Reward Gateway Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Reward Gateway Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Reward Gateway CEO Doug Butler
Doug Butler
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've been at RG for longer than I thought I would be(in 36 reviews)

  • "Reward Gateway is a genuinely cracking place to work(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "there seems to be no quiet period at RG(in 30 reviews)

  • "There are very few downsides to working at Reward Gateway(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "People centric organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Enterprise SDR in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reward Gateway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working is a big thing for me and I love how RG supports this. Another big pro, if not the biggest pro for me is the fact RG is invested in you as an individual. Really like how connected teams can feel and certainly something we've worked on of late, and you're given all the tools to succeed. Bring your dog to work days, absolute winner, love bringing my pooch in! Weekly update from the CEO on business news, people changes and light hearted fun. Also the ability to be able to ask the leadership team and question by using our speak up button, which is also one of our values.

    Cons

    My con is actually also a pro. Because RG is such a great place to work, if you were to come straight out of Uni into an organisation like RG and then leave, you would find it soooo hard to find another organisation like RG with your expectation being so high.

    Continue reading
    Reward Gateway2019-09-17

    Reward Gateway Response

    September 24, 2019

    Hi, it's Doug here. What an encouraging review. Thank you for sharing. As you might have seen I was just writing in my blog this week about how much I support and encourage flexible working and the concept of never missing an important life event. I am happy that our objectives are being realized by our people. We will, as you suggest, keep doing what we're doing as I hope you will continue to Speak Up about the positives as well as where we can improve. Thank you again.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Outstanding Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Engagement Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reward Gateway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have just completed my first 2 weeks with RG, having joined from a competitor. The difference from where I have been is night and day! RG have an amazing culture whereby people are working together as one team, with leadership all as one and all aligned to achieving great results. We are here to help make the World a better place to work and at RG this is being lived out every day. The working environment is first class, we have very talented and inspiring people and our solutions are the best I have seen in the reward and recognition space.

    Cons

    Seriously, there are no cons I have experienced.

    Continue reading
    Reward Gateway2019-07-29

    Reward Gateway Response

    July 30, 2019

    Hi, it's Doug here. Thank you for your review. Since you have only been with us for 2 weeks I will consider this a review of our onboarding and first impressions, but I am thrilled that so far we have lived up to expectations. You have joined us at a dynamic time in our business in the UK, and been able to experience some of our finer traditions including boom!Fest. You have witnessed our commitment to Speaking Up and to open and honest communications, and it will depend on you and the rest of your new colleagues to maintain that tradition. I hope your RG experience continues to be a positive one. Cheers!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reward Gateway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High trust environment - you are treated like an adult and expected to deliver your work. No micromanagement or arbitary policies. Leadership Team are open and honest - almost unique in my experience! No 'jobsworths' - all colleagues are unified around a central mission which means cooperation across teams is easy and without issue. Very flexible working environment, great offices, benefits are astounding. Work/life balance is much better than anywhere else i've worked Lots of internal coaching, development Customer satisfaction comes first, which means you can be proud of what you do and deliver at RG.

    Cons

    My friends think i'm lying when i talk about what it's like to work at RG and i have to keep quiet when people complain about their employers.

