NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Reviews

Updated 11 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 465 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory CEO Michael Watkins
Michael Watkins
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Projects/missions take a very long time to complete (3 to 5(in 14 reviews)

  • "there are no cons to this company(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Everyone is open to mentoring you

      Cons

      lots of cuts going around

      NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-05-11
    • "Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Pasadena, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people & food at jpl

      Cons

      Lot of red tape to deal with

      NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-05-09
    • "Fantastic place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Pasadena, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      If you'd like to help with projects that are significant to the human species, JPL is for you.

      Cons

      I have no "Cons" for JPL.

      NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-05-08
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Pasadena, CA

      I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Work on truly fulfilling missions. Learn new things every day.

      Cons

      Relatively lower pay compared to top tier technology/engineering firms.

      NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-05-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "Low pay, few benefits, no career growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      People are passionate and very intelligent. 9/80 schedule is great.

      Cons

      Some inflated egos, incompetent people remain here forever because it’s a cushy gig with a respected name, which leads to problems with career growth (there is no where to grow to if no one ever leaves) and with innovation (clashes with the new classes of employees and new ideas aka asks for completely normal modern processes, tools, and etc. ). Pay is not competitive. Treatment of non-engineering staff is very poor....

      Show More
      NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-04-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Corrupt"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Exciting technology when you can get it and that is often enough.

      Cons

      Line management is fundamentally corrupt all the way up to the division level. Leads the ethics office around by the nose. Fosters corrupt behavior and actively seeks to conceal even the most egregious of violations.

      Advice to Management

      Be straight forward. Do not tolerate corruption or foster it by systematic cover ups.

      NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-04-05
    • "Science at JPL"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - NPP Fellow in Pasadena, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Challenging work environment, challenging projects.

      Cons

      Foreign national has limits, ordering materials is difficult

      NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-02-24
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Staff IV in Pasadena, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory for more than 3 years

      Pros

      great place to get your start or to retire from

      Cons

      better parking needed for employees

      NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-02-05
    • "Great place to work for curious individuals"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Pasadena, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Innovative, open, rewarding, exceptional, cutting-edge

      Cons

      Bureaucracy, slower pace, expensive location

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work

      NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-01-28
    • Helpful (3)

      "Engineering Technician II"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Engineering Technician II in Pasadena, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      9/80 schedule that was it!

      Cons

      People there are just really workaholics. The pay was low and they make you work your butt off. The engineers who I worked with were just not that smart. They would give me bad drawings or sometimes give me wrong parts and when I tell them they look at me like I’m crazy. I am the one to build the cables, chassis and circuit board. I know what I am doing. They spend so much time arguing with me and not letting me do my...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Offer more pay or don’t make us work hard for low pay, offer better benefits, offer free food, make room for growth, challenges and make sure the engineers are working rather then fooling around walking from building to building pretending they are doing their job but they aren’t doing anything but wasting time and getting paid anyway! Pay close attention people!

      NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-01-26
    Found 465 reviews