Ricemedia Reviews

Updated 22 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
28%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (3)

    "A good move for anyone in digital"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Search Account Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ricemedia full-time

    Pros

    Standards higher than other local business. Good Team Nice office

    Cons

    Do not have any thing.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "An experience that put me off agencies."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ricemedia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely team members Breakfast and snacks provided Variety of clients Gave me lots of experience which helped my career

    Cons

    Working at Ricemedia was an experience that put me off working at agencies. The owner acts like a bully towards staff and creates a very unfavourable working environment. Staff seem to be constantly on edge, they avoid bringing up issues to owner due to his unprofessional reactions. Myself and colleagues been shouted at as if we were school children. You are overworked due to massive staff turnover, and clients are passed around from one account manager to another, often with little knowledge of the account. A reason why many clients have left the company. Owner is overly worried about the reviews, both on Glass Door and Google, and, as you can see, wastes time replying to these rather than working on the company itself. You do get taught lots at the start, but due to the volume of things you’re meant to remember some may slip your mind. This ends in ridicule from the owner. Although the colleagues are lovely, there is a lack of clear structures, I often didn’t know where to go if I had a issue or questions, which meant relying on other staff, this made their workload heavier than it already was.

    Continue reading

    Ricemedia Response

    January 6, 2021Office Manager

    I've just been looking at your LinkedIn profile which proudly sells your time here at Ricemedia. Why not be upfront and honest with your future employers and explain your grievances and give a true account of yourself. Integrity is a worthy virtue. It’s a shame that over the Christmas period you are trolling your ex employer when you should be thinking about friends and family. You left well over a year ago now so we can’t be responsible for your current situation. Why not come in or call so that we can help you to resolve these issues and you can move forward with your life?


  3. Helpful (5)

    "You know it’s bad when the owner writes fake reviews."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ricemedia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance is positive, but be prepared for the how stressful the hours you do work will be.

    Cons

    Reviews prior to December 2020 are real. Read the old reviews, they are still completely relevant and not written by the owner attempting to improve their ratings because no one wants to work at Ricemedia due to these reviews. Comments from the company stating that old reviews are just from begrudged ex-employees who are making up lies are also completely false. Don’t get onboard of this sinking ship. If you manage to stay in this company for more than 6 months, you are achieving something many have not. The owner is known across Birmingham as hard to work for so hires people who are not part of the current marketing world, because no one who knows him would agree to work with him. Completely out of touch owner whose moods and ideas change constantly and you best believe it’s your fault if you don’t think on the tiniest, un-important task in relation to a client because it will be highlighted infront of your colleagues and you will be spoken down to like a child. If you are not on the right side of this narcissistic owner, you will know about it as everything you do is picked apart and you are made to feel completely useless. There is no “senior management” as people quit before getting to this stage or are pushed into these positions before being ready, are put under immense pressure and quit as soon as a better offer comes along. If you want to learn and progress, go to an agency where the longest serving employee has been there more than 3 years. Those who do manage to stay in these management positions are worn down by constant last minute tasks and if you do not drop everything to complete a task set by the managing director, be prepared to be berated. If you have any questions, don’t ask the managing director or you will be complained about and told to not ask him questions by another member of staff....yeah. The numbers speak for themselves, over 15 people have left in 18 months. But don’t worry, to quote the managing director “ I don’t need anyone, I can do every role by myself”. Please, go ahead. When all your staff have left, you will have that chance.

    Continue reading

    Ricemedia Response

    January 6, 2021Office Manager

    I've just been looking at your LinkedIn profile which proudly sells your time here at Ricemedia. Why not be upfront and honest with your future employers and explain your grievances and give a true account of yourself. Integrity is a worthy virtue. It’s a shame that over the Christmas period you are trolling your ex employer when you should be thinking about friends and family. You left well over a year ago now so we can’t be responsible for your current situation. Why not come in or call so that we can help you to resolve these issues and you can move forward with your life?

  4. Helpful (7)

    "A complete and utter shambles"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ricemedia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no positives for working at Ricemedia. The plastic benefits of free breakfast, pay day pizza, Friday drinks etc., are completely outweighed by the negatives of this company.

    Cons

    The intimidation tactics. Instilled through a swaggering self loving Managing Director, who is completely disconnected from his staff and loves to belittle them at any given opportunity. His main agenda is to enhance his big boy ego, that nobody actually cares about inside or outside of the company. This is replicated throughout the other Directors in the company who lack the bottle to stand up for themselves and the rest of the employees. This therefore allows the intimidation atmosphere to prosper and unfortunately staff just have to bow down to this inappropriate behaviour often with the mentality of "that's [insert managing directors name here] for you". This has lead to a finger pointing blame culture throughout the company, where no accountability or responsibility is taken by team leaders (and if I'm honest I can't blame them). Rice's biggest asset are their staff, but clearly their goal is to either intimidate them or slowly turn them into phoney copies of the Managing Director. The complete lack of training and guidance. They promised continually from my interview up until to the day I handed my notice in that I would get the appropriate training to develop and nurture my skills within the industry, but unsurprisingly that never happened. Finally the reputation of Ricemedia. As Glassdoor clearly shows you, the company has a bad wage and boy does everybody else in Birmingham know it too! It quickly becomes an embarrassment to work for Rice, so do not make the same mistake I and many others have!

