Mercer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mercer Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2627 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Mercer CEO Martine Ferland (no image)
Martine Ferland
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Small team size and work-life balance(in 151 reviews)

  • "When you work in Customer Service its always going to be high stress, with some long hours and even longer calls when you work 3rd shift(in 78 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Really good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pension Administrator in Croydon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people on my tean

    Cons

    Not enough training opportunities at the company

    Mercer2019-01-30
  2. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercer part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible/part time working readily available, depth and breadth of resources, great colleagues and collegiate atmosphere, lots of autonomy coupled with great support.

    Cons

    Can be under-resourced at junior and admin level; in common with most big firms, multiple layers of hierarchy and cumbersome bureaucracy.

    Advice to Management

    Work on retention at analyst level and recruit more promptly and fully when people leave. Nurture talent better as people progress in their careers

    Mercer2019-09-17
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mercer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to progress

    Cons

    Workload is high and support to develop is limited due to the workload.

    Mercer2019-09-11
  4. "Employee Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mercer full-time

    Pros

    Good and healthy work environment

    Cons

    Pay packages are low as compared to market

    Mercer2019-09-09
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Pensions Administrator in Chichester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice company and nice teams / people

    Cons

    Lack of progression in specific offices I was in

    Mercer2019-08-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, dynamic, exposure to great clients, great people.

    Cons

    Salary is poor, bonus is a joke. Overloaded with clients.

    Mercer2019-08-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place To Work - Would Be Good To Feel More Appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Pension Payroll Administrator in Chichester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing, they are the reason I stayed at Mercer for so long. Such a lovely bunch of friendly people, passionate about their work who will give it their all to make sure the job is done - giving it their everything!

    Cons

    This was known, and it was felt this was taken advantage of at times. Being the other side of the fence I am confident it wasn't the case, it was just office politics and budgets and efficencies etc, but the communications from senior management didn't reinforce this. Although they tried their best, a lot of the time I felt like a number and not a valuable member of staff.

    Advice to Management

    Take process improvement suggestions seriously, not just pop them in a queue with an infinite timescale to be looked at. We're trying to help you - not create more work! Also look at what we are capable of when promotions are available, rather than just whether our face fits.

    Mercer2019-08-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great benefits and perks, but that’s all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pension Analyst in Leeds, England

    I have been working at Mercer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Forward thinking Diverse & inclusive Flexible working Nice people Nice office

    Cons

    Lack of support & compassion from management No time for personal development Staff are over stretched and stressed IT system needs an overhaul

    Advice to Management

    The managers need to speak to the people on the floor and really find out what’s going on instead of bleeding everyone dry and demanding more and more. And recruit more staff.

    Mercer2019-08-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worst Company throughout my career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BD Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Used to have a good reputation, big company, pays well

    Cons

    Discriminating despite all their words about diversity. Discriminating on different cultures and status, having a family is not in, certainly not applying for unpaid parental leave. Collegues ready to put a knife in your back. They steal prospects from you while you are on holiday. No team spirit, it is you against everyone. Unhealthy work environment. Don't try a dialogue about it, this will just ensure that they... try to get rid of you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff and LEAD. A leader should not just ignore any unpleasant circumstances. They pay well, but treat you like a slave.

    Mercer2019-09-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty low morale and high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good policies such as employee relocation and flexible working

    Cons

    A pretty miserable place in general

    Mercer2019-08-30
Found 2627 reviews