton
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Base Salary could be improved compared to other companies in Belfast(in 8 reviews)

  • "No real drive or ambition or even sense of direction from senior management, nor is there an attempt to actively combat valid concerns(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Graduate SE"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty IT full-time

    Pros

    Great experience and opportunities to learn

    Cons

    slightly chaotic middle management style

    Liberty IT2020-03-07
  2. "Great People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty IT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Team of People - Some interesting technologies - Diverse working environment

    Cons

    - Your happiness and development really depends on what team and tech stack you get landed on

    Liberty IT2020-02-18
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Suffers from poor management and favouritism"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty IT full-time

    Pros

    New tech if on right team, work life balance, working from home.

    Cons

    Suffers poor management and favouritism - a management restructure 2 years ago has left most developers worse off

    Continue reading
    Liberty IT2019-11-04
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work, pay is lower than average for same job in Belfast"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty IT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks, Work From Home, Free Counselling, Social Committee

    Cons

    Low salary, insurance is kind of boring to write software for. We have policies about how should work but the American company who is our sole customer don't share the same vision and beliefs. For example, we believe in the product way of working, such as tracking metrics and creating a minim viable product. We deliver a minimum viable product and never track whether it was valuable and we never deliver the complete version. It's as if we're using MVP to deliver weak features faster. We also are not allowed to get packages delivered to the office.

    Continue reading
    Liberty IT2019-10-26
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible Place to Work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty IT full-time

    Pros

    Honestly don't think of any. If you are lucky you will be in good projects where you can learn something.

    Cons

    Highly political company. Micromanagement and favoritism. There is no single rule for everyone here, all the options change depends on your manager, team and how well you play here. I have been under horrible managers who never care about you. HR asks for feedback, but nothing changes here. HR blames the managers and vice versa while coming to promotions, you have to play victim role. They keep change something constantly, started first with four pillars, once they were collapsed immediately moved to LIT 2.0, then HPE. Not sure which trend they are following now. Too much show off about everything, paid articles on social media. They spend too much money on promoting this sinking ship. All the buzzwords they use is absolute nonsense like it’s a silicon valley. Heard some of them are: WIGs, KCCR, BAMs, what a load of rubbish. You are just a below average IT wing as part of an insurance company. See the amount of negative reviews here, loads of talented people left this horrible company. I seriously doubt the five star reviews here as they don’t make any sense. I know they have asked to write few positive reviews in the past while I was working. The funniest part here is people write blogs about everything starting from ‘how to turn off your computer’ to ‘how write another blog’. I also have seen people who don’t code and write blogs to tell others ‘how you actually code’ and taking credit for others’ work. That’s their job and they get promote to principals and Technologists. People who actually deliver stuff stay as software engineers for years and some of them stay in fear of opening the mouth. If you question them, then you be will blacklisted and you’re done here. This company is only for few people who can play politics or if you have your own group in the company. There are still a lot of talented developers who can’t move out of the company, probably planning to retire here. I sincerely feel sorry for them. No respect for the employees. As mentioned in few of the reviews you will be constantly told how to think like you are a school kid. Very bad managers, you can clearly see favoritism everywhere in this company. Only few people get into shiny projects, get highly projected everywhere like they only invented everything. They only keep getting awards and promotions. Rest just settle with legacy code, fighting for promotions. After sometime you feel you’re as worthless. There are alot of serious problems in this company. I couldn’t sustain here anymore so had to leave and trust me the feeling of relaxation when I was out, like I was walking out of a jail. And I have seen alot of difference at my current workplace where you don't have to dealt with all these kind of nonsense and you are truly valued. The main focus here is just on ‘Great place to work’ survey which is again a big joke, loads of meetings to discuss that crap. They keep pester you to write good reviews and track down if you write something negative. The pay is less again, very least in Belfast market, oh and the pay rise.. it's another great thing to discuss, just a couple of hundred pounds that too if you’re lucky. WHAT A GREAT PLACE TO WORK

    Continue reading
    Liberty IT2019-11-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent culture and diversity!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty IT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    • Great opportunities • Coaching and mentoring • Training • Team collaboration and people • Work Balance • Facilities and office space • Challanging and rewarding • Culture • Committees • Working from home policies

    Cons

    • Career Paths • Pormotion cycles/process • Legacy systems work

    Continue reading
    Liberty IT2018-11-06
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Not as good as they Would have you believe!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty IT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some nice offices and break out areas. Good training if new.

    Cons

    Unfortunately have their favorites, if you are not in the club forget it. Run like a cartel. Given my background I will get nowhere!

