MIT Lincoln Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MIT Lincoln Laboratory Reviews

Updated 13 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
85%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
MIT Lincoln Laboratory Director Eric Evans
Eric Evans
125 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Raises are kind of arbitrary and really depend on how much your Group leaders want to push for you when they all get together to determine the ladder(in 12 reviews)

  • "Technical staff and senior leadership micromanage their non-technical community(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very Nice People, but Government Bureaucracy can Bog you Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing workers, good flexibility in hours, very understanding leaders and supervisors, lots of promoting within

    Cons

    Bureaucracy and slow moving projects/red tape because of government approval and guidelines, not enough physical space

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-03-14
  2. "Coworkers and workplace great to work in. management went through several layoffs and changes causing my team to slipt."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Services Team Lead in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, excellent people, good pay.

    Cons

    Extremely Long hours, no overtime, no recognition from management, frequent layoffs.

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-03-04
  3. "fun experience for the summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Internship 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the Hr department has the nicest people that work there.

    Cons

    there was nothing bad about it. I Guess the food could be a little better

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-02-24
  4. "Fun work but stressful at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bosses are relaxed, work is interesting, fun workplace

    Cons

    Small offices, lots of bosses (so lots of over repeating), job easily creates stress

    Continue reading
    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-02-21
  5. "Research Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory

    Pros

    Lots of smart people. Some cool work. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Management is weak. Director is stiff and disingenuous. Too much fous on growth and taking business from other organizations.

    Continue reading
    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-03-03
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fleet Manager in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits, Structure/Stability, New Technology in some areas

    Cons

    Old Habits, Training structure for systems obsolete or missing,

    Continue reading
    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-02-04
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Congessional 

    I worked at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and employees and staff are incredibly competent

    Cons

    Generally lower pay compared to competitors

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-02-05
  8. "great place to work for a generalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you can pull together multiple disciplines, it's an amazing place to work. If you just want to keep your head down and do your one thing, it's good but you can do that anywhere. Also, the MIT benefits are stellar.

    Cons

    You can't really be promoted unless you have a PhD. But you can effectively be promoted by gaining reputation, working on bigger things and being put in charge of stuff. But your job title will probably remain the same.

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2020-01-14
  9. "Great perks, Ok management, terrible compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    4 weeks vacation, Cadillac health plan, access to air force base, interesting work

    Cons

    Flat management structure means no management, great opportunities to do whatever you want, just as long as you're ok with poor compensation.

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2019-12-02
  10. "Working over a year now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been at the lab for almost 1.5 years. I enjoy the work and people as much now as when I started. I have the opportunity to participate in some interesting projects and I'm staying busy. I travel to work on programs that will impact DoD.

    Cons

    The facilities are spread out. I work with programs at various classification levels that are spread over a good portion of the lab. I would love it if we were able to consolidate our programs in one space.

    Continue reading
    MIT Lincoln Laboratory2019-11-08
Found 254 reviews