MSD Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MSD Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 328 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
MSD CEO Kenneth C. Frazier
Kenneth C. Frazier
138 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Hoddesdon, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MSD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring employer, high ethical standards

    Cons

    Quite corporate, inward looking, competitive

    MSD2019-06-17
  2. "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MSD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, good environment

    Cons

    Senior managers need to have more respect for people

    MSD2019-06-23
  3. "Great company benefits when permanent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Testing Analyst in Cramlington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MSD full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent company benefits (only as a permanent member of staff): Yearly bonus. Free private health care. Free physio sessions. Yearly salary increases. Very well structured company. Stable and comfortable work load. Not too stressful.

    Cons

    Sometimes clicky and negative atmosphere in the QC lab. Very repetive and routine work.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more career progression.

    MSD2019-06-19
  4. "Marketing Student Placement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Student Placement in Hoddesdon, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MSD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Nice team - Good work-life balance - A lot of responsibility

    Cons

    - Head Office location isn't suitable for young people

    MSD2019-02-28
  5. "Culture is good, but there’s a catch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MSL in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MSD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse, young workforce. Good work-life balance. Friendly culture. Tend to promote within

    Cons

    Pay is low compared to industry average. Slow to act in change. Very compliance-driven.

    Advice to Management

    Need to pay staff within industry average to retain talent

    MSD2019-02-12
  6. "Great structure and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hoddesdon, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MSD full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Structured job. No hidden extra responsibilities. Great pay. Great benefits. Supportive management.

    Cons

    Headquarters can sometimes be disorganised.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job

    MSD2019-02-09
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MSD full-time

    Pros

    Great teams, friendly environment, good pay and conditions

    Cons

    Lots of policies and procedures

    Advice to Management

    Streamline policies and procedures. Bridge the gap between employees at the top and those lower down the scale.

    MSD2018-11-09
  8. "Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MSD full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package and higher than average salaries

    Cons

    Lack of career development for some roles

    MSD2018-08-23
  9. "QC Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MSD full-time

    Pros

    You get a Decent pay

    Cons

    Miserable staff and poor managment

    MSD2018-07-12
  10. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MSD full-time

    Pros

    I worked for MSD for 2 years as an intern for the Sales Efectiveness Department. The company has a great enviorment and they are goal oriented. Really organized and friendly.

    Cons

    Honestly I cant say that there were any strong cons. The company offers a great place to work. I am glad to them because I had a huge profesional growth.

    MSD2018-04-10
Found 328 reviews