Macy's Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Macy's Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1,841 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The only think was opening credit cards(in 939 reviews)

  • "Long hours people people creative(in 541 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good salary training and best words"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Macy's

    Pros

    office, people, work, software, time

    Cons

    not so flexible but happy about it

    Macy's2019-01-06
  2. "good work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    you can get a discounts on items

    Cons

    you sometimes have to work late nights

    Macy's2018-10-25
  3. "Customer assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer in Enfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good time chilling easy good hours easy to do

    Cons

    bad pay not flexible not motivating no opportunities not demanding

    Advice to Management

    be flexible

    Macy's2017-06-29
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Really good pay and working culture

    Cons

    Long hours and can be routine work

    Advice to Management

    Listen more

    Macy's2017-04-28
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Nice people, good environemtn and a very well defined goals and beautiful people very calm atmosphere

    Cons

    low wages but that isnt so bad for internships. it would have been nice to have a base of 16k but oh well nothing much we can complain about

    Macy's2016-10-30
  6. "A fun seasonal job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    The people I worked with were a delightful, lively bunch, and the company itself get's quite festive which is a fun environment to be in.

    Cons

    It gets a bit...hectic and disorganized the days before christmas, and there was a bit of disorganization at my location.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communication up all the way through.

    Macy's2016-10-13
  7. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    This is a great chance to develop retail and customer service skills. The staff is friendly, easygoing and easy to work with on a daily basis.

    Cons

    It can be tiresome doing the same tasks throughout the day. Also, you may come across difficult or rude customers which can be a further challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Consider ways to diversify the job role so that it is more fun and exciting for workers.

    Macy's2016-09-08
  8. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was part of a great team, all very nice and friendly. Management was very understanding and approachable. Made many new friends.

    Cons

    It was a customer service job, and sometimes the customers were a bit rude, but most of the time it was all nice and friendly people.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your employees to make this place a great place to work, start promoting from within the company.

    Macy's2016-07-20
  9. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Good people to work with not store based so can't comment on that but. excellent staff discount 20% anyway

    Cons

    as with most companies management communications not always affective.

    Macy's2015-11-12
  10. "Lovely"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retailer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Boss was friendly, pleasant to work at, pay was decent for hours worked, an overall pleasant experience, would work here again

    Cons

    Long hours, long way to travel, would be helpful if there were more stores in rural areas. Small nitpick, as I don't have a car.

    Advice to Management

    More stores in rural locations

    Macy's2015-11-01
Found 18342 reviews