Next Jump Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Next Jump Reviews

Updated 8 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 164 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
Next Jump CEO Charlie Kim and Meghan Messenger (no image)
Charlie Kim and Meghan Messenger
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of free food/ free breakfast/ late evening work dinners(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, great energy(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Accelerated personal a career growth - nothing else like it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Jump full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Next Jump really believes in giving people people more responsibility than they can think they handle. You will end up going outside your comfort zone a lot and working on many tasks that would normally be outside your job role. When you look back, you will be amazed and how much you were able to achieve that you didn't think possible. While this isn't for everyone, I have found my own career growth to be... massively advanced when compared to my peers, having had experience with all parts of running a company, from HR, Finance, Engineering, Customer Support, Client Management. If you are interesting in running your own company or being in a startup - this is an ideal training ground. - Working with other companies and improving their company culture is really eye opening to the pervasive issues in the rest of the industry. While Next Jump is by no means perfect, its very open to criticism and is honest about where it needs to improve. Sharing those lessons with the employees and other companies makes the company feel very human, and constantly changing. - You feel cared for. I feel like everyone around me cares for me and is trying to help me be the best I can be. Everyone is a genuinely nice person and lots of people make life long friends. Management take interest in peoples lives and try to help (some really amazing stories from the CEO helping out people). - The company does encourage people to be themselves and honest about their strengths/weakness. This can be challenging and strange at first, especially as from childhood we are told to only show our strong side. However, in the long run this makes everyone more rounded, humble and open to other ideas. Has also helped me in my personal life tackle approach issues i would have ignored or struggled at, by considering how I am at work reflects me at home. - The benefits/perks are pretty good (outside of personal growth). Dinner is often provided, laundry, laptop, trips to New York, gym membership, drinks/snacks etc etc. - The Co-CEOs are extremely honest, authentic, hard working and dedicated to the company and the people who work here.

    Show More

    Cons

    - All of the above takes a lot of energy. Not just to help yourself but to help others. Nobody works on the weekend, but you will be expected to work beyond the 9-6 hours, generally during the q4 period which is busiest. This isn't a clock in, clock out job and that attitude doesn't survive well here (but they are upfront with this). - The responsibility and level of decision making expected is often beyond what... you feel you can do, and can feel unfair at times. However, you are making decisions someone 10-20yrs + experience would be making elsewhere. - Sometimes the decisions made on employees is whats right for the company, but not for the individual at the time (or can feel that way). Especially when you feel you have put a lot of effort in or deserve something, management (with a bigger picture/experience) feel differently. Often these are discussions around perks or career growth.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I do think there is an issue with (or at least the perception of) long term career growth beyond 4-5 years. While many small companies have this problem, I think we should strive to provide a path for long term. Especially when those people leave with vast amounts of training and experience, its the junior people who feel the pain (lessons lost).

    Next Jump2019-01-02
  2. "Opportunities for personal development if you're willing to put the work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - There's a real community feel around the company. Every employee, from junior to more senior level, is interested in helping with your own personal development. - Opportunities for rapid career development if you're willing to put the work in and are proactive in seeking and onboarding feedback on your work. - Really liked the idea around having both business and cultural responsibilities. Culture is an... opportunity to practice new things and also learn more about yourself in the process - this can then be applied to your business role. - A lot of perks and benefits - such as breakfast, laundry service, and evening meals if you need to stay late to complete some work.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Work-life balance is often difficult to maintain. - Sometimes critical feedback can come across as aggressive rather than constructive. - At times, your cultural responsibilities can feel very executional as opposed to an opportunity to experiment and practice on aspects of your personal development. - As the company focuses on your personal development, Next Jump may not be the place for you if you're not... willing to be open and vulnerable about your personal life and experiences.

    Show More
    Next Jump2019-09-08
  3. Helpful (8)

    "A bad company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good perks, decent pay for London living standards

    Cons

    Horrible location. Outside a toilet in the London office. Micromanagement of staff. Extremely high turnover. Also they have no HR

    Advice to Management

    You need to find some sensible management and install a HR function.

    Next Jump2019-04-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "One two three four five"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time

    Pros

    Good work culture encourages you to improve

    Cons

    Too personal with what they ask you

    Next Jump2019-01-02
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Don't get sucked in because of they money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time

    Pros

    Free food Pay is good but it comes at a price (see below) That's it.

