Priceline.com Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Priceline.com Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
71%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Priceline.com CEO Brett Keller (no image)
Brett Keller
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Much better work/life balance than previous companies where I was responding to email all weekend long(in 37 reviews)

  • "My experience working at Priceline has been nothing but positive(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Priceline has a long way to go to return to its glory days(in 12 reviews)

  • "Unless you are in the good graces with the upper management, your voice is not heard(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Norwalk, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Priceline.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and great people. You will enjoy coming into work everyday.

    Cons

    None. Great company values and culture.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Priceline.com2019-11-13
  2. "Not a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Priceline.com full-time

    Pros

    Fun holiday parties, some kind people

    Cons

    No clear strategy and frequent changes in direction from management makes it difficult to feel invested in anything. Not a great environment for women. CEO is the world's worst micromanager.

    Priceline.com2019-11-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No technical growth And Too much politics inside company which reflects on young developers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Priceline.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing except that you get good amount of time to study for your dream job

    Cons

    Too much politics no encouragement towards tech development pays less compared to that of other companies

    Priceline.com2019-10-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Apply for your next job at Priceline !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My experience working at Priceline has been nothing but positive. As a new hire, everyone has been welcoming. Collaboration across technology teams is encouraged and always welcomed, which contributes to the positive culture. Work/life balance is great. The flexibility to work from home when needed is a huge plus that other companies I worked for did not really allow. Product managers and team leads genuinely care... about your well-being and stress levels, and make an effort to ensure things are going well. Engineers are encouraged to attend tech talks and conferences to further our knowledge and to remain relevant and up-to-date in the industry. The CEO and other members of the leadership team are open to, and provide many opportunities for us to share ideas and thoughts on how things are going. Mobility within the company is also encouraged. Our managers and higher ups want us to be learning every day and to have fun while also making a meaningful impact. Bonus: snacks are a plus and are always stocked :D

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of at the moment.

    Priceline.com2019-09-11
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Best place I've ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Priceline values the talent that I bring to the team, and entrusts me to get the job done. I split my time between NY and CT offices, and they both have a very laid back feel. Some people stay late and continue working, cause I guess they just love their job that much. Salary is on the top end for the industry, and what else would you expect? It's on the higher end on the Fortune 500, and they have delivered... bonuses to employees without fail for 20+ years. The Norwalk location is located at beautiful 800 Connecticut Ave, which offers an impressive array of amenities, such as a fitness center, dry cleaning, and a full cafeteria (including a grill).

    Show More

    Cons

    At the moment, I honestly can't think of any, as biased as that sounds. I'm happy with my schedule, my work to life balance, and the career path that has been laid out for me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Priceline.com2019-08-15
  6. Helpful (7)

    "No Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good if you are looking for a relaxing job

    Cons

    If you are innovative, there will be 100 human road blocks along your path, Sooner or later you will stop thinking ideas and just follow their rules, to keep your job, and basically just do 1+2 = 3, everyday, or sometimes 10* 15 = 150

    Advice to Management

    Hire better leaders

    Priceline.com2019-09-20
  7. "Work from home position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Priceline.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great schedule options and flexibility Easy to hit metrics Great management

    Cons

    You don't work for them directly, but through a third party company No benefits No discounts

    Priceline.com2019-08-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Kind of a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Site Reliability Engineer 

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, decent benefits, growing tech stack

    Cons

    Re-orgs are common, lack of accountability among the different teams in technology

    Priceline.com2019-08-15
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company and friendly people.

    Cons

    No snacks in Connecticut office.

    Priceline.com2019-07-31
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Good workplace, but the place needs some work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com

    Pros

    Mostly great people, fun events, challenging work. The transparency from leadership is refreshing, and constructive criticism is encouraged at all levels. Company culture is important.

    Cons

    Lack of communication between product and marketing teams. This creates a feeling that we are not all working as a team, but all have different agendas and compete against each other. Way too many meetings, and meetings that last too long. Much like I pointed out above, communication is essential whether it be between different teams within the same department or different departments, but there is a point in... which the amount of time spent in meetings can be detrimental to workload, work-life balance, and morale. The Design Team is in shambles which is most likely a temporary status, but they seem to be overwhelmed even when fully staffed and without a stable process in place in terms of working with different teams. We seem to be taking on too many new projects before perfecting old ones.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unite product and marketing departments. How can the goal of collaboration between the different entities under the Booking umbrella be achieved if it can’t even be achieved on an internal basis? CUT DOWN MEETINGS. Communication is key, especially when trying to get different departments on the same page, but sometimes it’s not necessary to pull everyone away from their daily tasks for an hour a week or a few hours... each quarter just to have a catch up. Help the Design Team. Fully staff this team, and create SLAs between a fully staffed design team and other teams that utilize the Design Team on a regular basis. Finish what you start. International expansion is excellent and necessary, but let’s perfect what we have been working on first so we can bring that knowledge with us into the international space

    Show More
    Priceline.com2019-07-02
Found 175 reviews