Network Rail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Network Rail Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 483 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Some poor management plus a lot of weekends & nights working(in 14 reviews)

  • "Considerable uncertainty about the future of the Railway industry(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Mr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Leeds, England

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice company to work for

    Cons

    Not much to be fair

    Advice to Management

    Good work

    Network Rail2019-04-04
  2. "IT PM @ Network Rail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    excellent office, spacious and clean

    Cons

    slow recruitment process - took me 6 months to hear back

    Network Rail2019-06-21
  3. "Not cutting edge but challenging and good job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Network Rail full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good job security, at times challenging work, reasonably good salary and benefits. The culture change around challenging unsafe behaviour is now ingrained.

    Cons

    Very large company with difference in working practises between departments. With the exception of anything safety-related, there is a "top down" culture where anyone who wants to get ahead feels that they must hold the same views as their manager and behave like them in a business sense which stifles innovation.

    Advice to Management

    Resist making changes for the sake of it. the goal is to work efficiently and safely - it's easy to do one or the other but not both.

    Network Rail2019-06-21
  4. "I have a career break from Apr, 2015. Due to sickness of my child. Now I'm actively looking for opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Support Analyst in West Ealing, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Network Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best place to work. Very friendly, calm and helpful.

    Cons

    No work from home option

    Network Rail2019-06-19
  5. "Good Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPM in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training, benefits, flexible, safety, varied

    Cons

    Low salary for Greater London

    Network Rail2019-06-12
  6. "Property"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great flexibility, training options and work life balance.

    Cons

    A company that does not walk the talk. Has little transparency as to how decisions are made. Encourages low productively

    Advice to Management

    You do not do what you say.

    Network Rail2019-06-25
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary’s family friendly hours

    Cons

    None I have never had a problem

    Network Rail2019-06-10
  8. "Good Company, cultural change required"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay and working hours good, staff care strong and getting even better, flexible working. security of role

    Cons

    The company is not lean and there is far too much waste. Processes followed blindly over allowing thought

    Network Rail2019-06-23
  9. "One of the better government organisations to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pension Annual leave starts at 28 days Some flexibility with working from home Excellent employee support - for carers, mental health, active LGBT etc Volunteering well supported

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy When they need to save money, it's the little things you notice eg Training Centre cut back on food service but never compromise on safety

    Advice to Management

    Better at challenging scope

    Network Rail2019-06-06
  10. "network rail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Technical Officer in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good terms and conditions, well driven company.

    Cons

    early promotions so not the best/most experienced people in high positions. poor work life balance.

    Network Rail2019-06-07
Found 483 reviews