Network Rail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Network Rail Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
82%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Some poor management plus a lot of weekends & nights working(in 14 reviews)

  • "Considerable uncertainty about the future of the Railway industry(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development Surveyor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Network Rail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, good training, good package, great office environment

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, takes ages to get anything done, competing computer systems, flat line structure

    Advice to Management

    I left after many years of loyal service because I had a manager who was hopelessly out of his depth. The company had not appetite or desire to manage the individual out

    Network Rail2020-01-14
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Computer Architect in London, England

    I worked at Network Rail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Bad managers promoted over good people

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting boot lickers.

    Network Rail2020-01-18
  3. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Reporting Assistant in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Encourage a good work life balance. Diverse workforce who are respectful of others.

    Cons

    Top heavy management structure demotivates staff

    Advice to Management

    Invest less in managers and reward loyal employees with valuable experience.

    Network Rail2020-01-18
  4. "Good starting place for your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training, flexibility at work and good offices locations

    Cons

    Lack of progression, NO Promotion

    Network Rail2020-01-17
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Secretarial Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Invest in you, good work like balance

    Cons

    Public sector company, hard to get promotion internally

    Network Rail2020-01-14
  6. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scheme Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Network Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work, there is focus on professional development. There's a good work life balance.

    Cons

    Salary is less than other companies for the same job. Pay rises are small, few and far between.

    Network Rail2020-01-11
  7. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trackman in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Because it’s a lifetime opportunity

    Cons

    There ant no down side

    Network Rail2020-01-09
  8. "The railway is awesome!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance in Perth, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Second to none safety protocols Opportunities for learning new skills Colleagues Shift patterns Salary The embracing of new technologies and the development of new aps(my work ap is a massive time saver) The perfect blend of experience and youth in frontline staff. I've read some reviews that mention bias to some staff, that's not the case, you get back what you put in And finally and one of the most important one's; the work itself.

    Show More

    Cons

    Only downside side I can think of is there is too many trains so its frustrating stopping and starting, necessary though as if there weren't trains we'd all be working down the mines . Oh and dayshift isn't my favourite, less trains at night so it's far more productive.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the PPE isn't that great. And it's seems like it takes an enternity for the powers that be to make some decisions (granted they've to deal with external forces like the RMT union)

    Network Rail2020-01-06
  9. "Decent place to start get into the railway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Euston, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meeting new customers everyday New challenges Flexibility on annual leave 75% off on the underground

    Cons

    Delays and disruptions can cause a lot of stress. Not much there in terms of progression within the station. Politics. Bias. Unfair treatment. Being overlooked for job positions.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees, give staff equal opportunities to progress, distribute uniform on time.

    Network Rail2020-01-02
  10. "Flexible and interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Station Team in London, England

    I have been working at Network Rail part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Feel you are working towards a common goal, making and impact, working with people that are passionate, modern flexible employer (in the offices)

    Cons

    Slow processes, lots of organisational change, little scope for pay rises outside of promotions/change of role

    Network Rail2019-12-17
Found 560 reviews