    Reward Gateway2019-07-25

    Reward Gateway Response

    July 30, 2019

    Hi, it’s Doug here. That is a very nice review and thank you for submitting your thoughts. I think if there is a theme here it is that we trust and empower our people, and you are clearly feeling that in your day to day life at RG. We are not perfect and we will continue to challenge ourselves to be better, but with our emphasis on speaking up and our commitment to open and honest communication our people (like you) will help us develop and remain an employer of choice. I am thrilled that you are having a good experience with RG and I hope we continue to help you love your job.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "People said it was a good place to start... turns out I made a career here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reward Gateway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've been at RG for longer than I thought I would be. I reflect back on the opportunities and growth it has offered me and by being someone who is willing to push my boundaries, own it and speak up I sometimes have to stop and take a moment to realise just how far I've come. It's a completely different business to when I started many moons ago but one thing has remained constant throughout and that's the way it's been able to challenge, engage and offer me constant growth in an environment that's safe for me to experiment, fail and go about things in a way that lets me put my own flair and creativity into what could be considered the most mundane of tasks. Open and Honest Environment. Challenging Roles. Fast Paced. Well Connected teams. Direction and Clarity Through Weekly Leadership Team Updates. Level Up programme for Mental Health is really amazing. My favourite benefit is having up to 45 days annual leave which allows me to travel as I'd always hoped. I like that you can be yourself. You can voice opinions. You can be yourself. You can wear whatever you like and no one will judge you for it. Exciting things on the horizon for Product. Part of my role is external facing and it always brings me a lot of joy sharing the unique way our product is "revolutionising" communications as one customer put it. They'll refer to it as the Digital Social Workspace of the future - which is super cool! You will make friends for life here. Even when they leave. RG was my first job when I moved to London and it's given me much more than just a career. Travel - I've been all over with this company - USA, Australia, Bulgaria, Austria, Germany, Romania... soon to be heading to Australia again.

    Cons

    Working across 4 different timezones is hugely challenging and sometimes means late calls or early mornings to be able to connect with our global teams. Learning to say no. It can be too easy to slip into wanting to please FAR TOO MANY PEOPLE. You need to be good at managing your time and prioritising otherwise you might just pop! There is no downtime. Some businesses might be quieter over a certain period... there seems to be no quiet period at RG. There is a lot of very innovative and incredibly well-designed product innovations waiting to be developed. I have seen them and I want to use them now. There seems to be a queue to get the work done and it would be great to see things moving faster... I know good things come to those who wait but please see what can be done to make these great workings in action!

    Continue reading
    Reward Gateway2019-06-18

    Reward Gateway Response

    June 21, 2019

    Hi It’s Doug here. Wow! What a thoughtful and generous endorsement of the business. I enjoy hearing of people finding fulfillment in their roles, and in their lives from their experience with Reward Gateway. Well done you for taking advantage of and enjoying the annual leave allowance that we provide. As your note indicates we move quickly at Reward Gateway and if our teams are to keep up it is important that they maintain balance and enjoy the benefits of their work outside of the office. I also take your point about innovation and the pace of improvements. Balancing resources and investment in a profitable business like RG is a high quality challenge, but we try to keep our values (including Delight the Customer) and our Mission (to Make the World a Better Place to Work) as our guide. Finally, I appreciate the encouragement of and request for more non-CEO communications. As you point out everyone is stretched with day-to-day responsibilities, but I agree that employee communications must be prioritized by all of us. As Rob Boland would say “that’s a good shout”. Thanks again for your generous comments. I hope that your RG journey continues to be a positive one, and that you will continue to Speak Up about the good things and the things that can be improved upon. Cheers!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "RG through the eyes of a new starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Reward Gateway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've started working for RG 3 weeks ago and I can honestly say I'm blown away by the experience so far. This company genuinely cares about its employees and is constantly looking for ways to improve on every level you can think of. I felt part of the family since day one and was given all the support I needed to be successful, which motivated me a lot. This company's culture is everything you've dreamed of, so I'd strongly recommend to check out the careers page if you're looking for a job.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of right now. And it's not because of the excitement of starting a new job!

