Network Rail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Network Rail Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 526 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Some poor management plus a lot of weekends & nights working(in 14 reviews)

  • "There was nothing negative about working at NR(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Large scale multidisciplinary engineering challenges in any location!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Signalling Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on strategically important infrastructure and make a difference Advanced engineering practices and challenges Potential for large scale digital innovation across the sector Space define your own path if you are self starting Above average pay Good work life balance

    Cons

    Competency framework creates difficulty to gain responsibility early Graduates are not as empowered as they should be Large organisational structure does not support agile thinking

    Advice to Management

    Improve in house capabilities and up-skill work force including graduates to create innovative solutions that are cost effective to the tax payer. Employ more data engineers - give opportunities to learn data skills to unlock potential innovation areas. Focus tirelessly on achieving the RSSB's Technical Strategy

    Network Rail2019-09-27
  2. "Good Company for a long term Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scheme Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Clear pathway of career progression. A competitive salary. Flexible working arrangements are great. Annual leave, sick pay, pension are all much better than an average company. You are looked after very well.

    Cons

    Currently in a reorganization which is being dragged out months at a time, bringing uncertainty for employees. HR department is a awful, especially when trying to get new starters in.

    Advice to Management

    Bring HR to local regions as part of the putting passengers first. One central team for the majority of queries does not work well. Look into the way large engineering projects are ran, we should be starting to adopt parts of agile working.

    Network Rail2019-10-11
  3. "Pma"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company great career opportunities

    Cons

    Poor pay clicky restrictive workload

    Network Rail2019-10-04
  4. "Good company, supportive and great progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, salary, balance, culture, and overall great place to work

    Cons

    Not very innovative, stifles creativity

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the guys on the ground, PPF isn’t having the desired effect

    Network Rail2019-10-04
  5. "Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Section Planner/Administrative in Dartford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good for leave, pension, 35 hours a week, good team work

    Cons

    Too top heavy, too many managers

    Advice to Management

    Employ more groundstaff

    Network Rail2019-10-03
  6. "No flex time for working mothers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scheme Interface Manager 

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time

    Pros

    Flexible (for some). Great salaries for new graduates, better than private company. Office located in Central London

    Cons

    No flexible working for mothers who really need it but only flex time is available for men! It is very shameful. My boss refused me working from home while he himself works from home. I had more understanding boss in priviate industry where I was able to negotiate hours and even cut hours as I needed for childcare purposes. I am so disappointed

    Advice to Management

    Please end the misogyny, it’s the 21st century, this is shameful.

    Network Rail2019-10-12
  7. "Nice job, great people, great achievements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Head of PMO in London, England

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good flexibility to choose how I work

    Cons

    Too much glory stealing which detracts from goals

    Advice to Management

    Focus of value for money not job creation

    Network Rail2019-09-18
  8. "Working as an Risk Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Network Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good supportive team - Good pay - Flexible working times - Good skills to learn (ARM and other software)

    Cons

    - other teams require risk education

    Advice to Management

    provide more integrated working with other teams

    Network Rail2019-09-18
  9. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Network Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people on the front line

    Cons

    Far too many managers with no proper skills in management.

    Advice to Management

    Assess skills of programme and project managers.

    Network Rail2019-10-01
  10. "Excellent work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signalling Principles Verifier in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent working benefits and working environment

    Cons

    No free rail travel for staff

    Network Rail2019-09-09
Found 526 reviews