Opower Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Opower Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Opower CEO Daniel Yates
Daniel Yates
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "I know I have the support of some very smart people and I can see my career growth potential here(in 21 reviews)

  • "Competitive salaries, with many of the west coast perks you see in the HBO show, Silicon Valley (free massages, Friday lunch, etc)(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Though things settled down a bit post-IPO, I'd still say work/life balance is tough at Opower(in 14 reviews)

  • "Everyone's main complaint is the lack of a 401k match(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "A company that ENGAGES.. Addictive!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart people... I've been working in Intel and Oracle before and the professional level in Opower is even higher. In addition you really feel valued and the management is really helpful. By the way, it's the first time that I enjoy working for a company and I don't mind answering emails on the weekend... Dan and Alex got it! :) When you feel that you are working for a nice company with nice people around and you... are decreasing the climate change... What else can you ask for??? :) I would like to add that even the brand is amazing. We have some goodies that are really nice and Opower is now a real brand with some marketing that is awesome!

    Show More

    Cons

    There are two tiny issues I would complain for... First, there are a lot of internal reviews in a bad moment of the year. Second, the goodies that are sent to the offices out of the States are really poor... We don't get the good ones! ;)

    Advice to Management

    Send more goodies to Europe! And now seriously, please book the review times more wisely :)

    Opower2014-07-31
  2. "Once upon a time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opower full-time

    Pros

    great people; free Friday lunch; good swag

    Cons

    management direction unclear; products not ready for a competitive market

    Opower2018-03-22
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Friendly appearance, cut-throat reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Intellectually rewarding job for a great cause

    Cons

    Appalling management, cliquey culture. Tangible achievements are not recognized.

    Opower2014-03-27
  4. "Good people, good mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success 

    I worked at Opower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great people who care passionately about energy efficiency. -Good medical benefits and leave policy once you hit manager or above

    Cons

    -your happiness will depend heavily on which team you get staffed on. There are some highly under-resourced teams that result in frustration and burn-out among employees.

    Opower2019-09-03
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent starting pay. Experience working on interesting projects. Mostly smart and fun people to work with. Good benefits (flex time, work from home, unlimited PTO for managers).

    Cons

    Tons of people still leaving and morale is low. Oracle is slow to replace or not replacing all the people who left so every one is overworked. Very slow and inefficient processes. Managers are clueless about what's happening in the trenches. Lack of consistent performance reviews and feedback. No raises or incentives. No growth for more experienced people. Oracle killed the Opower culture and now it's like working... in 90s corporate America. Too many meetings and power points filled with buzzwords. Products and internal tools are buggy and lack continued innovation. Politics and favoritism at higher levels and lack of diversity in senior management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What made Opower special was its employees and culture and you neglected both and wonder why the company is in decline. If you want to save the sinking ship then focus inward on what's wrong instead of hiring an army of salespeople to make up for lost sales/revenue.

    Opower2019-03-30
  6. "Smart People, Interesting Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I worked at Opower I felt like I was surrounded by smart people. Most engineers were very competent and very engaged in their jobs.

    Cons

    The pace of change at Opower was glacial. It took a long time to release new products, and the company was large enough (even before being acquired by Oracle) that I didn't feel empowered to change the organization. I was frustrated by the review and promotion process. My boss agreed that I met all the documented points to be promoted to the next level of engineer, but I had to wait a further two more review... rounds to receive the promotion. This was my reason for leaving.

    Show More
    Opower2019-03-20
  7. "A great company with a great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyone was friendly to work with. Surprisingly well run as a company.

    Cons

    Not sure how their culture has changed after being acquired by Oracle. Betting it was for the worse.

    Opower2018-08-31
  8. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opower full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful, wonderful mission! Young staff. Lots of energy.

    Cons

    Because of the youth, there is a lack of seasoned veterans with real business acumen.

    Opower2018-09-05
  9. "Used to be great until Oracle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opower

    Pros

    Environment-focused. Intelligent & hard-working co-workers.

    Cons

    Opower's mission was lost the moment the acquisition was announced. People left in droves as the company they knew changed before their eyes. In the beginning, upper management assured employees things would not change outside of the company name and a few leaders, but entire workflows changed, orgs disbanded, and benefits slashed.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget where it all started and what Opower stood for.

    Opower2018-02-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Opower full-time

    Pros

    Opower (now a part of Oracle) is an exciting place to work if you care about energy, the environment and technology. In a verrrryyyyy slow moving vertical (the utility industry), Opower is one of the most nimble companies working at scale.

    Cons

    The utility industry has built (or has had built for it) incredibly robust, but customized, on premise applications to run their operations, and moving those applications into the cloud in the form of configurable SaaS applications is a long and painful process.

    Advice to Management

    The Oracle leadership is strong in some areas, weak in others, but thematically unified in it's almost total inability to "get" the culture of Opower, or frankly any new software startup.

    Opower2018-01-16
Found 178 reviews