R&D Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

R&D Systems Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Charles Kummeth
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is a pleasure to represent R&D Systems, a revered supplier of proteins, antibodies and immunoassays(in 8 reviews)

  • "Currently, there is good health coverage in place in comparison to most companies (although employee cost has gone up a bit in the last year)(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of changes since the new CEO(in 7 reviews)

  • "They are grateful that we are still R&D Systems and that we have not been gobbled up by a big company(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at R&D Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, hours, building, social room, gossip

    Cons

    Pay, coffee, tee, food, canteen

    Advice to Management

    Pay more.

    R&D Systems2018-01-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Management unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Littleton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at R&D Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, doesn’t track vacation, most people are nice

    Cons

    Director took credit for work completed by their employees and ridiculed employee for speaking up for their work/credit, marketing management cared more about going to next conference and getting drunk, no training or guidance for your role as an employee, management has no real world experience for the department they are leading, in Littleton office there was dog vomit and feces from the CEOs dog that was never cleaned...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire directors and management level that I have actual real world experience instead of recruiting people from within but I’ve never worked outside of your company. Hire a marketing team that has actual experience instead of burnt out lab employees. Have some management training where you teach your leader ship how to treat employees and how to actually be a leader.

    R&D Systems2019-01-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "QA Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at R&D Systems full-time

      Pros

      Good people to work with.

      Cons

      Low salary compared with others.

      R&D Systems2018-09-22
    • "Healthcare cost increases outpaces raises"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at R&D Systems full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      This company had some amazing people. There is an effort underway to change the culture and management is trying to make it a more fun place to work.

      Cons

      Raises are low and many positions are underpaid. Also extremely hard to move up. Many of our researchers have second jobs to make ends meet.

      Advice to Management

      We have huge margins on our products and have incredible people, compensate them fairly so they don't leave.

      R&D Systems2018-08-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Never going back."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at R&D Systems full-time

        Pros

        2/3 of my coworkers were amazing people.

        Cons

        Incredibly dysfunctional environment. Stagnant wages. They will work you to death. Run.

        R&D Systems2018-06-18
      • Helpful (3)

        ""We aren't required to give you vacation" -HR"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at R&D Systems full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        My close coworkers are skilled, knowledgeable and funny. They make it a decent place to work.

        Cons

        "We aren't required to give you vacation" is the first thing HR said at a recent meeting about changes being made to the time off policy. Upper management continuously chips away at perks and keeps saying we should be grateful for any little thing they still do for employees. Income disparity between top and bottom is on par with the national average.

        Advice to Management

        Take better care of the employees that keep the company alive instead of being the union that protects the share holders. Listen to the underlings that actually know how things operate. Stop wasting time and money on EPIC, its a transparent waste to raise morale but it doesn't.

        R&D Systems2017-11-08
      • Helpful (6)

        "Worker ant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Negative Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at R&D Systems full-time

          Pros

          Pay is adequate, if you want to live in the slums

          Cons

          There are too many to list

          Advice to Management

          GET A CLUE!

          R&D Systems2017-06-30
        • Helpful (2)

          "It's decent"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Production Associate in Minneapolis, MN
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I have been working at R&D Systems full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          there are a decent amount of entry level jobs that pay a good amount. Plenty of opportunities to move "up"/switch departments. Lots of events that help boost employee morale.

          Cons

          certain departments are not given the time/budget to have enough workers. Supervisors don't have enough time to prepare for mid-year and end of year reviews. Communication with supervisors and other divisions of the company are minimal. not much of a learning atmosphere. New employees sometimes have a difficult time adjusting, and learning.

          Advice to Management

          make more effort to communicate with people you supervise. Initiate a working relationship so employees know who you are and what you do in relation to their job. Communicate more often when employees are doing well or when they are not doing well.

          R&D Systems2017-04-21
        • "getting better, but still ways to go"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - RA III in Minneapolis, MN
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at R&D Systems full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          great co-workers, great flexibility in work hours, Management is improving - improving communication between groups/departments

          Cons

          raises are not very much - and not based on quality of work. Health care plan used to be great, and compensated for lower pay, but that is changing also. Not much ability to grow

          Advice to Management

          Pay employees better for their hard work (better raises, especially if healthcare insurance is going to increase) - increase budgets for better equipment. Work on better communication between management and employees.

          R&D Systems2017-04-19
        • "R&D Systems - a highly valued supplier and great place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Technical Sales Consultant in Cambridge, MA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at R&D Systems full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          It is a pleasure to represent R&D Systems, a revered supplier of proteins, antibodies and immunoassays. It is easy to sell high-quality products, backed by outstanding technical support and customer service. I enjoy selling our products in bulk and our custom development and testing services. The field sales organization is new to the company, assembled 4 years ago. The team is comprised of veteran reps from...

          Show More

          Cons

          The launch of the new ERP system last year was challenging for our customer service and shipping departments. It was difficult and stressful for our customers as shipments were delayed. I admired how members of other departments (tech support & marketing) stepped up to assist customer service with order entry. It took a few months to get the new system up and running. The name change is still somewhat confusing to...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          The scientists that built our product portfolio over the past 30 years deserve an EPIC appreciation and awards celebration. The research community around the world is grateful for your contribution to discovery. As we acquire additional companies, we need to work on promoting and marketing Bio-Techne as a whole. We should include reps from the different "brands" at our sales meetings. Need to better promote our BTS...

          Show More
          R&D Systems2017-03-22
        Found 64 reviews