    Reward Gateway2019-05-02

    Reward Gateway Response

    May 4, 2019

    Hi, it’s Doug here. Wow! That’s exciting that your first few weeks have been so rewarding. Ironically, I have been recently focused on reviewing our onboarding practices to make sure our new RG folks begin their experience with us in a positive way. Clearly, we have done something right with you early on. I truly appreciate your review and hope that you continue to live our Speak Up value around the good things and the bad. We want to be better, and as you know we want RG (and the world) to be a better place to work. Cheers!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reward Gateway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic team culture Best boss ever Leadership team are excellent Great office (especially the office manager) Amazing benefits offering Good salary Open and honest culture - was never afraid to speak up

    Cons

    The culture has changed as the business has grown - can be a bit disjointed and cliquey at times Tough progression internally - not all roles have a clear path in front of them Seen an increase of the amount of red tape over the last year or so

    Continue reading
    Reward Gateway2019-01-21

    Reward Gateway Response

    January 29, 2019

    Hi it’s Doug here. First of I’m sorry for the late reply. We didn’t receive an alert on your review, but I am happy to respond now. You’ve said mostly very positive things and I am grateful, but mostly pleased that your experience with Reward Gateway was so positive for as long as we were lucky enough to have you. I’ve been observing the culture shifts as closely as I can and while I expect some evolution with growth and business change, I agree that we need to be vigilant on negative influences like cliquey behavior you’ve referenced. As for processes and procedures that is an area we have invested in lately including additional security personnel and systems, and our new CFO Elli will be tackling some of our growth related issues as well. Thank you so much for speaking up. We’ll keep working hard to make Reward Gateway the great place to work that it appears to have been for you. Best of luck in your new endeavors.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "A wonderful first year at a wonderful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reward Gateway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's very easy for anyone to say that they love their job, especially when they are getting paid, but I think it's really difficult to be able to genuinely mean it. I've always described myself as a kind of 'dogs trust' employee, in the sense that I felt I had been massively mistreated in the past, and my interest in working at Reward Gateway came not only due to the desire to help other people in my situation, but to create a better working life for myself. In the year that I've worked here so far, I've made over a hundred genuine friends internally, and worked hard to develop genuine friendships with the people I work with outside of the business too. It's not everyday that you can say that you go home and have had the best day ever, because occasionally life is hard. But being surrounded by work that stimulates and excites you, having managers and seniors that genuinely care about your goals and your wellbeing and can have a laugh whilst doing it, makes it ever so much easier for those kind of days to happen. There is no way that I can thank the company enough for giving me a voice, and allowing me to become more confident both inside and outside of my career, but the least I can do is leave a review that has come completely from my heart. Reward Gateway is a great business, there are many great businesses in the world that's for sure. But it's also a company that genuinely cares about the people that make the magic happen, and that doesn't come around that often. Thank you.

    Cons

    Occasionally the workload can be a little much, but that's the price to pay for success in any career path.

    Reward Gateway2018-10-17

    Reward Gateway Response

    October 23, 2018

    Hi it’s Doug here. Wow! What can I say to that other than I am thrilled and genuinely moved by your positive comments. As you know Reward Gateway does value its employees, and seeks to achieve its Mission of making the world a better place to work both in our own company, and for our clients. Clearly we are succeeding with you, and your experience with us reflects why we do what we do, and in the manner in which we do it. I hope year 2 (and 3 and 4 and beyond) are as fulfilling and rewarding as the first, and if you’re working too hard, well, use some of your 8 weeks of vacation allowance and recharge. Thank you again for your kind words, and be sure to Speak Up on areas where we can improve. Cheers

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Moslty awesome but maybe a stop-gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reward Gateway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Generally, people are genuine and really friendly - The culture is very laid-back - The product is nice and clients seem to like it - Nice perks like £40 lunch allowance at the subsidised cafe, (somewhat) flexible working, dogs in the office, good holiday, wellbeing allowance, casual dress, etc. - Apple macs and nice soap in the bathrooms, as well as a nice office space - Overall a great place to work, but more as a stepping stone than a life partner.

