Premera Blue Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Premera Blue Cross Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 522 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Jeff Roe
200 Ratings
Pros
  • "Growth opportunity and good work/life balance(in 89 reviews)

  • "High connection to company purpose; good benefits; transforming its business and culture to drive a lot of value for healthcare(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "Middle management can be micromanagers and not great leaders, but the upper management is excellent(in 23 reviews)

  • "Flexibility, Work Life Balance, Advancement(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ok company to work for i liked it

    Cons

    none really it was ok there

    Advice to Management

    none

    Premera Blue Cross2018-07-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

      I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Decent health insurance, not great

      Cons

      Poor management, stressful micro managing

      Advice to Management

      Appreciate your employees

      Premera Blue Cross2018-03-10

      Premera Blue Cross Response

      April 10, 2018Vice President, Customer Service

      Our employees are our greatest asset and we’re committed to providing an environment that allows them to do their best work. Based on your feedback, I am disappointed to learn that was not your experience. While we are making progress, employee engagement will continue to be a focus ...

      Show More
    • "Projects at Premera"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT Senior Project Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Slow pace of change, good work life balance, compassionate leadership

      Cons

      Slow pace of change/innovation, unaligned direction, multiple competing priorities slow pace of delivery and innovation

      Advice to Management

      Pick 5 things that you want to focus on for the year and deliver those

      Premera Blue Cross2019-05-23
    • "Customer driven"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Quality Documentation Team Lead in Mountlake Terrace, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Never boring innovative thinking

      Cons

      Many departments work in silos

      Premera Blue Cross2019-04-27
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great place to work, not a lot of growth opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Spokane, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Super fun team, feels like family. Awesome benefits and health coverage. Pay is much better than minimum wage.

      Cons

      There isn't a lot of opportunity for moving up, you have to really do you time on the phones and wait for something to open up, then basically compete for it.

      Advice to Management

      Find more opportunities for growth. Give people more chances to be loaned to other departments. Also, make more time for people on the phones to participate in things.

      Premera Blue Cross2019-03-28
    • "A great place for a career!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader in Mountlake Terrace, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Premera has a variety of departments that a person can spend their entire career exploring and moving throughout the company so that they can enlarge their portfolio and grow to their potential. I appreciate Premera’s commitment to the human resources that are in the company and to the value that they bring.

      Cons

      Health insurance is facing a tumultuous time. This company is trying to navigate through it and all employees need to be on board. I still see many employees feeling entitled and that for some reason the company owes them something. These employees need to be on the same page and work together to ensure the long term success of the company.

      Advice to Management

      Be consistent in the message and stay on the same course. There are employees that agree with you and are behind you all the way.

      Premera Blue Cross2019-04-04
    • "Customer Service Rep"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Csr1 in Spokane, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I found that no one steps on you to get ahead.

      Cons

      They had a 6 week crash course, which is so minimal for the massive amount of things you have to remember. It's like high school there - you're either in the click or you're out! My supervisors picked favorites and it was clear who they liked. We were thrown on the phones and barley knew anything but they didn't care. It was a daily occasion for my supervisor would tell me to "google it". All around it's an incredibly...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Break up the hen house TSS' and get someone in there that actually helps people learn. Try taking supervisor calls instead of making the CSR take their own sup call.

      Premera Blue Cross2019-04-16
    • "Premera"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Lead III 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Senior leadership has a great vision for where they want to take the company

      Cons

      Many of the long term mid level leadership have not bought into the vision

      Advice to Management

      Continue to focus on the customer.

      Premera Blue Cross2019-03-14
    • "Great and work from home"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

        I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time

        Pros

        Work from home and great benefits

        Cons

        Not much advancement and very busy call center

        Premera Blue Cross2019-03-04
      • Helpful (7)

        "Do not work here"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Digital 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Tons of potential in a stagnant industry ripe for radical change

        Cons

        Dysfunctional at all levels with no action or intention to change

        Premera Blue Cross2019-03-05
      Found 522 reviews