    Cons

    Literally everything in the company is a con. The 'managers' (inexperienced bunch of grads) are like high school bullies. They also treat non-fulltimers / temps like fleas and this is condoned by all full-timers no matter how nice they are. Including MDs. When I say everyone talks about everyone 24/7, that is all these children do. They also want to know a ton of stuff about your personal life through what... they call 'PLB'. It's intrusive and probably breaking some parts of the British Law. They believe in 'collective suffering', it's just a bit mental that the company hasn't been under a watchdog investigation. It can really damage your mental health. Their job descriptions are really vague.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just be nice, decent humans??? It is not hard! Isn't that part of the company's ethos anyway?

    Next Jump2019-01-14
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Opportunity + responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Jump full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As well as decent compensation and very competitive perks (including some very unique ones - trips to NY, weekly laundry service), the main pros are around Next Jump's investment in you, and the career progression opportunities offered. The level of trust and ownership you will be given is huge, but with a robust support system in place to enable to accelerate your growth and learning. Everything in the company is... geared towards bettering you as an individual, and there are so many initiatives baked in to day-to-day life as a Next Jumper which enable you to do so. A true meritocracy, where you will get out what you put in.

    Show More

    Cons

    With a lot of responsibility comes downsides. You will need to be ambitious and have true perseverance at times to succeed. Rapidly accelerating your personal and professional development is not always easy (although comes with great reward), but if you're not bought into this development, Next Jump may not be the place for you.

    Next Jump2018-12-06
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The cons far outweigh the pros...

    Cons

    - crazy cult like culture based on fake psychology techniques- they want to break you so they can ‘make you’ - a lot of bully and backstabbing. Be prepared for people to discuss your private matters - crazy working hours for little returns. They expect investment bank hours but won’t pay you for that time. - litter consideration for staff, especially temps - barely any diversity

    Advice to Management

    Please just quite so someone else can run the ship before it sinks.

    Next Jump2018-11-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "With lots of responsibility comes lots of growth, but also stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Jump full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    From Day 1, I have been given a lot of responsibility in my role - much more than at previous workplaces. This has driven my personal and professional development forward tremendously. The big responsibility comes with a transparent and open culture where it is encouraged to share failures and worries as an accelerator for personal growth. There are (bi)weekly coaching and mentoring sessions with senior employees to... get unstuck and upgrade. Benefits are amongst the strongest in the industry (pension, private healthcare, salary, health & wellness). It is a young team that is committed and has fun together, running a solid business and exploring exciting new possibilities in the enterprise market.

    Show More

    Cons

    With lots of responsibility and growth come long working hours and lots of projects to juggle. If this is not for you, then you will not be happy at Next Jump in the long run. Stress is often high and expectations sometimes unrealistic. Processes (technical & HR) would often need to be more robust and rely to much on employees executing well. Transparency on payments and bonuses as well as promotions could... be higher.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Next Jump is a great place to start your career if you are willing to put in strong effort. The company could invest more in making it attractive beyond 3 years of tenure (benefits and professional growth). Management needs to find better balance of appreciating contribution of employees versus always pushing for higher standards.

    Next Jump2018-10-04
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Breakfast was good, but nothing else

    Cons

    Terrible management, cult like work , loads of liars

    Advice to Management

    Get a new team

    Next Jump2018-11-03
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Do not apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Next Jump full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    literally none... maybe just leaving was easy and my experience has taught me what not to become as an employee and colleague

    Cons

    - terrible location, had to often ask homeless people to move to access the front door and twice saw people urinating on the door, if you can't feel safe in your place of work you need to really reassess your job (which is what i did!!) - there is a dire lack of communication between teams, a hierarchy between full-time staff and temp, workplace harassment (email and online chat threads making jokes about the... staff, actively excluding some staff from events and meetings) - the pay is an insult considering the education requirements, you are better off working in retail for better hours and job satisfaction

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - answer your teams emails by EOD, if you can't reply to an internal comms within the day when you are in in office, reconsider your position - don't exclude your staff from meetings and activities based on whether they are full time or temp - don't have work email and slack groups which engage in workplace harassment or bullying - reassess what you want from your staff and engage in some respect to your... new-comers, it isn't difficult to be a nice person

    Show More
    Next Jump2018-07-17
Found 164 reviews