Lifeways Group Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 178 of over 189 reviews

2.3
28%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Lifeways Group Chief Executive Justin Tydeman
Justin Tydeman
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some great days out with service users(in 40 reviews)

  • "The people we support are diverse, and every day is different(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Top notch provided to service users(in 12 reviews)

  • "Poor Management and some Lazy Staff that are Backstabbers(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Superb

      27 Dec 2020 - Support Worker in Altrincham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The services are top notch

      Cons

      Top notch provided to service users

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Lifeways

      10 Jun 2021 - Care in Saint Helens, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rewarding job. Happy work environment.

      Cons

      No overtime pay at all Mentally and physically challenging Have to work weekends, bank holidays, and Christmas Phoned on days off/ annual leave - asked to come in.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lifeways review from Doncaster

      7 Jun 2021 - Support Worker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good service users, nice staff, local

      Cons

      Band management, low pay, high staff turnover.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Management DO NOT CARE

      6 Apr 2021 - supportworker in Wakefield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rewarding smiles from service users/ blue light card scheme

      Cons

      Management do not care about colleagues wellbeing, or health. Your are made to feel like you're not doing a good job and are forever complaining about things that are not done instead of praising for the exceptional things that have been done. I personally feel the passing of a family member and personal situations that are out of my hands have been put against me due to taking time off. Staff (including myself) have developed mental health issues due to the amount of stress we are put under. Understaffing causing safeguarding issues, and making staff go long hours without breaks from screaming service users, let alone a normal break to eat...which isn't often either. Staff do 14 hour shifts, don't get extra pay for overtime or bank holidays or a day holiday back, and end up working most Christmas holidays, while management and staff that are in the 'click' get all of these off yet they wouldn't have a clue what to do when it comes to looking after service users. There is no 'thank you' for your time and efforts and we just don't feel appreciated one bit.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not as bad as it's made out to be.

      3 Jun 2021 - Manager in Bolton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My colleagues and manager are great good training.

      Cons

      Work life balance is poor.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Please avoid this company

      11 Feb 2021 - Team Leader in Warrington, North West England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None, not a single one

      Cons

      I worked for lifeways for a year, and I have never worked at a service like it. The workplace culture mainly bullying and gossiping. The staff are undertrained and over worked. If you have no family, no drive for a personal life and want to completely give up your autonomy, I would get a job here. Management threaten you, and this is a mode of working that starts at the top and trickles down. I had to seek mental health support which isn't working for this company, something I haven't had to do before or since. A day after a death in my family of a close relative I was being called to cover shifts. I was never paid right and by the time I left I was owed over £2000 which I had to argue to get. I believe that residents lives are in danger from this company, and I whistle blew before I left as I couldn't stand to see what was happening to the vulnerable people in the service. Please ignore the comments from lifeways saying that "they always strive to improve" and that "they care about staff". This is untrue. The things that I heard area management say are criminal, and completely contradict these false statements. If you want a good idea of the lifeways services I've worked in, look up capesthorne house in warrington, it will give a clearer picture than I can describe. For your own sanity, avoid this company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible place to work

      17 May 2021 - Support Worker in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was an active days Support worker and liked the variety of clients

      Cons

      The place was a shitshow Pay was repeatedly wrong Managers constantly against you and don't have your back Not knowing shifts til the day before or sometimes the morning of the day of the shift Not properly trained or protected from abusive clients Was put into a difficult situation without a proper shadow shift or someone who knows the client

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Underappreciated job for the pay just above the minimum

      12 May 2021 - Support Worker in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty jobs in Healthcare if you need one

      Cons

      High turnover of overexploited team leaders. Working hours may be too much or not enough. May be moved somewhere else in a middle of shift with one person just because someone who's coing cover your shift didn't like working somewhere else. Hard to make a difference

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Will never work here again.. Awful

      11 Apr 2021 - Support Worker in Maidstone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The PWS are lovely (people we support) 2 nice managers amongst the lot I could leave each shift with the satisfaction that I had done my best

      Cons

      No overall manager for service, no consistency in policy with each new one (4 in 6 months) Not receiving a rota for the following week until the Friday then it still getting changed last minute and being told tough if they have made plans and can't change it Staff not trained adequately, takes too long to competency check people No employee recognition 6 months out of 12 wages wrong and not just myself but everyone Too few staff doing all the checks but the staff not doing it aren't being disciplined.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Do not care about staff

      29 Apr 2021 - Support Worker in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      +Helping the a service users +some other support workers are good to work with and friendly

      Cons

      - Team leaders not treating all staff fairly, careless and ensuring everyone is working at the same standard - Management and team leaders not helpful - Only recently they changed the sleep in rate from £25 to £75 - Company don’t value staff and don’t have good values overall -Management lie to you and intimidate you - move you to other services without your consent

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 178 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Lifeways Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Lifeways Group? Share Your Experiences

    Lifeways Group logo
    or