Mako Trading Group Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 23 reviews

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Mako Trading Group CEO Trystan Morgan Schauer (no image)
Trystan Morgan Schauer
17 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

1y

works at 

JPMorgan Chase

Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

926

88 Comments

Finance

28.9K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Mako Trading Group~484377
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Decent place

    Nov 21, 2021 - Quantitative Trader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work. Sometimes intensive when you are in trading, but experience and compensation is worth it. Mako is a decent company with a very strong fundamental options knowledge base what gives opportunities. They kindly sponsored me a visa, trained me, provided everything I needed for trading during wfh in 2020, and were very kind when I decided to move to another place. Ps I will always remember the Christmas party we had before COVID hit.

    Cons

    Emerging IT infrastructure was not always reliable. Although I have to admit that issues I faced were typical for a digital transformation period, and things were improving.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company.

    Jan 8, 2022 - Junior Trader in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get to learn from some of the best traders on the street.

    Cons

    Long development queue, hard to see where opportunity will be on current desks.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee

    xxx

    Nov 10, 2021 - Investor Services in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice guys, good environment for me

    Cons

    Pl driven, they cut people quickly if needed

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Circling the drain

    Nov 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CEO is a great salesperson. A very few people there are wonderful people who deserve much better.

    Cons

    CEO has a vision and can sell people on the vision, but doesn't seem capable or interested in how to execute on that vision. CEO is happy to abdicate responsibility for any conflict resolution between the managers. Management is more interested in maintaining cultural status quo than fixing their cultural issues. Several senior managers have their positions for historic reasons, not their current contributions. If middle managers don't agree with senior management's decisions, they will not have their teams follow those decisions, and there are no consequences for those teams or those middle managers. Senior management doesn't seem interested in fixing the disconnect between their aspiration and demonstration. Most managers don't know how to communicate with their team members openly and honestly, leading to disconnects on performance and pathways to improvement. Most of the employees, including those at the centre of the revenue generation, do not understand why they make money, what the function of the firm is in the market, or how the market as a whole functions.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Mako Trading Group Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. It is so important to us that our people feel motivated, fulfilled and challenged by what we do, so it is sad to hear that you feel that your journey at Mako wasn’t positive. As a business, we value constructive feedback from both our current and former employees so we can improve as part of our ongoing commitment to learning and growth. We wish you all the best in your career and the next chapter.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Jul 24, 2021 - Trader in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flat structure Great culture Relaxed yet performance driven atmosphere

    Cons

    Low base pay compared to competitors

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company to work for

    Apr 13, 2021 - Derivatives Trader in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Truly flat structure - Nice people - Generous bonuses

    Cons

    - Outdated software -Slow IT team

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great working culture.

    Jan 23, 2021 - Trading 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very flat org structure. No-nonsense working style with a lot of room for individual contribution.

    Cons

    IT is a bit behind the curve.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work

    Feb 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The management cares about the benefits of the employers and provide more help than one would need. The people and the company structure is simple. You can really focuse on the work itself instead of worrying about company politics or about being squeezed out.

    Cons

    overcrowded office. But rest is good

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work

    Oct 21, 2019 - Talent Acquisition Specialist in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is valued for their specialist knowledge and is listened to for their ideas.

    Cons

    No major cons, great place to work

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Trader

    Jan 14, 2019 - Trader in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, good team spirit

    Cons

    Hard to progress and management are blinkered to investing in new areas. All resources deployed to current rainmakers.

    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Popular Careers with Mako Trading Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Mako Trading Group? Share Your Experiences

or