Post Office Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Post Office Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 255 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Post Office CEO Paula Vennells
Paula Vennells
115 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, flexible working conditions and nice people(in 18 reviews)

  • "Working hours are very flexible and easy to manage(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Look after their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Post Office full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Look after their staff well

    Cons

    Nothing bad to comment n

    Post Office2019-03-13
  2. "Post Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Post Office Clerk in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Post Office part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and good conditions

    Cons

    Job security is not great

    Post Office2019-09-05
  3. "hr grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources Grad 

    I worked at Post Office full-time

    Pros

    nice company goo atmosphere nice colleagues

    Cons

    far from home- commute was tiring

    Post Office2019-08-27
  4. "It's an end of an era"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Post Office Clerk in Maidstone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Post Office part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The customers and staff are lovely.

    Cons

    They're a being closed down.

    Advice to Management

    Bad mistake closing the crown's and loosing all the well trained staff.

    Post Office2019-09-03
  5. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Post Master 

    I have been working at Post Office full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good management Ok hours Nice place

    Cons

    Long hours Poor pay Weekends work Poor feed back

    Post Office2019-08-21
  6. "Interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Till Worker in Pontypool, Wales

    I have been working at Post Office part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Varied work load. Customer interaction.

    Cons

    Alot of responsibility with alot of money.

    Post Office2019-08-03
  7. "Good within the crown network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Post Office full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and holiday entitlement. Good support from line management. Always busy and a base of regular customers.

    Cons

    Very uncertain, I was made redundant and although I received a fair redundancy package, there was no support or help to find employment elsewhere in the business. Some of the training was very unorganised - I started a people management course through the business which seemed to end abruptly, never to be spoken about again. I also felt the unions representing employees made things difficult for me as a manager.... Certain employees had the attitude - you can’t make me do something I don’t want to do or I’ll get the union involved. I was regularly threatened with union intervention when asking employees to do fair and straightforward tasks. The most frustrating thing with the unions was losses. Towards the end of my employment, the union stopped line managers from pursuing colleagues that had lost money/currency/stock. This was great for employees as they could make mistakes with no repercussions, but for me it meant I would lose a percentage of my bonus. It felt like the customer service advisors had lots of backing, but you were on your own as a manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    With the volume of redundancy’s happening within the business, there should be an organised plan to help ALL staff through the process. Look into how the unions work as my job was made 10 x harder even though I always treated my staff fairly and with respect.

    Post Office2019-07-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Very poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Post Office

    Pros

    Some really great people, friendly and dedicated Good pay and sickness benefits Well-loved brand, a company to be proud of working for

    Cons

    Poor decision making from some very senior managers You’ll struggle to reach management levels if you’re black or Asian Lacks inspirational leadership at the top

    Advice to Management

    Hire inspirational leaders or better still, promote from within!

    Post Office2019-07-25
  9. "Information Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Compliance Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Post Office full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very project and client-oriented job

    Cons

    do not have a chance for improvement

    Post Office2019-07-09
  10. "Nice for a part-time job, however I would not recommend full-time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Post Office part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    (To clarify, I worked in a sub Post Office, so the store was split into halves, the other half being a newsagent desk, where I worked) - The staff were very friendly and welcoming when I first started - My hours were good - Good workplace and you are kept busy (except when it is very quiet)

    Cons

    - At times it could get very busy and customers would get annoyed - Lack of staff - When it was too quiet there was nothing else to do - I was 17-18 when I worked there and my pay did not increase. Therefore I was working below minimum age for a few months

    Post Office2019-07-22
Found 255 reviews