MIT Lincoln Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MIT Lincoln Laboratory Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
MIT Lincoln Laboratory Director Eric Evans
Eric Evans
123 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Raises are kind of arbitrary and really depend on how much your Group leaders want to push for you when they all get together to determine the ladder(in 12 reviews)

  • "Technical staff and senior leadership micromanage their non-technical community(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great place to work for a generalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you can pull together multiple disciplines, it's an amazing place to work. If you just want to keep your head down and do your one thing, it's good but you can do that anywhere. Also, the MIT benefits are stellar.

    Cons

    You can't really be promoted unless you have a PhD. But you can effectively be promoted by gaining reputation, working on bigger things and being put in charge of stuff. But your job title will probably remain the same.

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-01-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefits and a really great work environment

    Cons

    They boast about being able to work from home and have flexible hours but it's not true in certain groups. My program had no direction and they claimed my performance was poor because my supervisor didn't know what he was doing and gave me zero feedback, I got let go and he got promoted. HR was supposed to investigate but didn't. The group I was in was mainly run by men and wasn't kind to women especially those with kids.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved with your team and know what's actually going on and talk with your employees and give feedback and a chance to improve before letting them go.

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-01-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Was once good, but the substance has been removed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Staff in Lexington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Was once a good place to work but the substance has been removed

    Cons

    Disproportionate number of women seem to be “let go”, or end up struggling, particularly after having children. Terrible managers are allowed to continue managing No 360 degree evaluations Culture has changed to value style over substance Pay is way below industry standards

    Advice to Management

    Check your stats for retention of women. Hire real managers, not just advance people who are good at technical work. Make real efforts for diversity and inclusion once diverse candidates are hired; don’t just pay lip service to the idea

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-01-18
  4. "Great perks, Ok management, terrible compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    4 weeks vacation, Cadillac health plan, access to air force base, interesting work

    Cons

    Flat management structure means no management, great opportunities to do whatever you want, just as long as you're ok with poor compensation.

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2019-12-02
  5. "Working over a year now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been at the lab for almost 1.5 years. I enjoy the work and people as much now as when I started. I have the opportunity to participate in some interesting projects and I'm staying busy. I travel to work on programs that will impact DoD.

    Cons

    The facilities are spread out. I work with programs at various classification levels that are spread over a good portion of the lab. I would love it if we were able to consolidate our programs in one space.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2019-11-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lincoln Lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Security Representative I 

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The lab has great benefits

    Cons

    Security Management is bureaucratic and self preservative

    Advice to Management

    Place more emphasis on team leads as managers

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2019-10-16
  7. "Best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Staff in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love it here. Not only is it the best job I've ever had, I don't really see how it could be much better. I work a ~40 hr week and I can show up whenever I want. I get to work on very, very interesting programs. I am doing technical, thought provoking work for the programs. I have a lot of freedom in what I do and how I do it. My work has an impact. I have brilliant coworkers. I get paid a lot.

    Cons

    It's in the suburbs, 15 miles from downtown, so you need a car. I've heard raises are small, but I've been here less than a year so I can't confirm.

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2019-10-12
  8. "Working with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Staff in Lowell, MA

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are many folks at the top of their fields, and if you find the right group, I don't care how smart you are... you'll enjoy the challenge of trying to keep up.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy is inevitable in any organization that does business for the government.

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2019-08-22
  9. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Staff in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The CEO cares. He has been slowly changing the culture of the Laboratory and it shows.

    Cons

    Technical staff and senior leadership micromanage their non-technical community. Technical expertise and education is assumed as competence in all areas.

    Advice to Management

    Determine ways to empower your support and admin staff. They will surprise you.

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2019-08-10
  10. "Interesting projects in the technology space!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance, Benefits, paid vacation

    Cons

    Limited partnership/senior executive spots available

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2019-08-13
Found 249 reviews