OSTC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

OSTC Reviews

Updated 16 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
OSTC Chief Executive Officer Lee Hodgkinson
Lee Hodgkinson
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Professional yet warm and welcoming work environment, everyone is very friendly and helpful(in 7 reviews)

  • "Invaluable access to real-time trading conditions and the thoughts and experience of successful working traders(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "As can be expected from the long working hours(in 17 reviews)

  • "Some may find the long hours spend in front of multiple screens and seated quite tiring(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work (Back Office Staff - Bromley)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time

    Pros

    One of the best things about OSTC is the people. The company has family feel to it, and all staff are approachable, including the Directors. It's very inclusive with social events planned monthly during the summer. There's an obvious scope to grow and develop within the company, which is actively encouraged, especially if you are motivated to do so. The company are dedicated to employee development, with regular appraisals / goal & development reviews. Salary is very reasonable for the area. The company itself is branching out on different directions, and you feel the enthusiasm, ambition and dedication from the Board, which in turn gives the entire company a positive feeling and belief in the future of OSTC. Overall, I would recommend OSTC as a good place to work.

    Cons

    The lift is still broken after God knows how many years. Good for exercise, but doesn't present a professional first impression of the company. Neither does the facade of the building. Things which i understand are in hand. However, they've been in hand for years, and it doesn't seem to have progressed any further. Another con is the lack of benefits. Salary is reasonable, but I feel more benefits, such a Private Medical / Dental, should be offered to staff.

    Continue reading
    OSTC2019-05-24
  2. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OSTC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Transparency in the company processes Great career opportunities Reciprocal communication structure Work- Home balance

    Cons

    Personally didn't have any

    OSTC2020-02-16
  3. "Great company with enthusiastic employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people love their job! Nice offices, good location.

    Cons

    The company is growing quickly and they are trying to set up the necessary framework to support this but this is a work in progress..

    OSTC2020-02-04
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Extremely Poor Prop Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time

    Pros

    No Pro's at all, do not consider working for this firm. Industry Trading Salary is 3-4 times higher elsewhere in other funds.

    Cons

    This proprietary trading firm is probably one of the worst you could ever get a job at. They aren't even ranked globally as a top firm, the firm thinks they are regarded as a top liquidity provider from exchanges when in fact other firms do the same volume they do in a year in a day. Their entire business model is based on volume rebates from exchanges, they focus on volume rather than profitability and will force volume on its traders if they are close to their targets even encouraging them to loose money to hit their volume targets. The firm has zero expertise on anything fundamental to do with any of it's trading products and OSTC management are extremely poor at trading, the office joke was the MD was an outright gambler, taking on excessive risk and encouraging traders to follow his "style", no proven strategy.

    Continue reading
    OSTC2019-08-23

    OSTC Response

    August 29, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. OSTC values openness and transparency, Glassdoor reviews provide us with clear feedback into trader viewpoints. At OSTC, we pride ourselves on delivering extensive training that covers numerous topics; such as Technical Analysis, Fundamentals, Execution, Risk Management, and Trader Psychology - all of which are applied under the OSTC Trading Model. OSTC is not a fund and doesn’t operate as such. In fact, it is one of the very few proprietary trading companies that offer a basic salary. We believe that this, combined with the fact we fund trader’s accounts and provide extensive training, shows OSTC’s commitment to investing in our employees. Volume and profit targets are ever-present in our performance-driven environment. Our experience has shown that our most successful traders have followed similar growth trajectories, thus allowing us to measure new trader performance. Profitability is always the key target for all traders. We like to maintain an open channel of communication in Swansea. Joel Hemmings, Senior Office Manager, and I are always on hand to provide support and answer any queries. Once again, thank you for your review and please come and chat to us if you wish you discuss matters further. Kind regards, Ryan Orton Managing Director for Swansea

    Continue reading
  5. "Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OSTC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to earn good money

    Cons

    Long working hours, long learning curve

    OSTC2018-11-08
  6. "Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ongoing salary provided, even during initial training (when you're not trading live)

    Cons

    Long learning curve means you have to be resilient

    Continue reading
    OSTC2018-09-10
  7. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flat hierarchies, learning opportunities, lovely office, focus on inclusion and tracking diversity as a measure of success, open and supportive company culture, work-life balance.

    Cons

    not working lift and the entrance which is far away from welcoming

    Continue reading
    OSTC2018-08-07
  8. "Life at OSTC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time

    Pros

    Good communication between senior management and employees. It's easy to talk to anyone on the Board and/or the CEO. It's a very enterprising company and there are good opportunities for motivated people.

    Cons

    It's a medium sized company, with the constraints that medium sized companies naturally have. It's not really a big issue though. There is lots of scope to prove your worth.

    OSTC2018-06-15
  9. "Growth Informative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist/Office Administrator in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    OSTC has been the best company I have ever worked for. The management team are amazing making me feel valued in every way possible. Working at OSTC has given me opportunities to develop my skills and responsibilities making my job more exciting and enjoyable as the years go by. Working at OSTC has had a massive impact on my like professionally and personally 10/10 from me!!

    Cons

    The lift to doesn't work! Long way up to the 3rd floor!

    Continue reading
    OSTC2018-06-15
  10. "Lifetime opprtunity and company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time

    Pros

    Culture, organisation, talent management, top-notch executive team, flat hierarchy, working environment, creativity, career progression, Bromley location,pay

    Cons

    location is not London city but I have put that as a Pro as it is personal preference. otherwise, no Cons

    Continue reading
    OSTC2018-06-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 108 reviews
</>Embed