    Continue reading

    Ricemedia Response

    October 19, 2020Office Manager

    Posts made purely for harassment deserve no response other than we all wish you well with more meaningful endeavours. Good luck.

  5. Helpful (10)

    "Embarrassed to have on my CV"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ricemedia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Breakfast/Fruit Pay Day Pizza Friday Drinks Office in a good location

    Cons

    Working at Ricemedia was a particularly negative experience mostly due to the lack of relationship built between management and the rest of the staff. To start, the free food and drink noted above are text book attempts to force positive attitudes from a predominately young staff who are deemed expendable and to some extent, exploitable. During my time I saw colleagues emotionally distressed by verbal abuse for innocent mistakes and even issues brought on by management themselves with no fault to the staff. I felt this led to an air of fear in the office where staff were afraid to provide truthful responses regarding their work, clients performance or personal thoughts in the worry of being in the wrong. We perceived any meeting with management to be an opportunity to belittle staff into not asking for a raise or even praise. While there was a positive camaraderie among the working staff (equal to those on a sinking ship), the turnover of personnel was, and still is, so regular it became difficult to build meaningful friendships. As a result team structures are in constant fluctuation with clients being untidily passed from those leaving to rookie starters. The lack of staff leaves those remaining with straining hours that should be handled by double the workforce. Finally, you get a sense of the lack of management understanding from bewildering requests to have constant phone calls with clients (whether they would appreciate this or otherwise) and create reams of content or links from those whose job doesn't call for, have time for or are trained to do so. Beyond all this there is no time for your mental health to recover as they have managed to offer below minimum annual leave by asking you to hold back several days holiday for the Christmas break.

    Continue reading

    Ricemedia Response

    October 19, 2020Office Manager

    Posts made purely for harassment deserve no response other than we all wish you well with more meaningful endeavours. Good luck.

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Good Career Prospects."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Executive in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ricemedia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Since working here, I have learnt so much. The company has really invested in me and I have progressed quickly. The management team are very knowledgeable and always discuss the best interests of the clients. The work is varied and the team environment is very productive. Thorough training Varied clients The best colleagues Good benefits Nice offices

    Cons

    I don't have any yet.

    Continue reading

    Ricemedia Response

    October 19, 2020Office Manager

    Thanks for the review. Good to hear and thank you for the feedback.

  7. Helpful (11)

    "This company is a joke"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PPC Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ricemedia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    “Share some of the best reasons of working at Ricemedia” - other than the staff who don’t last there long. There are no good reasons

    Cons

    The Managing Director The 2nd tier management who have no backbones The bullying ethics The atmosphere The lack of training The high turnover of staff The finger point blame culture The bribery to leave a good review The lack of HR department The threats “do this or you’ll be sacked” The intimidation by senior management

    Continue reading

    Ricemedia Response

    October 19, 2020Office Manager

    Posts made purely for harassment deserve no response other than we all wish you well with more meaningful endeavours. Good luck.

  8. Helpful (8)

    "Great colleagues, Crap management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ricemedia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot by being surrounded by a good team. The pay day pizza was the main Pro, but also the Rice guys made it a little more enjoyable as each person was passionate around their role and had something to give.

    Cons

    A managing director who likes to bully and manipulate my work colleagues until they leave.

    Continue reading

    Ricemedia Response

    October 19, 2020Office Manager

    Posts made purely for harassment deserve no response other than we all wish you well with more meaningful endeavours. Good luck.

  9. Helpful (6)

    "A dreadful experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ricemedia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is in a good location, the local square is a good place to get some much needed headspace.

    Cons

    - Staff are badmouthing clients right after the meeting or call with the client is over! There is zero respect. - Workload is extremely high and overwhelming at times. - No HR department. What's more, they will not give you the proper specification of the role and will expect you to guess what your duties should be. It's simply a case of "do as I say at all times". - Bad management and disorganised resources. - The business relies on testimonials from big brands and celebrities that haven't been clients for over 5 years. - A recent hire to the board has zero digital experience and has been hired as a favour.

    Continue reading

    Ricemedia Response

    October 19, 2020Office Manager

    Posts made purely for harassment deserve no response other than we all wish you well with more meaningful endeavours. Good luck.

  10. Helpful (9)

    "Awful Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ricemedia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay day pizza Easy to commute to Free breakfast and fruit (basically free all food if you ask for it) Nice office facilities

    Cons

    Intense office politics Poor client retention Poor staff retention Abusive owner

    Continue reading

    Ricemedia Response

    October 19, 2020Office Manager

    Posts made purely for harassment deserve no response other than we all wish you well with more meaningful endeavours. Good luck.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 English Reviews