    Cons

    - Pay really isn't the industry average for most people. It seems like the odd person is happy with their pay, but it's a very widely shared sentiment - Leadership and management is extremely inconsistent and your working life can vary drastically depending on who you're managed by - Sometimes people stick around with stunted pay and potential because they fear RG is the panacea. That's what turns RG into a bit of a cult and stunts peoples own development - A really bad culture of not developing people properly

    Continue reading
    Reward Gateway2018-08-30

    Reward Gateway Response

    August 31, 2018

    Hi, it’s Doug here. As always thank you for your review. I will start my reply by saying that it’s OK to view RG as a “stopgap”, or a “stepping stone” and I would never encourage someone to stay if they did not Love their Job. I believe it is our job is to create conditions for you and your colleagues to do your best work in support of achieving our Mission, but when we can no longer meet your needs whether they be pay and/or career development then it’s OK to part as friends. There are items in your review that we can improve, and there are things that I simply must reject. As you know management training has been an emphasis for Rob Hicks and the People Team and we have invested considerably more in that and other career development training in 2018 and more is budgeted for 2019. In fact, the UK Management Development Program is set to launch in September. While every manager should have their own personality, methods, and skills we will provide training to create some level of consistency in leadership, and our emphasis on our Values also sets pretty clear guidelines for how people are meant to work and manage. If managers or others are not living to our values I hope that our focus on open and honest communications will help us recognize and address such shortcomings in the future. On pay, I can only repeat what I’ve said in the past. We will never be the highest paying company and we will never be the lowest paying, but we will always be fair and prioritize our people investments in the individuals and areas of the business that gives us the best chance to be successful in our Mission. I also think a salary cannot be viewed by itself. We give ownership to every employee, invest in a wide range of generous benefits and workspace for all, provide flexible working for most and generally try to create an atmosphere where people can thrive. I absolutely reject your use of the word “cult”, however, as it is both derogatory to the business and our people. I won’t apologize for trying to make RG a better place to work, and I have faith in the intelligence and abilities of our people to determine whether RG is best for them and their circumstances. Finally, RG is not a startup anymore, but we are not laid back either and we remain nimble in decision-making, bold in our innovation and ambitious in our objectives. There is a lot of passion and talent in our people and we will continue to invest as much as we can in all of you. If RG is a stopgap for you then I only ask that you make a contribution to the business while you are here, and we, in turn, will do what we can to help you Love your Job and to develop your skills. Maybe (and I hope) you will change your mind. Cheers and thank you again. Doug

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "OK Company - Not all bad, but not all perfect either"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reward Gateway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice to get discounts at high street shops. Nice people. Fun parties on occasion.

    Cons

    Never really felt like management were listening to you. (Ironic that they seem to add such long responses to all of the reviews I can see below).

    Continue reading
    Reward Gateway2018-08-29

    Reward Gateway Response

    August 30, 2018

    Hi, its Doug here. Thanks for your review. Since our Mission is to Make the World a Better Place to Work and not to make the world a place to work that's "not all bad" I m sorry that your experience with RG was less than fulfilling. I agree with your assessment that RG is not "all perfect" and we constantly challenge ourselves to be better, but I am really surprised that the extent of your 3 plus years at RG can be summed up with useful discounts, nice people and sometimes fun parties. You know that one of our core values is Love your Job and none of those things sound sufficient for this value so clearly, you needed a change. RG is so much more than our benefits (which are significant), our parties and even our nice people (and yes we do have a lot of those). We are a mission and culture driven organization that really cares about our people and our customers and I would hope that after 3 plus years you would have felt this. I am also surprised that you feel management don't listen. As you know I think one of my primary jobs is to listen to our people and our clients, and I stress this with our leadership all fo the time. Our Speak Up value also encourages (requires) our team to both discuss and listen to challenges and I am confident that we have an environment supports this. There is a difference, however, between not listening and not agreeing with suggestions and or conclusions. Management must make decisions all of the time that others may not agree with, and we make changes to our decisions when we believe they were previously incorrect. That's our job, but I assure you that we do listen and we do want people to Speak Up to better educate our decisions. If you think we do not communicate why we make decisions adequately then perhaps we can do better, but I think you can agree that we are pretty transparent with decision making. Finally, our responses to these reviews can be lengthy and that is because we respect our people's opinions (positive or negative) and in this public forum (Glassdoor) that we embrace we often need to provide context for those not as close to our business. Hopefully you feel this respect in my response today. So I want to close by thanking you for your time with RG, and to wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors. Take our Love your Job value with you and don't settle for anything less for 3 years, 2 years or even 6 months. I hope you find the right place for your talents and passions. Cheers

