Mercer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mercer Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Mercer President and CEO Martine Ferland (no image)
Martine Ferland
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Innovative Canadian HR Leaders at MERCER helps MMC shine as a Global Brand."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Canadian Leadership ( HR ) is tremendously engaged and supportive,

    Cons

    Very Centralised mentality, American dictatorship style, US suppliers, Service-Now, Shared Services, and how all of their Global decision have negative impacts for some of our the distinct regions.

    Continue reading
    Mercer2019-11-20
  2. "A great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to develop, flexible working

    Cons

    Not too many to be honest

    Mercer2020-02-05
  3. "Nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercer part-time

    Pros

    Competitive Salaries Development for Employees Contracts with Reputable companies Excellent Infrastructure in place currently

    Cons

    Deficiencies may exist in the redeployment process.

    Mercer2020-01-28

    Mercer Response

    February 3, 2020HR Generalist

    Mercer Colleague, Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. We are happy to hear such positive feedback in respect of what you find valuable at Mercer. Should you wish to discuss any concerns further, please reach out to your HR Business Partner directly.

    Continue reading
  4. "Pensions admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mercer full-time

    Pros

    good established company, good to work for

    Cons

    could do with better training for new recruits

    Mercer2020-02-10
  5. "Strong development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Chichester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good progression available and development is promoted

    Cons

    Complex multi national structure so building internal network is key

    Mercer2020-01-15

    Mercer Response

    January 27, 2020HR Generalist

    Dear Former Colleague, Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. It is great that you have enjoyed working for Mercer. We are happy to hear that you valued the progression and development opportunities that are possible within a group that has the scale and reach that we do within our organisation.

    Continue reading
  6. "Diverse place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Investment Consultant in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities to expand career in a range of different directions

    Cons

    Opportunities for new joiners to gain client facing experience can be limited

    Continue reading
    Mercer2020-01-13

    Mercer Response

    January 27, 2020HR Generalist

    Mercer Colleague, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. At Mercer we take a great deal of pride in our culture and values. Ensuring we have a diverse and inclusive workforce is essential, so we are happy to hear that you value your working environment just as much as we do. We are also pleased to know that you value the accessible progression and development opportunities within Mercer. We recognise the importance of building confidence and experience working directly with clients. Please talk to your People Manager about ways to get more experience like this to build your career here.

    Continue reading
  7. "Amazing opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wealth Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercer full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, Welcoming, Professional, Invest in you and Fun to work for

    Cons

    There is nothing bad I could say

    Mercer2020-01-12
  8. "Decent career starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Engineer 

    I have been working at Mercer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment Decent career progression Interesting work

    Cons

    Poor workload management Poor recruitment choices Lots of internal politics

    Mercer2020-01-22
  9. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, good package, and opportunity

    Cons

    Takes a while to progress

    Mercer2019-11-24

    Mercer Response

    January 13, 2020HR Generalist

    Mercer Colleague, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Mercer are proud to offer agile working and competitive benefit packages and we are happy to know that you value these. Due to the scale and size of our organisation there are plenty of career opportunities available and we would encourage you to speak with your people manager in respect of the possible networking opportunities available. Alternatively please feel free to email us at ColleagueFeedback@Mercer.com so that we can look into this further.

    Continue reading
  10. "Mercer Analyst Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retirement Actuarial Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Good managers Friendly staff Good staff events

    Cons

    Long hours during Q4 promotions have been slow for some members

    Mercer2019-11-19

    Mercer Response

    January 13, 2020HR Generalist

    Dear Former Colleague, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are happy to know that during your time at Mercer, you valued our agile working policies, leadership, culture and social events. In respect of your comments regarding working hours, at Mercer we take the health and wellbeing of our colleagues very seriously and are committed to ensuring that all colleagues have a manageable workload. We wish you all the best for your future career endeavours.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 2779 reviews