    Continue reading
    Liberty IT2018-08-22

    Liberty IT Response

    August 23, 2018Senior Director - Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to review us on Glassdoor and for recognising the comprehensive training programmes that we have in place here at Liberty IT. It is, however, very disappointing to hear that you didn’t feel like a valued member of our team. Our values, which were created by our employees, are very much focused on building a culture of diversity and inclusion for the benefit of every employee. Ideally, I would have appreciated you raising your concerns directly with me or a member of your leadership team while you were still with us, as we would have liked to have had the opportunity to discuss and address this directly with you. Wishing you all the best in your next endeavor. Regards Cathy

  8. Helpful (8)

    "I just had to go."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty IT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work can be so about the people you work with and I had some lovely colleagues to work with so that made me happy. It is a handy place to get to being central in Belfast though in the dark winter nights is not great for walking to and from.

    Cons

    When you are in a while you start to see things are not quite right. Your manager might be okay but they are not being themselves. They are always guarded, fearful or felt they have to act and say certain things.

    Continue reading
    Liberty IT2018-08-25

    Liberty IT Response

    August 29, 2018Senior Director - Talent

    Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that your colleagues were a highlight from your time with us; we are extremely proud of our employees. One of our values is to ‘Be Approachable’, encouraging open and honest feedback across the company. With that in mind, we would have liked the opportunity to discuss the opinions you have raised while you were with us, as an open discussion may have alleviated some of your concerns. Best wishes with your new role. Regards Cathy

  9. Helpful (1)

    "For me, truly a great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty IT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've started to write this review a few times but it's hard to put down in words what makes a company a good or a bad place to work and it can be different for everyone as the people we work with directly are so important to our own experiences. For me it was the little things like being warmly greeted on my first day at reception or reading the culture and values while I waited there ... they speak of integrity, treating people with dignity and respect, which was my experience at Liberty IT from start to finish. My time there was in EBAT/Hosting which became Compute and it was like being with friends and family; a safe place to build back some confidence in my own abilities that had been knocked in the past, I got to attend technical conferences that I wanted to attend, learnt some new skills, even gave some talks and started a meetup group. If you are considering Liberty IT and reading these reviews I know they are all very personal but if it helps my only regret was not joining Liberty IT sooner in my career and I wish everyone there all the best for the future.

    Cons

    Very few but from my own experience context switching between different projects was sometimes an issue because there was so much going on.

    Continue reading
    Liberty IT2018-04-13

    Liberty IT Response

    April 16, 2018Managing Director

    Thank you for sharing your experience from your time with us. We are delighted to hear it was a positive experience and we hope you are enjoying your new role. Best wishes, Willie.

  10. Helpful (8)

    "You can grow with the Company, if you are willing."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty IT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are opportunities for 'you' to improve. This is a key aspect missed by many. If you are not happy working your legacy stack, ask yourself what can you do to modernise it? There is no mandate that you need to work with any particular technology anymore. Self-empowered teams are setup and encouraged to deliver business value in any manner they please. There are opportunities to move. Posting for a new role is easy, and there are lots of them. Liberty IT employees are in a fortuitous position of working in pockets within all aspects of a multinational financial services business. Take advantage of this and watch your skillset grow. Those with a good spread of domain knowledge will go further in IT. There is a good work life balance. The office is in one of the best locations - transport links, nights out, and a thousand sandwich shops nearby. The office is one of the most modern out there with a gym, secure bike shed, and lots of free space. You can work from home. 1 day, 4 days, never - they will accommodate you. Subsidised massages, social nights, great CSR, travel to the U.S and beyond. I honestly believe we have it made in this regard.

    Cons

    Remuneration - there is room for improvement. Salary is comparable to the big Belfast organisations, but more and more start-ups and remote offices from US organisations are coming and are offering a sweeter deal. This is something to consider in the pay 'benchmarking'. Bonus payments are another pain point of many; while they have been generous in the last few years they are tied in with the performance of the parent company. We are in IT office in Belfast with minimum clout on Liberty Mutual business decisions. I would argue that there should be greater separation and the bonus should reflect IT successes (cost savings in the cloud, etc.) rather than the insurance book of business performance. There are discrepancies with internal rewards and recognition. You often see the same faces winning awards despite the good work done by everyone in the organisation at all levels. It is up to your unit's leadership team if your work is recognised and if your delivery lead determines that exceptional work is simply your day job, then it can be very hard to achieve these awards.

    Continue reading
    Liberty IT2018-03-17

    Liberty IT Response

    March 20, 2018Senior Director - Talent

    Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read your comments on talent management, especially having recently launched 'My Acceleration Programme'; a tool designed to support and drive development for our employees. With regards to your comments around salaries, the companies we benchmark with change each year to reflect the current market and we encourage our employees to suggest new companies to participate. We will be sharing more information around salaries and the bonus scheme later this week which should help explain things. I would encourage you to speak to your LIT Engages representative to find out more about how the recognition policy is applied and monitored, and don’t forget you can always post a question at an “Ask me Anything” session with our Directors in relation to all the other comments/advice you provided. Regards Cathy

Found 72 reviews