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "World Class, Fast Paced, Challenging, Rewarding, Fun & Great Team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee Engagement Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reward Gateway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been at Reward Gateway now for 4 months, I work in the Birmingham Engagement team and have learnt more in this time, than in my last 15 years of working in sales & marketing. Pros: The innovation is astounding, yes it's fast-paced but I knew this upon sign up, I knew it was going to be hard work, I knew I would be putting in some hours but I thrive on this because I know the rewards are plentiful. We have an astounding amount of tools at our disposal, world-class marketing team, top marketing & sales platforms, video editing software, fantastic tools & equipment at my disposal but best of all, I am surrounded by an amazing family of supportive, Innovative, hard-working individuals who are all top of their game. I feel like I've joined a family and been given so much freedom, trust, access to all the right technology & tools, training & development, all to ensure I can deliver the best possible opportunity. I love how I have full autonomy in my role, which allows me to just "crack" on and get my job done! I have the best manager in the world, a guy who genuinely cares about his team and every individual in it, he is not just my manager but also my mentor, my coach and my friend. He put's so much time into ensuring I have the knowledge, the tools and feel empowered but also trusted to be the face and smile of Reward Gateway. * World Class "Sales & Marketing" family * Amazing Technology & Tools * Fantastic Support, Training & Education * Pay, Benefits and Rewards are fantastic * Trust & autonomy * Great support structure

    Cons

    Fast paced working environment but I already knew about this, It's super busy, travelling between offices (London to Birmingham) but again knew about this so cool with it. At times it will feel like you have gone from 0-100 very quickly and yes, it will get very busy! Be prepared to take feedback, constructive criticism and to learn from it, if you struggle in this area it will be a challenge for you! One of RG's core values is to be human and in being human we make mistakes - that's how we learn.

    Continue reading
    Reward Gateway2018-06-16

    Reward Gateway Response

    June 19, 2018

    Hi, this is Kylie Green. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Reward Gateway. I am delighted to hear you are settling in so well and ‘loving your job’, one of our core values. As you touched on, the Sales Leaders at Reward Gateway are very focused on creating an environment where we can build a world class sales and marketing organisation. We want to empower our teams with the training, tools and support to do the best work of their lives. It sounds like you have had a really positive and steep growth trajectory at Reward Gateway. My advice to you is to continue to take full advantage of your learning opportunities via our training days, book benefit, RG University along with mentoring opportunities from our senior team members and sales leaders. They are on their own learning journey and are very happy to share learnings with their colleagues, right around the globe. I agree, our sales tools and teams are innovative and unique. We have a unique sale process, including specialisation such as sales researchers along with innovative tools and a passionate and impactful Marketing organisation, that works in true partnership with sales. You mentioned that you had the best manager in the world. This was delightful to read as I know how hard our sales leaders work to create the balance, you described, of support, empowerment and autonomy. Keep the feedback up to your manager so they can continue to support you as you develop your career at RG. You have raised two really important points in the cons, that to me, perfectly describes our culture. We are absolutely not for everyone. People who thrive in the Reward Gateway sales team are comfortable with a fast paced environment, which changes rapidly and enjoy the focus on regular coaching and development. We support our journey to being a world class sales team by regular coaching including one to ones, call training, sales coaching tools and more. It’s all focused on our consultative sales method and ensuring we can add insights and value at every step of our buyers journey. Thanks again for sharing and keep up the great work in helping make the world a better place to work! All the best, Kylie

    Continue reading
Found 63 reviews